We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfecto!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Lima B & B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Lima B & B
Ranked #3 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

You will not find better service in all of Costa Rica. At Casa Lima, you are family. The food is amazing. The atmosphere is a small piece of paradise in San Jose. Located with-in walking distance of stores, restaurants, parks, and not far from the Sabana.

We would like to specially thank Nelson (From The BlueJacket's) for hosting us, and making us feel like family. It made our trip all the more while.

Traveler Tips: Order one of Nelson's specialty pizzas!
Located with-in walking distance to the U.S. Embassy if that is where your business is.
Get to know Kiko, the Casa Lima monkey.

Room Tip: Suites are just a little more. All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    41
    3
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
66
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I just returned from Casa Lima BB. We came down from Chicago for some R & R as well as some dental work. Checked in April 28 at night. We were hungry, so we ordered the vegetable pizza. The pizza was VERY GOOD. Good crust, fresh veggies, just great and hit the spot. The next morning, our host Nelson, greeted us with coffee and fresh juice! They have a breakfast menu with delicious breads, fresh fruits, fresh eggs, breakfast meats. Great breakfast. We asked about tours and Nelson suggested a few he has been on. We also browsed thru a large binder of different tours, beach, island, zip lining, bungee jumping but one stood our for us: Arenal, volcano and hot springs. It was perfect. Thank you Nelson... My husband and I are coming back to Casa Lima in 2 months we loved it so much. Rooms were very clean and decorated with CR art. The atmosphere is private, quiet, and relaxing..... Thank you Nelson and staff for your hospitality.... Teresa and Flavio

Room Tip: Couples will be cozy in the double size beds....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
287 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late at night at Casa Lima. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and a great deal for the price. The morning breakfast is typical for a Costa Rician B&B- fresh tropical fruit, fruit juice and homemade biscuits. It's also a treat to meet their pet monkey and macaw.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhawig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The staff is very kind and helpful. The building in nicely kept, in general. It provides a quaint atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable and reasonably priced. The neighborhood is nice and seems quite safe. It is just a couple block from the US Embassy & consulate, which was my main purpose for going to San Jose from where I was staying in the countryside. I enjoyed a very reasonably priced Hawaiian Pizza handmade in their kitchen and the breakfast served in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoatMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Enjoyed my stay at Casa Lima - service was excellent - staff especially Andrey was extremely helpful. My Spanish was non-existent so the fact that they spoke English was a great help.

Would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmk356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at Casa Lima our first and last nights in Costa Rica. The staff is extremely helpful and make you feel totally at home. The location is in a nice neighborhood and I loved the courtyard. We enjoyed the animals and waterfall in the courtyard. Don Kiko was great entertainment. Christian was a joy and extremely helpful. The breakfasts were fresh and very enjoyable. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at Casa Lima on our way in and out of Costa Rica. The B&B is located in a nice quiet neighborhood and provides a relaxing sitting area, I enjoyed the sounds of their waterfall! We had fun watching Don Kiko and his antics. Christian was a bright and cheerful face for our morning meal and gave great directions for getting places. This B&B is within 3 blocks of shopping, and depending on how far you would like to walk there are lots of restaurants around. Taxis are very easy to use while there also, great for getting to the museums or sites downtown! We also met travelers who had been here before, I agree this speaks lots! The breakfasts here are fresh and filling, I tried the banana pancakes the last morning and they could have fed 2 people easily! Yummy!

Room Tip: Rooms within the main area are more convenient to the patio and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#27 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lima B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lima B & B

Property: Casa Lima B & B
Address: Del Colegio Humboldt 175 norte 50 oeste | 50 Oeste, Number 23, Rohrmoser, San Jose 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Lima B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A small-paradise." is what we often hear from our guests’. Casa Lima is a small exclusive bed and breakfast nestled in one of Costa Rica's unique and privileged neighborhood, Rohrmoser. Located only 15 minutes from San Jose city centre and the airport, Casa Lima offers the perfect strategic location for visiting the Central Valley and exploring Costa Rica. Only a short drive away from all the amenities of San Jose and Escazu, yet located in a tranquil and relaxed tropical setting. Casa Lima is only two blocks away from the American Embassy in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Lima B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lima Bed And Breakfast
Casa Lima Hotel San Jose
Casa Lima B & B Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing