We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Lima B & B
Nearby Hotels
$104
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$93
$88
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
125
46
7
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
46
7
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdental workrecommend casaexotic plantshome away from homeopen gardeninner courtyardlush landscapingbanana pancakeshelp guestsresidential neighborhoodfriendly place to staycontinental breakfastalways felt safesafe arearoom ratepura vidalate at night
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 193 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

In February of 2013 I stayed at Casa Lima B & B, along with about a dozen other people who were in San Jose for church-related outreach. The family atmosphere at Casa Lima was the big plus. Nelson and Daniel were so friendly and accommodating for my personal needs and the needs of the group. The central courtyard/garden area really enhanced the casual, relaxing atmosphere of the facility. And the food was very good also. The room I stayed in was very simple, the closet was a little small, and the hot water system in the shower only allowed for very low water pressure. But, you know, none of that really bothered me. It was a pleasant place to be, just a few blocks away from shopping malls, and Casa Lima provided a sense of safety and seclusion from the rush of the city. It was a good experience.

Room Tip: I was in Room 9, a small room, but close to the tropical garden and the sounds of the patio waterfall. Nice for one person.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Casa Lima's staff is very accommodating and friendly. The room was pleasant, the food was good and the jungle-like courtyard was a real treat. We spent lots of time at a table in the courtyard, using CL's wireless Internet connection to send email and take care of business. We really enjoyed how the resident kitten, Sunshine, liked to curl up in a lap whenever one was available. He and the other cat, Boots, put on a daily show with a squirrel who teased them by coming just within reach or by climbing into the parrot's cage to steal food. Don Kiko, the capucin monkey, is unpredictable but never boring. Good location with several good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

A very pleasant staying, the staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. Since we lost one of our passports during our stay in Guanacaste, CL's proximity to US Embassy was very convenient but I would defenetily come back. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Casa Lima is a great place to stay. Staff is very friendly and always looking for a way to help make your trip the best. Location is very good, you have the basics very close, such as banks, pharmacy, supermarket. The place is very nice, if you like nature. It's small but very very cozy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

While I realise that different people are looking for different things in a b&b, I find it hard to believe that Nicholas and I stayed at the same establishment, as my experience at Casa Lima was the exact opposite of his. I found the grounds and the waterfall that fed the fish pond to be very relaxing and welcoming, and the staff without exception to be doubly so, and judging by the relaxed and open attitude of all the other guests who were there at the same time, I was not alone in feeling this. I have stayed at b&b's around the world, and this was without a doubt the most pleasurable overall experience I have had at one. The rooms all face a lush courtyard with Don Tiko, a friendly white-faced monkey, a green macaw that loves to have her head scratched, an enclosure full of budgies, and two wonderfully friendly cats, as well as a wild squirrel and an assortment of wild birds that stop by for the treats left out by the staff.
My room was large and comfortable and cleaned thoroughly every day, a good continental breakfast is included in the price of the room-which is very reasonably priced at that-and the location was very conveniently situated to the museums, a convenience store, and freeway entrances.
I was so charmed by Casa Lima, its owner Nelson, Danny, and the rest of the staff that I booked a room there upon my return from a short visit to Panama, and will most definitely stay there again when I return next year.

Room Tip: While I stayed in both upstairs and downstairs rooms, stepping out onto the passageway upstairs and gazing down into the courtyard was always a great way to start the day!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyingma13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews