We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden secret”

Lolo's Pizza and Vinery
Ranked #165 of 621 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Teresa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden secret”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very cost hidden secret of Chepe by the rail tracks in Los Yoses. Delicious thin crust pizza's. Good service - honest price

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere...but don't ask the owner to adjust the volume of the music.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Lolo's was a good recommendation. A cool little spot, right of the train tracks. However, the owner was BLARING Led Zepplin over the stereo. We asked if he could turn it down just a little bit, so we could hear each other talk (the was only one other couple in the restaurant at the time). He turned it off. We sincerely said "Oh we're sorry, you don't have to turn it off, maybe down just a little bit". Before we could finish saying that, he threw his hands in the air and made a SHHHHHH noise. We tried once again to explain, and received an even more insistent SHHHHHHH, with a finger pointed directly at us. Also he apparently raised the price of each pizza by four dollars making it $22 dollars per pizza. Not worth it. There was another pizza place nearby, I think it was called Fabrica...much better.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Seth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A place to chill and eat a great pizza”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Great service, good music, great pizza, nice decoration and excellent location packed in a tiny almost hidden restaurant in one of the most bohemian neighborhoods in San José.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaSartre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice little pizza place.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Traditional pizza and nice wine. The owner is really kind and the place is really couzy and cool to go in a romantic date

Helpful?
1 Thank negrini420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta de Hojancha
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favourite place to eat in San Jose”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Ok so if you are looking for pizza hut or the ritz carlton, you have come to the wrong place. If you are looking for a great atmosphere with great food and wine and really good music, then you have found your place. Tucked into a side-street, and right off the train tracks, Lolo's is a perfect place to escape the mundane world of menus and big tables and crappy music y gente pipi.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sumyunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lolo's Pizza and Vinery also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose Metro, Province of San Jose
 

Been to Lolo's Pizza and Vinery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing