We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Alfi
Nearby Hotels
$85
$75
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$123
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$75
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fleur de Lys(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$53
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colours Oasis Resort(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
$170
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
45
22
5
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
22
5
5
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 79 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

It's not the Ritz, but at these prices, were you expecting the Ritz? Lovely, helpful staff almost make you forget that the rooms are Spartan and cramped. The location is perfect, and the brekky bearable, for a morning or two, but the bed was not as comfortable as some reviewers. I would go back, but the Casa Alfi is not for everyone.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Shizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed only the night whilst passing through San Jose but you cannot beat the location for walking distance and access to everything.
The rooms are spacious and very clean. The beds are comfortable and we had one of the best nights sleeps in a long time. It's true you do hear the noise from outside early in the morning, so if you want to sleep in, bring earplugs. But this is normal for anywhere i've found in Costa Rica thus far.
There is a parking station on the next street if needed and they can tell you where to go (which was great for us).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2feetwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A group of 15 of us went to San Jose to see the Nutcracker Ballet and spent the night at this little known gem of a place. It was clean, had a great homy atmosphere and the employees were helpful.We all live in Costa Rica but do not spend much time in San Jose. This was a very pleasant surprise. Two blocks from The National Theater, so we could walk and there was no need for a cab. It is also within very short walking distance from the Gold Museum, National Museum, beautiful parks, and Chinatown. There are excellent restaurants nearby and lots of places to shop and find almost anything you want. You can book tours through the hotel if you want a guide. The owner speaks English and is onsite. 'Can't say enough about this place. We plan to go back again in a couple of weeks for the Grand Tope of San Jose and will be staying again at Casa Alfie. It is only 2 blocks from the theater and the parade route. These two blocks are closed to all but foot traffic....very handy. Alfie is an excellent host and cook. If you ask you can very some very interesting stories.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGSchaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Pro: Location- very centrally located, 2 blocks from National Theatre. As a solo female traveler, I felt very safe in this location. Breakfast: Best gallo pinto! Free computer/internet use in the patio. The owner: Alfi is a very interesting and nice person. He offered me a free upgrade, which I should have taken but I was too lazy to move all my stuff.

Con: The single rooms are windowless and so I felt a bit claustrophobic. But to repeat, I was offered a free upgrade. I just mention this because if a window is important, you might want to ask. And by the way, bring earplugs...but this is true in many places in San Jose.

Room Tip: Solo travelers should upgrade to a room with a window
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Alfi is great! At casa alfi you get a lot more than just a hotel! Alfi cooked for us and all his guests and he sat down at a table and we enjoyed a fabulous meal and conversations until late at night. He has experienced so much in his life and it's fantastic to listen to him! The room was perfectly clean and very spacious and the price was totally reasonable! The breakfast that was included was very tasty, fresh and sufficient. We didn't feel like guests at a hotel but we felt like alfis personal guests! Definitely a place to stay in San Jose!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews