We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angels Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angels Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

People is very friendly. Excelent for this category. Recommended. It has a beautiful backyard with breakfast tables (And some birds). You cannot pay with any card. Good breakfast included. The train goes nearby, so is a little noisy sometimes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsolanof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I travelled with my partner, we found this place on the web with a nice rate. You feel like home in this little hotel. We stayed only for a night in a very comfortable room with two beds, tv and a huge bathroom. María Luisa (Mother) was our host, a sweet lady who you can chat with for hours.

The breakfast in the garden was delicious!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSRCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have stayed at this B&B at least a half a dozen times. I live far from the city and need a place to stay when I come to go shopping for those things you can't find in the jungle. The family is super nice and accommodating. The B&B is conveniently located in the city where you can go downtown, visit the museums and national theater, catch a soccer game, go shopping, etc. They have a great patio to enjoy breakfast with the pet birds, turtles, and adorable yellow labs (all well mannered and don't bother the guests). A great Peruvian restaurant is located only a couple of doors down which is the icing on the cake. There's free parking. I often opt to catch a taxi to go places since they know where they are going and it's cheap. What more can I say, it's a great place and I will continue to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treetica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

I've stayed at Angels in 2007, 10 and 11....and enjoyed each time. The rooms are clean and comfortable, a great value, and there is a wonderful patio for breakfast, with pet parrots in cages chatting away. There is free computor use, free parking for a rental car. This friendly and interesting little family run hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpd999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

A Delightful family takes care of you in a safe little Gem of a B&B. If you are comfortable traveling in Central America, this family operated B&B will delight you. Personally home cooked breakfast served in a patio area tops off basic, clean rooms. Conveniently located between downtown and the University, 1 block from the bus line that takes you to both for 200 Colones (40 cents USD) each way.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colderside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

Me and my partner are from Germany and we been in Costa Rica in March 2008. First of all: This country is a dream. We had visit San Jose, Arenal and Manuel Antonio. In San Jose we been in Angels Hotel in Barrio La California, only minutes away from the city and the park and the museums. This small B&B has only 5 rooms and the host family is realy wonderful. We loved to stay there and the rates are very reasonable. We have had a great time and want to come back.

  • Liked — the host family is so great. You feel like at home
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank werner_ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa 69
Casa 69
#2 of 66 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Hotel

Property: Angels Hotel
Address: 75 metros al sur de la Embajada de Nicaragua | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angels Hotel is an antique house, remodeled in good taste while keeping it’s original style, with peaceful atmosphere, harmnony and family warmth.Our bed and breakfast has a beautiful back terrace, where you can have some quiet time, be in tune with nature and just enjoy yourself. Managed by its owners, we offer you a very nice and friendly family environment, where we will make you feel like home.We are located very close to downtown, in a safe neighborhood, with easy access to cinemas, theaters, museums, bars, stores, souvenir shops, parks, restaurants and everything you might need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Angels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing