We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rafting on the Pacuare - 3 day trip”
Review of Rios Tropicales

Rios Tropicales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rios Tropicales is an eco-adventure company that operates throughout Costa Rica. We offer adventure activities that take advantage of Costa Rica’s unique variety of environments: whitewater rafting, multisport activities that feature kayaking,canoeing, hiking, and cycling, family adventures, cultural encounters, nature and wildlife tours, and “volun-tourism”. Our mission, to share the rivers, natural resources and culture of Costa Rica while sharing conservation values, has not changed since we began in 1985. Rios Tropicales was established by native Central Americans, El Salvadorian Rafael Gallo and Costa Rican Fernando Esquivel, whose deep connection with the region and culture are apparent in every aspect of the company.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I went on a three day rafting trip on the Pacuare river. The first day we rafted to their lodge that's nestled in the jungle, right along the river. The second day we hiked to nearby waterfalls, went zip lining, relaxed in the hammocks that overlook the river, and repelled down a waterfall. The third day we rafted Class III-IV rapids on the Pacuare. I cannot recommend this trip enough. Everything was amazing. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks were included for our three day trip and everything tasted delicious. The scenery cannot be beat - so many beautiful waterfalls and the canyons on the river are simply breathtaking! Our guides (Ronald, Henry, and Walter) were all great! I always felt very safe. This trip is an absolute must!

2  Thank esanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear esanty, I'll let the boys know about your great recommendation. Thanks for coming along and taking your time to write about your Three Day trip with us.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Rios Tropicales
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 352 of 594 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and i went from Arenal to the sarapiqui river with Rios and we had an awesome time. The guides were terrific and they took us for a fantastic meal afterwards. Overall it was a very safe, exciting and fun experience. Would highly recommend.

3  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Daniel J, Thanks for joining us on the Sarapiqui River and taking your time to recommend us. Check out our multiday trips for next time you want to paddle some more with Rios Tropicales.

Happy Trails,

Fernando esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went on the one day Pacuare white water rafting trip leaving from San Jose. It was a very long day starting at 5:30am and not ending until 6:45pm pick up to drop off. We were the first group picked up and last dropped off. We had a great time. The food was typical Costa Rican cuisine and good. The rafting itself was great. Our guide was fluent in English, patient and knowledgeable. We had a blast. Our trip was longer than normal because the water level was low. We ended up getting a little sun burned and would recommend buying really good sun block and remember to reapply halfway through the trip or after swimming. I live in Costa Rica and I plan on doing this trip again. I think I will try the overnight one because their lodges looked nice and had a lot of things to do like waterfall repelling and zip lines. We had a group of 6 and it was blast. I would definitely recommend it.

Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Alex D, Thanks for taking from your valuable time to recommend us. Like you said, at this time of the year the water is lower but the emerald color reflected from the jungle is quite a sight. Hope to have you back on one of our multiday trips, it´s a great combination of adrenaline and relaxing!

Pura Vida,

Fernando Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

if you want to have an adventurous as well as safe family experience, then this is for you. Sivi, Ramon & Enzo took our family of 5 (10-15 year old kids) on a white water rafting trip down the Sarapiqui river. We went over several white water patches and never once did i worry about the 10 year old. I was 100% confident that Sivi had our sons back. Cliff jumping with Ramon - watching his back flips - was another great experience. The photographer took great photos - so i didn't feel bad about not having our camera. Finally the amount of animals the men took the time to draw our attention too was truly appreciated; when Sivi held poisonous dart frog, the kids were in awe.

1  Thank SkiingChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear SkiingChica, The Sarapiquí is very special for us, since this is the river we started our trips back in 1985. Thanks for taking your time to recommend your experience with your family paddling and enjoying this wonderful river. Take care and hope you can jump with us on more Family Adventures.

Fernando Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was truly an experience of a lifetime. The guys from Rios Tropicales picked us up at our hotel in San Jose early, and then we drove 1 hour 40 min to the lodge for breakfast. The lodge is a great little spot at the base of the hills you drive into to launch out. Our guides were extremely helpful and patient in some pretty challenging class 3-4 rapids. After 4 hours on the river we then came back, ate lunch at the lodge, then took the bus home. I would recommend this to anyone!

Thank Scratchpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Scratchpaper, Thanks for taking your time to recommend us from your experience rafting the Pacuare. Take care and hope to have you back some day on one of our multiday trips.

Forward paddle,

Fernando Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rios Tropicales also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Costa Rica, Central America
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Rios Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing