We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Young at Heart”
Review of Rios Tropicales

Rios Tropicales
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Full-Day San Jose to Pacuare River Rafting Class...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rios Tropicales is an eco-adventure company that operates throughout Costa Rica. We offer adventure activities that take advantage of Costa Rica’s unique variety of environments: whitewater rafting, multisport activities that feature kayaking,canoeing, hiking, and cycling, family adventures, cultural encounters, nature and wildlife tours, and “volun-tourism”. Our mission, to share the rivers, natural resources and culture of Costa Rica while sharing conservation values, has not changed since we began in 1985. Rios Tropicales was established by native Central Americans, El Salvadorian Rafael Gallo and Costa Rican Fernando Esquivel, whose deep connection with the region and culture are apparent in every aspect of the company.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed February 9, 2013

4 friends all over 63 years had a whale of a time our rafting day was the highlight of the holiday
the whole team made us feel safe .Bought the C.D at the end as a very memerable morning

Thank newbyBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear newbyBlackpool, Glad we could have you with your friends paddling with us. We appreciate taking your time to recommend us.

Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rafting trip"
in 69 reviews
"pacuare river"
in 130 reviews
"operations center"
in 25 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 67 reviews
"overnight trip"
in 18 reviews
"class iv rapids"
in 9 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 31 reviews
"raft guide"
in 16 reviews
"hotel in san jose"
in 28 reviews
"eco lodge"
in 15 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 8 reviews
"waterproof camera"
in 8 reviews
"no hot water"
in 6 reviews
"great rafting"
in 9 reviews
"costa rica"
in 120 reviews
"nice breakfast"
in 7 reviews
"safety instructions"
in 8 reviews
Filter

399 - 403 of 645 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Started Costa Rica vacation with two-day rafting trip on the Pacuare with Rios Tropicales. Couldn't have been better. Our in-raft guide, Luis, and our pack guide, Henry (aka, Ninja), were outstanding. These guys knew every inch of the river and surrounding areas, spent the night with our group at thee RT resort, prepared all meals, and even packed some Cacique!! Luis, Henry, and the other RT guides on the river over the two days were professional and fun loving, and worked well together to make everyones' trip an outstanding experience. Geez - even the 2 hour drive from San Jose was filled with laughter! Great fun, great adventure. Pura Vida!!

Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hey Chris A, Thanks for jumping on our overnight with Luis, Ninja and Cacique! Since we started back in 1985 our Mission has been: To Share the rivers and natural resources of Costa Rica, our culture and conservation values. Always committed to professionalism, safety, high quality and extraordinary service. Plus do in it with pleasure! I will let the boys know about your recommendation.

Pure Life,

Fernando Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We did the one-day rafting trip with Rios Tropicales on the last day of our vacation in Costa Rica, and it was an awesome way to finish our trip. Having never whitewater rafted before, we were both nervous, but our guide, Chris, made us feel very safe so all there was for us to do was relax and enjoy. It was so much fun! I can't imagine a better guide and in fact the whole operation was extremely well-run from start to finish, including the drive, the rafting, and the meals. We had such a good time that we're already planning our next rafting adventure!

Thank Bananas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks Bananas F for taking your time to write your review. I always recommend leaving the most exciting part of your trip for the end, I'm glad you did it that way. I will forward your comment to Chris and the rest of the team. It's an honor to have taken you rafting for the first time.

Happy paddling,

Fernando Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We did the 6 hour tour and had a blast! It was almost constant white water, big enough to keep it exciting and get you tossed out of the raft a few times, yet not so huge as to be scary. The river was beautiful, the scenery spectacular! The guide we had was Kevin, we called him the Rasta Man, he was a fantastic guide! This trip comes highly recommended. The before and after meals were great, big thumbs up to entre staff!

Thank chevydmax04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear chevydmax04, Thanks for writing about having great quality time paddling down the Pacuare. I'll let Kevin know about your comments and the rest of the staff, please our best regards for the people that recommended us.

Pura vida,

Fernando Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

From start to finish this is a great trip. The staff "goes overboard" to make sure you have a safe and exciting experience. We did the two day trip which I highly recommend because it gives you time to relax in a peaceful environment between two days of high adventure on the water. Our guide, Roy, made the trip interesting and fun. All of the staff members put in so much effort to make the trip enjoyable, even down to the dinner by candlelight. Our room at the lodge was very attractive and comfortable. We also went zip-lining the next morning which was included in the price. I have to admit I was a bit apprehensive at first, but the whole trip was fantastic!

1  Thank terribWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear terribWashington, What you wrote is exactly the main reason to paddle the Pacuare and stay at our Lodge. I'll let Roy know about your comments, he will be very happy.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rios Tropicales also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
Costa Rica, Central America
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Rios Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing