We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Pacuare River with Rios Tropicales” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rios Tropicales

Rios Tropicales
Ranked #3 of 91 Tours in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rios Tropicales is an eco-adventure company that operates throughout Costa Rica. We offer adventure activities that take advantage of Costa Rica’s unique variety of environments: whitewater rafting, multisport activities that feature kayaking,canoeing, hiking, and cycling, family adventures, cultural encounters, nature and wildlife tours, and “volun-tourism”. Our mission, to share the rivers, natural resources and culture of Costa Rica while sharing conservation values, has not changed since we began in 1985. Rios Tropicales was established by native Central Americans, El Salvadorian Rafael Gallo and Costa Rican Fernando Esquivel, whose deep connection with the region and culture are apparent in every aspect of the company.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do Pacuare River with Rios Tropicales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I completed this amazing tour last December on our trip to Costa Rica. We planned this 1-day trip with Rio Tropicales while we had the last day. We drove to the hotel in San Jose, dropped off our car and were picked up the next morning at 6:00 am. We stopped at some other hotels and picked up other people and then drove about 2 hours to the start of our raft on Rio Pacuare. I and my wife did a similar difficulty rafting tour in September of 2004 in Oregon State, so we were kind of ready for a wild ride. Most other people had never done this activity before and some of them were scared and very excited.
Our guide became the person who was driving with our on the bus from the very beginning and his English was very good. Before the raft we had the breakfast at the Rios Tropicales center, got all safety and operating instructions, put our water safety equipment and then drove to the river. That’s were our fun, fun, fun trip started. Our group had 6 people plus the guide in the raft and everyone were very excited. The scenery of the passing rain forest and quite a few gorgeous waterfalls coming into the river were spectacular. People, who went overboard on our raft and other rafts, were very quickly pulled back. At the end of the tour we came back to Rios Tropicales center, had our lunch and ordered the pictures of our entire rafting trip. Picture were taken by a professional guide who went on Kayak and then climbed the rocks in the middle of the river to catch all the boats going through that specific rapid. One person from our boat paid the money, we gave all our e-mail addresses and that same evening all the pictures came on my computer. We shared the money on the ride back to the hotel with one person who paid originally, so it was extra good deal for everyone.
I am not describing how good was the raft tour as it’s not possible to put in words, all I can say – SUPER, SUPER, SUPER!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank yk387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear yk387, Thanks for your SUPER, SUPER, SUPER review abour our Pacuare trip. It was a great decission to leave this river trip for the end, finishing it on a high note! Thanks for chosing us as part of your trip to our beautiful country.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    53
    10
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day rafting trip on the Pacquare river. Our guide David was excellent – he was professional but made our trip fun.

The whole trip was well organized, safe and enjoyable. All of the staff were friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a great time.

The lodge itself is awesome – if you enjoy rustic settings with nature sounds at night then you will enjoy this place. During high season it was nice to get away from the busy crowds – only 20 people were staying at the lodge the night we were there. We enjoyed an awesome dinner by candle light and ate together with new friends. The guides were very social in the evening and even after a long day of rafting / cooking dinner for us they were friendly. They took the time to talk to us and we learned a lot about Costa Rican culture from them.

If you are adventurous and are looking for a unique experience with breath taking scenery this trip is for you! We were travelling as a couple, but families appeared to enjoy it as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear sarahskin,
We are sending your message to David. From your comments I confirm that our mission and vision statements are going strong!

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Experience, Staff and Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went with two friends and this was booked through an agent in UK so we didn't really know beforehand what was provided and to expect.

We were picked up from the hotel in San Jose for our 3 day, 2 night trip on Pacuare River.

We had Johnny as our guide for the first part of the rafting experience to the lodge. The views on the river and Johnny's jokes made the trip such fun.

The meals are all cooked by the river boys. Someone said that the food in Costa Rica is bland but here at the lodge, because the boys have to cook and clean themselves, all the food serves was very tasty.

We had Ronald look after us when the main group left and we did a hike to a waterfall which was spectacular. He really helped us in fixing the hot water problem which Johnny thought was very funny in letting us have cold showers!

The last 11 miles of the river we had Luis as our raft guide. Still very friendly and made sure we were ok - even though 2 of us fell in. I'm glad I'm still alive to be able to recommend others to raft with this company!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rosey5nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear rosey5nose,
Thanks for your review, we´re letting the boys know about your comments about their cooking abilities, fixing the hot water and the rest of your experience with us. We are taking note of your hot water comment. Take care and hope to have you back some day,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great guides and ecolodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Whitewater rafting the Pacuare River is justifiably famous, but kudos to Rios Tropicales for making this overnight stay unforgettable. Our guides, Ronald and Luis, were professional, outgoing and knowledgeable. Surprisingly, they also turned out to be our best chefs and bartenders in our eight day stay! Freshest and smoothest Pina Colodas I've ever had.
The ecolodge is indescribably lovely and peaceful - a welcome respite from nonstop going. We have rafted before, but this was a tremendous experience.
Everything from pickup to dropoff is completely orchestrated and thought-out. Even the bus driver was friendly and professional.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Carol H, Thanks for taking from your valuable time to write about your overnight. Our team is very happy to have more than fulfilled your expectations.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I wasn't super excited when my husband insisted on rafting (mostly b/c I was scared about doing this in a 2nd world country)- But after this experience I can truly say that this operation meets US standards for safety and professionalism.

They pick you up from your hotel and then drive about 2 hours to headquarters. You have a big breakfast when you get there and change and head another hour to the pacuare. Here they split you into rafts and start furthest up the river from all the other companies. The guide we got was awesome - he took us into what would have been rough patches very smoothly.

After going through what seems like a ton of grade 3s - they let you know those were only 2 and for the next 12 miles there are grades 3-4 coming. I did fall out a one point but they recovered me quite easily. And then when you get back to headquarters theres a hot lunch waiting

Overall a great experience (but I've only done this once before).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Komal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Komal B, Thanks for taking your time reviewing our trip. Our commitment to safety and quality has been there since our beginnings in 1985, a great example was the excellent job our guides did as safety crew for the 2011 World Rafting Championships held on the Upper Pacuare River. Take care and I hope you keep rafting from now on.

Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rios Tropicales also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Rios Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing