We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food ok, service not so”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Divina Comida

La Divina Comida
Ranked #10 of 603 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a fine dining restaurant with exquisite unique food, excellent service and a cozy ambient. We have two separate rooms ideal for private events that can accommodate up to 30 people. In addition, we have an outside sitting area for a more informal dinning. We hope to see you soon! For reservations o bigger groups (until 150 people) email us
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food ok, service not so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

After ordering your food, be ready to be ignored. Once we had finished our main course (good food, not great, too much salt) and with repeat ignoring of our thirst, they took away the heater which kept us outdoor in one of those (seldom) cold and windy nights, without asking, suggesting or apologizing, just "moving on" to serve new arriving customers. For an upscale outing, this should be a "no-no"

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dropcito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDivinaComida, Propietario at La Divina Comida, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We apologize for the experience you had in La Divina Comida. We are going to put actions plans in place to avoid this happening again. We really hope you can give us another opportunity and demonstrate you why we are in the top 10 restaurants in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    117
    48
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful experience at La Divina Comida with friends who recommended that we try it. From start to finish we had a fine dining experience. I have nothing negative to say; all was very positive. The service, food, wine and ambience were excellent. We spent over three hours and the staff did everything right to make us feel welcome. We had several ceviche dishes which were delicious. We recommend the ceviche Nikkei as a start. In all, I would do it again often and recommend to others. Great restaurant La Divina Comida!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawdoglaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very dissapointing food. My wife and myself orderd very different dishes, and both were equally disappointing. Although there were a couple of average spots, such as the entree (tomato soup), the saltiness of both main courses was such as to make the whole experience a complete waste of time and money. Even the drinks were awful (iced tea and lemonade) so we ended up drinking water the whole way.
As previous reviewers have pointed out the Peruvian Fusion denomination might be a bit misleading as the number of Peruvian or Peruvian-based dishes on the menu seems to be quite small.
Service is good, consistent with equivalent restaurants in the same location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank veneticook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDivinaComida, Gerente at La Divina Comida, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We apologize for the experience you had in La Divina Comida. We have already addressed the situation you experienced and we are putting actions plans in place to avoid this happening in the future. Our menus is Modern Peruvian Cuisine, with signature dishes created by our owner Chef Marco Antonio, who, is born and raised in Perú. We hope you give us another chance. Thanks for taking the time to write this review as it gives us information on our opportunities areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Expected big things but:
Octopus very, very sweet and too tough.
Fish dried out and again too sweet.
Ceviche way too acid.
Service polite but far from polished for such a " supposedly" upscale establishment.
Run for the Inka Grill at Paco's for Peruan food.
Clarification: we went on a Wednesday night and just maybe the head chef might not have been there (we did not verify), but bad food like this would still not be acceptable in any case.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank italcanerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDivinaComida, Propietario at La Divina Comida, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experience and we want to thank you for taking the time to write. We have already addressed it with our Chef. We hope you give us another chance. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“not authentic peruvian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Upscale restaurant...but If you are looking for peruvian food, this is not it...this is fusion peruvian...not actual peruvian dishes...only traditional peruvian I could find in the menu was the aji de gallina, tiradito and ceviche limeno (the other stuff is a local invention). The suspiro is delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Divina Comida also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Divina Comida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing