We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of La Divina Comida

La Divina Comida
Ranked #12 of 630 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Peruvian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a fine dining restaurant with exquisite unique food, excellent service and a cozy ambient. We have two separate rooms ideal for private events that can accommodate up to 30 people. In addition, we have an outside sitting area for a more informal dinning. We hope to see you soon! For reservations o bigger groups (until 150 people) email us
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very dissapointing food. My wife and myself orderd very different dishes, and both were equally disappointing. Although there were a couple of average spots, such as the entree (tomato soup), the saltiness of both main courses was such as to make the whole experience a complete waste of time and money. Even the drinks were awful (iced tea and lemonade) so we ended up drinking water the whole way.
As previous reviewers have pointed out the Peruvian Fusion denomination might be a bit misleading as the number of Peruvian or Peruvian-based dishes on the menu seems to be quite small.
Service is good, consistent with equivalent restaurants in the same location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank veneticook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDivinaComida, Gerente at La Divina Comida, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We apologize for the experience you had in La Divina Comida. We have already addressed the situation you experienced and we are putting actions plans in place to avoid this happening in the future. Our menus is Modern Peruvian Cuisine, with signature dishes created by our owner Chef Marco Antonio, who, is born and raised in Perú. We hope you give us another chance. Thanks for taking the time to write this review as it gives us information on our opportunities areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    119
    50
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Expected big things but:
Octopus very, very sweet and too tough.
Fish dried out and again too sweet.
Ceviche way too acid.
Service polite but far from polished for such a " supposedly" upscale establishment.
Run for the Inka Grill at Paco's for Peruan food.
Clarification: we went on a Wednesday night and just maybe the head chef might not have been there (we did not verify), but bad food like this would still not be acceptable in any case.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank italcanerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDivinaComida, Propietario at La Divina Comida, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experience and we want to thank you for taking the time to write. We have already addressed it with our Chef. We hope you give us another chance. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“not authentic peruvian food”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Upscale restaurant...but If you are looking for peruvian food, this is not it...this is fusion peruvian...not actual peruvian dishes...only traditional peruvian I could find in the menu was the aji de gallina, tiradito and ceviche limeno (the other stuff is a local invention). The suspiro is delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rotten food and not even an apology”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We just had dinner at La Divina Comida. It was our first and definitely our las visit. We got rotten food and neither the waiter, nor the maitre d' offered an apology, we simply got the check, payed and left. I guess that they did not want a scene. That's how you loose clients forever. Don't waste your time nor money, there are plenty of good restaurants in Escazu. Do not go to La Divina Comida.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank monchotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice place, goooood food!! Priceless”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice place to sit and relax, don't expect quick service.
Try the special for the day you will love it!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Violar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Divina Comida also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Divina Comida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing