We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Park Cafe...a visual and culinary world class experience!”
Review of Park Cafe

Park Cafe
Ranked #1 of 908 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Please read important reservation information on our website before making your booking. Thank you.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

My family and I had the pleasure of dining at the Park Cafe while visiting San Jose. From the moment you walk in you are transported step by step into a truly unique environment. You are greeted by Louise whose kindness and hospitality make you feel right at home. Followed by impeccable service with a warm genuine personality
from Alex.

If you’re not sure what to order...go with “The Full Experience”, as Louise recommended for us. You won’t be disappointed. Every single dish is absolutely superb and each dish builds on the last, paired with the perfect glass of wine. An adventure of surprise and delight for the palette and visually stunning as an edible work of art...perfectly combined within the antique surroundings of the beautiful Park Cafe decor and ambience.

The feast is meticulously choreographed and presented by Richard. This level of culinary mastery is the result of great skill, creativity, passion and love. Richard is in his own culinary galaxy, creating heavenly servings of gourmet ambrosia, truly fit for the gods.

We loved every dish equally and of course the pleasure of meeting and enjoying the company and conversation of Richard, Louise and Alex.

The entire experience was unparalleled, the environment, the service, the cuisine and genuine hospitality of Richard, Louise, Alex and the staff. Unforgettable and highly recommended.

In fact, the experience was so outstanding...we dined at the Park Cafe twice in a week. Yes, it’s that amazing!

Thank you so much Richard, Louise and Alex...a pleasure to meet you all! Next time we’re in San Jose...we’ll be back for a third...and probably fourth time!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ACCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 432 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2019

We came to Park Cafe on a quiet Wednesday night to have a romantic dinner. Few things to note, you must make a reservation, and you must confirm your table at least a day before your reservation

Now for the service and food. We we first arrived, we were greeted by the manager (Alejandro). He was very friendly and would be the one to tell us about all the dishes will would be enjoying that evening. We were also introduced to one of the owners (Richard). The space is very unique as it is also an antique shop during the day and has nice dimmed lighting at night.

We did the menu degustation (6 course meal with wine pairing). Alejando explained how each course was laid out and what wine was accompanying. The food was indescribably good.

At the end we chatted with Richard and Alejandro for a bit and they even helped us call a cab home!

Everything from the service and food, down to the presentation and small details was exceptional. I highly recommend this place!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bestfriendkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Hands down one of the most memorable dining experiences we've ever had, anywhere ever. Perfect ingredients, unique and thoughtful combinations and presentations, world-class service, and no pretension. Richard and his team strike an impeccable balance of familiar, professional, kind, and affable. The food is amazing, the setting is strange and wonderful and we wouldn't trade this experience for anything in the world.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SgtGrumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019 via mobile

This meal was unexpectedly one of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica. We trusted Richard and his team to guide us, and they did not disappoint. Every dish is a well-crafted, delicious work of art. The ambiance, with all of the beautiful art pieces surrounding you, is the perfect setting for an enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank Ethanking22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

A friend of ours in Costa Rica recommended we visit the Park Cafe before we leave and I'm so glad that we did.

The ambiance is so different than any other restaurant we had ever been to; it's in an antique shop set in the courtyard of an old building. The pieces surrounding us were intriguing, beautiful, and inspired conversation.

We decided to try the degustation menu, which was ten different tapas served two at a time. My first bite was hands down the best first bite I had ever had, and the meal never faltered in excellence. All of the wine pairings were an excellent match for each dish.

It's hard to quantify what made this meal so extraordinary. It had a factor that I feel is elusive in fine dining, and the closest thing I can describe that as is love. There were points in the meal where I even became a little teary because I was so touched. This dinner was a very special experience and if you have the opportunity to visit, absolutely do!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Cafe also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Park Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.