We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb - best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Cafe

Park Cafe
Ranked #13 of 513 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: International, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Please read important reservation information on our website before making your booking. Thank you.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb - best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Every dish was a work of art: beautiful and delicious. I highly recommend trying the scallop appetizer presented in five small dishes; each one with a different preparation. It is an amazing dish. My 4-year-old daughter stole a lamb chop from my dish and devoured it.

Service was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    19
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Park Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was the best meal by far I've ever had in my 20 years in Costa Rica.
I would say this restaurant can be compared to any of the better ones you'll find across Europe.

Helpful?
2 Thank LeighCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet dinner at teh Park Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had an excellent dinner at the Park Cafe, it was an excellent surprise to find such a fine restaurant in San Jose, it could be in any fine restaurant city: London, Paris, New York, Sao Paulo.

It's located in an old house in a residential street, in fact, it's not easily found, if taking a taxi it's better to call and asked them to give directions to the taxi driver. Reservations is a must, it's a small and cosy place.

We were a party of four and we had an outstanding dinner. The food, the service and the wine (not extensive wine list, but good wines and reasonably priced) were impeccable. Ahh, but the appetizers and the deserts were simply amazing.

The restaurant also doubles as a antique store.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ZenVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite place in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

One of the few restaurants in the San Jose that I'd actually call a "culinary experience." It's a quirky joint - even with open tables you usually won't get seated without a reservation, and they are typically closed at least a couple months out of every year. Knowing all this going in, just make sure you call ahead and plan to be there a couple of hours total. This isn't the kind of meal you want to rush. While you're waiting between courses, you can scope out some of the beautiful antiques they sell from all over the world.

Park Cafe really is unique in San Jose, and each experience there should be unique; the menu only has a few options, which change regularly. This makes it nearly impossible to recommend any specific dish, but I will say that you need to save room for dessert. It's one of the best around!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The food is excellent and the service like in no other place! The chef/owner walked with us for 2 blocks and got us a taxi after the one we had waiting for us left us there! Anyone who goes to San Jose should definitely try to include Park Cafe as one of their places to visit, will not be dissapointed!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Cafe also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Park Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing