We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
Review of Park Cafe

Park Cafe
Ranked #19 of 621 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Please read important reservation information on our website before making your booking. Thank you.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The food is excellent and the service like in no other place! The chef/owner walked with us for 2 blocks and got us a taxi after the one we had waiting for us left us there! Anyone who goes to San Jose should definitely try to include Park Cafe as one of their places to visit, will not be dissapointed!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    21
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A memorable meal of refinement in San Jose”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We felt so lucky to stumble on an extraordinary meal in Park Cafe. We were staying across the street in the lovely Aparthotel La Sabana, so we kind of stumbled in, but if we had looked it up on Trip Advisor, we would have known that it was one of the top rated spots for a meal in the whole city. Our lunch was quite simply exquisite. In a courtyard brimming with antiques and Balinese sculpture, we began with the ceviche--which was marinating while the chef chatted with us--on a bed of eggplant tapenade. It paired beautifully with a crisp Sauvignon Blanc and homemade bread. For my main course, I chose Parro, or Red Snapper, with Provencal vegetables. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his beef dish, not sure what it was, with a wonderful glass of Merlot. The charming couple who run this place seem intent on keeping it a 'discreet address' -- we really didn't see a sign -- but what a find. We will definitely be back on our next trip to San Jose. The last reviewer found the place pricy, but we didn't at all, considering the quality of the meal and the intimacy of the place. (We live in NYC where we are accustomed to paying more for a superlative experience.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryRobert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“park cafe ok not great and far too expensive”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

3 of the 4 appetizer were excellent dissapointed in the crab one
the desert was excellent
the main dish was average at best and the price was 3 times too much
the decor is terrific and service was nice but not great
we spent $286 for 4 and frankly the new market restaurant at the intercontinental would be much less for better food
not sure why so many people rave on this restaurant but there are lots of places with better seafood like mancu pichhu restaurant one of the old standbys for years and yogos near plaza mayor which is very reasonable price
meat eaters will like doris metropolitano in santa ana much better
tourists complain about food prices so avoid this one and stick to more moderate places
this place does not compare to great restaurants like commanders palace in new orleans
which i would not mind paying big price for
we are long term residents of escazu
look for manchu picchu restaurant at orbitcostarica.com
great seafood at reasonable prices

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuchu678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zarathustra_10, Owner at Park Cafe, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Congratulations on your first review, I see that you were so outraged by the prices of Park Cafe that it motivated you to join TripAdvisor.
If I might have the temerity to explain a few things. The $286 pounds for four includes 23% mandatory taxes (10% service and 13% government) which implies an actual charge by the restaurant of (approximately) $210 for four people. As all the produce of the restaurant -excluding the Pargo and Rabbit- are imported then that figure sounds quite reasonable. In fact, I am happy to share this information, the restaurant has a cost of sales in excess of 60%. This is unheard of and only justifiable because the business of Park Cafe is actually an Antiques store. The restaurant was meant to be a pleasure, which it used to be before we had 'Les Enragés' coming to 'try' a restaurant instead of enjoying the restaurant. I shall be more discriminating in the future.
Your observations are so diametrically opposed to the vast majority of other visitors that you might ponder your own question as to why "not sure why so many people rave on this restaurant" [ sic ] and draw the only conclusion that you might not have the same values as most other people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic dessert!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nothing for you who don´t eat meat - the only dish without meat is fish. But good! And, best of all, the dessert. Five desserts in one för only 8500 colones, all of them fantastic. Don´t miss it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelita_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Find in Costa Rica”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hidden wonder of a restaurant is wonderful. The surroundings are unique, the service perfect, and the cuisine magical. The chef typically serves customers himself; it's almost like eating in a friend's home (if that friend is also a Michelin Starred chef). The cost is not too dear either, especially when matched with the food (which is actually art, delicious art).

High grades all around.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Cafe also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Park Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing