We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colaye laye la bamba”
Review of KC Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
KC Hotel San Jose
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Ostend, Belgium
2 reviews
“Colaye laye la bamba”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hotel Colaye is my favorite place to stay in San José. Easy to get there, supermarket on the corner of the street, a beautiful park to go running, right between Downtown and Escazu it's the perfect place to stay when you need to do some shopping, or simply to have a good rest after an airport arrival or before you go on a trip in Costa Rica.
There are different kind of rooms, very good beds, equipped kitchen, tv, wifi, fan, laundry service, guarded parking and a BIG swimming pool.
I believe price/quality this is definitely one of the best hotels in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfrsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    80
    46
    14
    16
See reviews for
41
63
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
santa T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I live already 7 years almost half of the year in Costa Rica and the other half in Belgium. Arriving in Hotel Colaye after a long trip feels always like coming home. The beds are so big and the rooms very cosy! The staff is always friendly, its clean and has a good restaurant. I love being close to the cinema and multiplaza and the hotel is just a 5 minutes drive, so perfect location! Its a real recommendation for a good start of your trip and a good end!!

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to Colaye for many years and I don't know any other business that spends more time in constantly improving their service. It is very easy to find, also everybody you ask seems to know it, it's smack in the middle of everything you need in San José. Breakfast is great, the rooms are spacious and have really good Matrasses. I sleep like a baby everytime I'm there :-) staff is super friendly and helpfull way beyond their actual jobdescription.
Colaye is the place to be...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanislawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed one night at this property, then moved out to another hotel.

Not terrible, but you can do better for the same money.

The Good:

Clean and updated
Gated parking area with guard 24/7
Close to Sabana park

The Bad:
First room they gave us the a/c wouldn't turn off...freezing
Safe wasn't working in the room
Second room they offered us had a strong smell...think disinfectant on steroids
3d room OK, but right near the maid's station...started at 6am. Looked out over the entrance canopy and parking lot
Some dog in the neighbourhood barked all night...literally
Breakfast included in room rate...tepid effort
Music from corridor speakers loud all night
Internet wifi virtually non-existent
Poor sound insulation

Check around...lots better in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDG1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here on the recommendation of my dentist here in San Jose. Location was the main reason for staying here and I walked everywhere. Did not need a car. Taxi just a phonecall away. Breakfast is included daily. Breakfast consisted of fruit, breads and rolls, eggs, rice and beans, meats and coffee, tea, juice. Staff go above and beyond in accommodating my needs. Being a solo traveler it was good to feel safe and secure. I didnt use the pool because the weather was a cool 70 degrees, but the pool was beautiful, surrounded by potted palms. The room was basic, a small television, large king sized bed, bathroom with a large shower that put out an endless supply of hot water with good force. Air conditioning not needed here and there was a large ceiling fan for air circulation. There is a safe in the room. Daily housekeeping. Walking distance to Sabana Park. Pharmacy across the street. Fernando made arrangements for a shared van from this hotel to another hotel in Parrita, Puntarenas where I will be staying for 6 days. I plan to come back to this hotel on December 5 and fly back home to the cold Michigan winter on December 6. Late checkout was no problem as my ride to Puntarenas would not arrive until 240 pm even though checkout is at noon. I saw no small children here, but there were a couple of teenagers with their families. Neighborhood is mostly business, however, residential area only a block away. Relatively quiet. Hotel is about a 30 minute drive from the airport (San Jose Santamaria) unless you are in rush hour traffic, then its a little longer.

Room Tip: No preference of rooms. Seems quiet no matter where you are, unless it rains. Then it is noisy, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHOBBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

we liked our visit. the staff are very friendly. the room was nice. swimming pool was pretty (didn't have time to swim). and they offered breakfast (but we had to leave really early so we didn't get to try). the neighborhood was quiet and we were able to take a five minute taxi ride to downtown. I would recommend this place. it suited our needs just fine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saralee78664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Due to a stolen passport, I stayed here for 4 nights rather than the one night I planned. Rooms are basic but large and are kept clean and serviced daily. Hotel pool is nice, and receptionists very helpful, in particular Fernando, Karla and Gerald - all speak good English and were extremely pleasant to me. Breakfast is basic and the same every day, and I found the restaurant staff a little dismissive. Don't eat here in the evenings. Drinks are way too expensive, and 5 mins around the corner is Mac's American Bar where you can get a decent meal for not a lot of money.

Room Tip: Go for one of the re-furbished rooms in the main building and not in the annexe out back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
#24 of 78 in San Jose
387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
0.5 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KC Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KC Hotel San Jose

Property: KC Hotel San Jose
Address: Calle Morenos, Sabana Sur | 100m West 175m South From la Contraloria, Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KC Hotel San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you look for hotels in Costa Rica, KC Hotel San Jose is the place to stay. Developed with executive travel in mind, this boutique hotel is perfect for short or long term stays in San Jose. Located in the prestigious neighborhood of Sabana Sur, across from La Sabana Central Park, KC Hotel San Jose brings together the charm of residential San Jose with the convenience of easy access to the city center, neighboring Escazu and Juan Santamaria International Airport. Affordable yet luxurious, KC Hotel San Jose offers a variety of accommodations depending on the needs and length of stay of each of our guests. A/C is avilable only on Superior Rooms. All the rooms have fans. Our rooms and suites come fully furnished with all the comforts of home, including cable television and unlimited free access to the Internet. Among the hotel's amenities are room service, restaurant and bar, lobby lounge and a large pool, to the convenience of our guests. He have an special Smoked Garden pro Carbon Neutral, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your KC Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KC Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing