We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All alone in Costa Rica”
Review of KC Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KC Hotel San Jose
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed September 20, 2012

On this trip my fiance and I traveled to CR from diffrent locations( usa & afghanistan) . I was delayed for 4 days.During this time the hotel staff was very helpful, esspecially Miguel Molina .He gave her direction to grocery stores & pharmacy, close and good places to eat , exchanged money and explained not go out at night by herself . Watched the superbowl in the lobby with her .She is not much of a world traveler and I tend to drag her all over the globe with me. It was a relief to know she was in good hands with the hotel staff . The staff was very helpful booking tours, travel and reservations at other locations.The rooms and the hotel was very clean and well maintained . Breahfast was very good .A good place to stay in San Jose. Looking forward to going back someday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 238 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

great location.the stuff make you feel a home, the room was very comfortable,the hotel is very clean, love the breakfast and especially the good espresso on the bar.
i stayed their the night i came to costa rica and a few days before i flew back.
i recommend this hotel to everyone who comes for a business trip or for traveling in costa rica
as a great spot.

Room Tip: need more vegetable in breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doritkeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Our travel agent booked us here for the night we arrived so we didn't have to risk driving at night to Manuel Antonio. It wasn't that it was too hard to find the street it was located on, it was impossible to actually see the sign of the hotel from street. They need to light it better or use bigger sized letters on their signage. The beds were really stiff, which is the only other negative. The pool was refreshing and the service great. Breakfast was 7 out of 10.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El-orence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Excellent location, near to downtown and all commercial areas. Good food, comfortable rooms, clean, wifi, parking lot with guard. I think I received what I paid for. I recommend this hotel in your trip to C.R.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCespedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were just guests of the Hotel Colaye. We stayed one night at the beginning of our vacation and two nights at the end. It was booked for us through an EF Tour program (educational school tours). It is definitely not a hotel I would have booked personally but it did provide fine accomodations for our stay. Issues that we had included no hot water one evening when we needed to shower. Although WIFI is free it was not available in our room, it did work just outside the door though. There was mildew and mold on the ceiling of our bathroom. Not all rooms have A/C, there are ceiling fans in the non A/C rooms but our first night was very warm and the ceiling fan offered no relief. There is a snack bar available all day that served lattes, snacks and meals. That was nice to have. Front desk staff was very helpful and easy to work with. One major warning I would issue is that you inquire about tour groups. There were two groups while we were there - about 40 students each - and I did hear a guest complaining about all the noise. 80 high schoolers - you can imagine!

Stayed: June 2012
1  Thank 4willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I had a very enjoyable time at the hotel the staff were great and hospitable and Lester the Front Desk agent was amazing he arranged all the tours for me from start to finish what a very nice man!! I will recommend this hotel to other people that are planning on going to Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times and every time has been a different experience. I understand that they hotel is under new ownership and has undergone some renovations, but silly 'decor' renovations .... nothing really important! (new towels in the bathroom would be a good start...replacing the thread-bare ones that I would be using as rags).
Every time we have been here, the WIFI has never worked in the rooms. This trip, the WIFI worked in our room for a few hours, but was painfully slow! The router is right outside the rooms and should not be a problem....why not fix it?
Our room in the past was a kitchenette and fell into the 'bargain' price, this time, the kitchenette was a bit more expensive and we only used the refrigerator....so according to the web site, the room we got was supposed to have a fridge, but it didn't and for the first time, we did not get AC. We got a room that had a pigeon roosting on a window sill, our door was really hard to open and close and needed all our weight to get in and out and the last morning, there was a plumbing problem in the room next door and the maids swept the overflowing water right under our door and were flooding our room! We just about fell hydroplaning on the water covering the tile floor and all our luggage and bags had to be put up onto the futon couch to avoid the water!
The day staff was very helpful and kind the evening staff (especially the main desk clerk) was another story....the personality of a brick.....
If it wasn't so convenient to our dentist office I would not stay here....but it is and seems like the best choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with AC and a fridge when you check in because you can't specify this when you re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wefish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
2.5 mi away
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
#29 of 78 in San Jose
339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
976 reviews
0.8 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KC Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KC Hotel San Jose

Address: Calle Morenos, Sabana Sur | 100m West 175m South From la Contraloria, Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: $62 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — KC Hotel San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you look for hotels in Costa Rica, KC Hotel San Jose is the place to stay. Developed with executive travel in mind, this boutique hotel is perfect for short or long term stays in San Jose. Located in the prestigious neighborhood of Sabana Sur, across from La Sabana Central Park, KC Hotel San Jose brings together the charm of residential San Jose with the convenience of easy access to the city center, neighboring Escazu and Juan Santamaria International Airport. Affordable yet luxurious, KC Hotel San Jose offers a variety of accommodations depending on the needs and length of stay of each of our guests. A/C is avilable only on Superior Rooms. All the rooms have fans. Our rooms and suites come fully furnished with all the comforts of home, including cable television and unlimited free access to the Internet. Among the hotel's amenities are room service, restaurant and bar, lobby lounge and a large pool, to the convenience of our guests. He have an special Smoked Garden pro Carbon Neutral, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your KC Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KC Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing