We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Donde Carlos

Donde Carlos
Ranked #77 of 599 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Upscale dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went to Donde Carlos with a friend. Location is in an upscale neighborhood about a ten minute cab ride from downtown San Jose, the restaurant is a converted house with two stories as well as al fresco dining.

Argentinian food, on the expensive (for San Jose) side, but good quality cuts and well prepared. I don't understand a previous reviewer's comment about the portions being small... After indulging in appetizers, I couldn't finish my steak :).

The patrons were all well-heeled locals, mostly older couples or families.

Extensive wine list, mostly Argentinian and Chilean.

Great service - attentive, discreet, but not pushy. If you're looking for a quality dining experience at reasonable (100 dollars for two people) prices, a good choice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dictator_Sulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ehhhh...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was recommended this place by a friend. We're not friends anymore...kidding. I just really wasn't that impressed. I ate at another steakhouse that is far superior to this one (La Esquina de Buenos Aires). Super modern, and somewhat snobby atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Lauderdale
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Steak in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Easiest to get there is catch a cab. The restaurant is a little outside of downtown in Barrio Escalante, too far to walk and especially to dangerous to walk at night, like everything in San Jose. Becareful.
Wonderful argentinien steak house with beef to die for. Expensive, but well worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank panamacityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Meats.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

It has meats, but they are very expensive, and in my opinion meats are not the best. There are better options.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank andre r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For a high price...canned asparagus”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were four that dined here, and we ordered a variety of items. The steaks were okay, but not what was expected. The salad was alright, but came with canned asparagus. The establishment was clean, and had a modern appearance, but it wasn't enough to save itself.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donde Carlos also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Donde Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing