We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for special occassions.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Taj Mahal

Restaurante Taj Mahal
Ranked #7 of 156 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Costa Rica's 1st Indian Restaurant. Established in 2002 serving North Indian Cuisine with such specialties as lamb, tandoori, vegetarian, chicken, seafood, an extensive list of curries, biryanis, and fresh Tandoor baked Naans. Vegan and gluten free selections. Full scale restaurant with wine list and bar service. Private Dining room and outdoor garden terrace. Catering Service available. Certified by the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) as a 5 star establishment. Also children's playground in private garden.
costa rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for special occassions.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

A perfect place to celebrate special occassions and to have a first date
Many youn couples on Saturday night.
Food was very nice
Service friendly
Room romantic

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marikacostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandoor2002, Owner at Restaurante Taj Mahal, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Marika,

Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    92
    33
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place is so gorgeous! Very authentic and great patio seating. Service was top notch and we enjoyed our meal very much! Def pricey, but totally worth it! Some of the best Indian food I've had overall!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissAlessMalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandoor2002, Owner at Restaurante Taj Mahal, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear MissAlessMalice,

Thank you very much for your delightful remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
436 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Good food but costly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is our second visit with our first about a year ago and while it is good indian food the prices are still very high - and yes I've seen the owner's explanation about all the imported ingredients etc. However clearly there is a market for Indian food and people (like us) willing to pay. We returned because last year we found the lamb outstanding but that wasn't the case this time and in fact it was a little tough. The chicken dish we had was mostly sauce and quite ordinary. That being said the service is good and the campy decor with Bollywood films playing in the background is fun.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peytonsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandoor2002, Owner at Restaurante Taj Mahal, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Paytonsage,

First of all thank you for your comments. FYI we have not increased prices in over two years. Some facts maybe many people don't know or take into consideration, in 26 days open per month we have to make enough income to pay the rent, wages of 11 employees, pay gov tax, pay social security $2000 US, pay electricity $1400, pay water $350, pay municipal and liquor licence fees $600, pay for cashew nuts $400, pay for imported spices and rice, pay for charcoal $572, the list goes on and on, not mentioning buying the other products for the restaurant. By law in Costa Rica 10% service and 13% sales tax, for a total of 23% are included in your bill. It is an expensive country, there is no doubt about that. When one goes to a restaurant one is not only paying for the food, but also for the experience, the service, and the ambience. Do other restaurants have to use such elaborate ingredients for their recipes? If you go to any other Italian, American franchisee, Japanese, Argentinean etc. restaurants in the area their prices are around the same. Regarding the lamb, was it from the Tandoor or a curry, Let me know please, Ill look into it. Next time your in town, please drop by and ask for me. Looking forward to meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjose
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Horibile”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Nothing to do with indian food..i asked a chiken masala and i recived trocidos of chicken in beschamel with cury..and the price..waw..45 dolares for this trash..no thank you..never come back

Helpful?
Thank danilolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“The gem of Central America & Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have been visiting this great restaurant on a weekly basis since arriving in Costa Rica for work. I must say, I had been having the same meal every time as it was just so delicious, Lamb Vindaloo, Garlic Naan, starting with their Mushrooms. Last night, the head waiter, suggested another main course a Chicken Tikka Masala, vindaloo level of heat, and I cannot express the sensation of flavours in the dish, from the licorice in the distance to the sharpness of the sauce. Unbelievable does not give this meal justice.

Coming from Glasgow in the UK, we had very good places like the Koh I Noor or Balbirs, or Mr Singh's Kitchen, but none can hold a candle to this place. The ambiance reminds me of another famous curry house, Coconut Grove in Dubai, which was frequented by many Indian nationals, but again, I think this Escazu establishment has the edge. Well done Sir, I hope to continue my visits for a long time to come.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandoor2002, Owner at Restaurante Taj Mahal, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Frank M,

First of all I would like to extend my employees and personal gratitude to your comments about our restaurant. Funny, I was born in Glasgow but moved from there with my parents to Canada at a young age and have been here in Costa Rica for 14 years, establishing the restaurant 11 years ago. It is pleasing to know that there are still people like yourself who live to eat, and not eat to live. Once again thank you for your kind and genuine words that bring happiness and encouragement to my heart.

Sincerely,

David Mander, Owner Restaurante Taj Mahal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Taj Mahal also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Curridabat, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing