We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“THANK YOU THANK YOU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Out of Bounds Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Out of Bounds Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THANK YOU THANK YOU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

After traveling back from Panama we stayed here. I can't say enough about the rooms and the staff. Matteo and Wife are so welcoming. The rooms are very clean, and bathrooms are huge. For the price and location you can't find a nicer place. Out of Bounds is the perfect place to crash after a surf vacation or having your Smile re-arranged! Order the Tico Breakfast... great way to start the day!

THE SWEET ONES
BK NY

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    22
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
62
37
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

this was my second stay at out of Bounds...if you see people going back then you must realize something is better than all those other places!

A massive warm welcome, smiles, super clean rooms, great views, fresh air, Marisa & Matteo ready to help, order, book, reserve whatever your needs maybe! just so easy to relax, weather your going to the dentist just 5 minutes walk from your room, maybe some shopping at the super mall within walking distance or maybe some hiking just around the corner Out of Bounds is there for you. A fantastic, covenant, helpful and inviting Hotel. Yes I will be back...hopefully in May!
Thanks again for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My friend and I stayed in Out of Bounds during last week of October this year and very much enjoyed the hotel and its location - close to DentaVac (2 min walk) where we've had a lot of dental work done and just across the street from a very fine Indian restaurant "Taj Mahal". A big plus was free internet access and phone calls to US and Canada available on the terrace by the hotel office. For breakfast we had chosen to have Costa Rican specialty "gallo pinto" which is black beans with rice served with scrambled eggs, glass of orange juice and coffee. It was simple food but we enjoyed it, especially that it was served on the terrace with the beautiful view of the city. The hotel owners Mateo and Miranda went out of their way to help us with anything we needed - one of which was picking us up from the airport and taking back by an English speaking driver. If you need to take a taxi cab, take only red ones with a yellow triangle on the door which has a number on it - those are legitimate taxis. Some cab drivers were not familiar with the hotel location and we found out that it was easier for them to take us to Taj Mahal restaurant, (which is well known there) right across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faridaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
It was a pleasure having you here, Matteo and I hope to see you again. Detavac does really good work!! Happy you are happy with both of us:) Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Super recomendado para quienes visiten SJ de forma ocasional, ya sea solos, pareja, familia.

Mateo and Miranda have the best energy and you can feel it as soon as you walk into this hotel.

It has the best ubication, is really calm and private, plus, they give you the best service ever.

Just put some natilla on the menu, and I'l be the happiest!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XAF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Your so kind, it was a pleasure having you here. Till we meet again!!

Meranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We loved our stay at Out of Bounds! It was truly incredible. Our hosts were charming, and very very helpful. We asked for typical Costa Rican food and were directed to the most amazing shop we would never have found on our own. The room was exceptional. Very very clean, gorgeously appointed. We had a terrace just outside the room where we spent the night drinking wine and eating pastries from a little shop we found in town. Breakfast was so yummy, also served on the terrace. We could see three volcanoes from the terrace! The grounds were beautiful as well, with some amazing flowers and trees as well as interesting birds and butterflies. Meranda took excellent care of us and we would love to visit again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level, you can see so much more of the beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Happy you enjoyed the view, we enjoyed having you!!

Meranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Denver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Excellent family run accommodations. Meranda and Matteo took great care of us. The room was just right, with a beautiful view! Food was delicious and freshly made. M&M also assisted us with our vehicle rental allowing us to pick up and drop off the vehicle at Out of Bounds while also arranging for our pick up and drop off at the airport. They answered all of our many questions and helped us get on our way for our first Costa Rican adventure.
Highly recommended! Adam & Jo

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Perfect, how can I not say Thanks to that!! Your sweet and we try really hard to be the best at what we do.

Meranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great place, great beds, four dollar cab ride to multiplex. Only one restaurant within walking distance and it's great but pricy.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papadshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escazu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#1 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
2.3 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#7 of 17 in Escazu
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
3.6 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#12 of 17 in Escazu
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out of Bounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of Bounds Hotel

Property: Out of Bounds Hotel
Address: West of Commercial Paco, Old Road to Santa Ana 1 km | In front of Restaurant Taj Mahal, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Out of Bounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better description than the ones our guests have left here. We are a small boutique hotel where comfort and hospitality are #1, operated by the owners to ensure the best service is given. Our ideal location is a plus, within walking distance to shopping centers, supermarkets, restaurants and more. Take in the amaizng Views of 3 Volcanos and the Valley while eating your Free Breakfast. Free Wifi and calls to Canada and the USA included. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Out of Bounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of Bounds Hotel Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing