We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best option in SJ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Out of Bounds Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best option in SJ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Super recomendado para quienes visiten SJ de forma ocasional, ya sea solos, pareja, familia.

Mateo and Miranda have the best energy and you can feel it as soon as you walk into this hotel.

It has the best ubication, is really calm and private, plus, they give you the best service ever.

Just put some natilla on the menu, and I'l be the happiest!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XAF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Your so kind, it was a pleasure having you here. Till we meet again!!

Meranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    22
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
64
38
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We loved our stay at Out of Bounds! It was truly incredible. Our hosts were charming, and very very helpful. We asked for typical Costa Rican food and were directed to the most amazing shop we would never have found on our own. The room was exceptional. Very very clean, gorgeously appointed. We had a terrace just outside the room where we spent the night drinking wine and eating pastries from a little shop we found in town. Breakfast was so yummy, also served on the terrace. We could see three volcanoes from the terrace! The grounds were beautiful as well, with some amazing flowers and trees as well as interesting birds and butterflies. Meranda took excellent care of us and we would love to visit again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level, you can see so much more of the beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Happy you enjoyed the view, we enjoyed having you!!

Meranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Denver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Excellent family run accommodations. Meranda and Matteo took great care of us. The room was just right, with a beautiful view! Food was delicious and freshly made. M&M also assisted us with our vehicle rental allowing us to pick up and drop off the vehicle at Out of Bounds while also arranging for our pick up and drop off at the airport. They answered all of our many questions and helped us get on our way for our first Costa Rican adventure.
Highly recommended! Adam & Jo

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Perfect, how can I not say Thanks to that!! Your sweet and we try really hard to be the best at what we do.

Meranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great place, great beds, four dollar cab ride to multiplex. Only one restaurant within walking distance and it's great but pricy.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papadshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This sweet little boutique hotel is a gem. Just 5 rooms and a larger house that sleeps 11. The rooms are clean and well appointed. And the view from the balcony is wonderful. I had breakfast out there every morning and sat out there for a bit each evening. Watching the weather sweep across the valley and the lights of San Jose each night.
Miranda and Matteo who own and run the in we're as helpfully as can be. They knew the places to eat, the places to see, how to get there and tips that saved me time at the airport coming home. They made arrangements for whatever I needed and their suggestions were all excellent. They even gave me a free 3 day pass at the World Gym down the street.
I highly recommend this inn. Get in touch while you are planning your trip. They will be a great help. I will satay here again next time I go to San Jose.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are on the second floor balcony. They have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becca5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

An accurate review is something I appreciate - positive or negative. This one is positive, and I'm glad to give it. Matteo was very helpful beginning to end and the place is very nice. My spanish is modest, but his english is perfect. The 'hotel' is architecturally pleasing, w/ lots of details done right - the lines of the rooms, the colors, bedding, and an ample bathroom... Good feng shui inside and out. The breezes, mild temps, and the view were appreciated as well. The location, though on a road, feels quiet and peaceful, plus high up: Sunset and sunrise were nice. I've stayed 4 other places in the San Jose area, and this is my fave. It's proximate to stylish parts of town, and we passed plenty of worthy looking eateries on the way to our chosen restaurant that night. We decided not to head out after dinner, but we had all the info we needed if we'd decided to, w/ a variety of options to suit different moods, and the details you need to know to be safe and have the experience you want. Local knowledge in abundance. Support these guys and have yourself a sweet time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannybobanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We picked out of bounds for our last in CR because of its proximity to the airport (about 15 minute drive) but we were pleasantly surprised by the amenities when we arrived. Matteo was very hospitable and even helped us order take out (my spanish isn't up to par). The beds were large and the linens were clean, the rooms give you the feeling of being at home. There was a beautiful view of the city backdropped with volcanoes. This was definitely one of our favorite places to stay in CR. Satellite tv and wifi also kept us entertained for our stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brixypablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escazu hotels
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
2.3 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#8 of 15 in Escazu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Linda Vista
Hotel Linda Vista
#11 of 15 in Escazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartotel Don Francisco
Apartotel Don Francisco
#10 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out of Bounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of Bounds Hotel

Property: Out of Bounds Hotel
Address: West of Commercial Paco, Old Road to Santa Ana 1 km | In front of Restaurant Taj Mahal, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Out of Bounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better description than the ones our guests have left here. We are a small boutique hotel where comfort and hospitality are #1, operated by the owners to ensure the best service is given. Our ideal location is a plus, within walking distance to shopping centers, supermarkets, restaurants and more. Take in the amaizng Views of 3 Volcanos and the Valley while eating your Free Breakfast. Free Wifi and calls to Canada and the USA included. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Out of Bounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of Bounds Hotel Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing