We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Out of Bounds Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Excellent family run accommodations. Meranda and Matteo took great care of us. The room was just right, with a beautiful view! Food was delicious and freshly made. M&M also assisted us with our vehicle rental allowing us to pick up and drop off the vehicle at Out of Bounds while also arranging for our pick up and drop off at the airport. They answered all of our many questions and helped us get on our way for our first Costa Rican adventure.
Highly recommended! Adam & Jo

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Perfect, how can I not say Thanks to that!! Your sweet and we try really hard to be the best at what we do.

Meranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 180 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great place, great beds, four dollar cab ride to multiplex. Only one restaurant within walking distance and it's great but pricy.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papadshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This sweet little boutique hotel is a gem. Just 5 rooms and a larger house that sleeps 11. The rooms are clean and well appointed. And the view from the balcony is wonderful. I had breakfast out there every morning and sat out there for a bit each evening. Watching the weather sweep across the valley and the lights of San Jose each night.
Miranda and Matteo who own and run the in we're as helpfully as can be. They knew the places to eat, the places to see, how to get there and tips that saved me time at the airport coming home. They made arrangements for whatever I needed and their suggestions were all excellent. They even gave me a free 3 day pass at the World Gym down the street.
I highly recommend this inn. Get in touch while you are planning your trip. They will be a great help. I will satay here again next time I go to San Jose.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are on the second floor balcony. They have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becca5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

An accurate review is something I appreciate - positive or negative. This one is positive, and I'm glad to give it. Matteo was very helpful beginning to end and the place is very nice. My spanish is modest, but his english is perfect. The 'hotel' is architecturally pleasing, w/ lots of details done right - the lines of the rooms, the colors, bedding, and an ample bathroom... Good feng shui inside and out. The breezes, mild temps, and the view were appreciated as well. The location, though on a road, feels quiet and peaceful, plus high up: Sunset and sunrise were nice. I've stayed 4 other places in the San Jose area, and this is my fave. It's proximate to stylish parts of town, and we passed plenty of worthy looking eateries on the way to our chosen restaurant that night. We decided not to head out after dinner, but we had all the info we needed if we'd decided to, w/ a variety of options to suit different moods, and the details you need to know to be safe and have the experience you want. Local knowledge in abundance. Support these guys and have yourself a sweet time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannybobanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We picked out of bounds for our last in CR because of its proximity to the airport (about 15 minute drive) but we were pleasantly surprised by the amenities when we arrived. Matteo was very hospitable and even helped us order take out (my spanish isn't up to par). The beds were large and the linens were clean, the rooms give you the feeling of being at home. There was a beautiful view of the city backdropped with volcanoes. This was definitely one of our favorite places to stay in CR. Satellite tv and wifi also kept us entertained for our stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brixypablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

What a beautiful little place this is up on the mountainside with amazing views of San Jose and the volcanos. The building is but several years old, and looks almost brand new. Everything is immaculate with great house keepers. Meranda and Mateo are the consumate hosts. Both so friendly and helpful. reakfast was very good, fresh and tasty. Ricardo is also a great asset to this B&B. We stayed with Meranda and Mateo several different times during our 2 month stay in CR. As we traveled from one side of CR to another, we always "based" at the Out of Bounds. Meranda got online with us several times to locate accomodations in the different places we wanted to visit. As this was an extended trip of 2 months, we wanted to keep our costs down with lesser known, more remote places. She was terrific, patient and extremely helpful. We are going back to CR in January and will definitely use the Out of Bounds again. What a treat!
Thanks Meranda, Mateo and Ricardo.
Reg & Dale

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegandDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed one night at the hotel before an early morning flight out of SJO. It's only 20 minutes from the airport, and they had a driver pick us up at 4:45 a.m. to take us. They even let us store some bags there until we got back to San Jose, and when we did get back, they let us pay a reduced fee to rest for a few hours before our flight back to the states.

The room was great — modern, clean and super comfortable. And the views of the city from outside the room and the outdoor patio area are amazing. Great place to have a glass of wine on our last night in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliciaP03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.2 mi away
Apartotel Don Francisco
Apartotel Don Francisco
#10 of 14 in Escazu
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 14 in Escazu
435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#8 of 14 in Escazu
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
2.1 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out of Bounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of Bounds Hotel

Address: West of Commercial Paco, Old Road to Santa Ana 1 km | In front of Restaurant Taj Mahal, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Price Range: $52 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Out of Bounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better description than the ones our guests have left here. We are a small boutique hotel where comfort and hospitality are #1, operated by the owners to ensure the best service is given. Our ideal location is a plus, within walking distance to shopping centers, supermarkets, restaurants and more. Take in the amaizng Views of 3 Volcanos and the Valley while eating your Free Breakfast. Free Wifi and calls to Canada and the USA included. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Out of Bounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of Bounds Hotel Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing