We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean”
Review of Costa Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Costa Verde Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Escazu B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here two nights, one before we left for the Osa and one before we left to go home. This inn is very cute and secluded however, it was very noisy. We could hear dogs, motorcycles and kids up way past their bed time. It sounded like they were right next to us. They were also fixing cars right outside our room. The Hot Tub was not working either. The room overall was very clean and nice. When asking for food suggestions we kind of got laughed at by the front desk but what do you expect we're from out of town and looking for a deal. We found his suggestion and it was actually a great deal! Laly's bar and restaurant has great food and it was only 10 min walking distance from the Inn.

The Breakfast was fantastic and so fresh!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place was amazing. We stayed in the bunglaow. It is two rooms joined by a balcony, with a kitchenette. It was so beautiful. We could see the beach and the jungle from our room. There were always monkeys and a sloth just feel from the balcony. The rooms were very large and comfortable. We had 2 adults and 6 kids with us and had more than enough room. Very private as this room is separated from the rest of the hotel. Do to the separation you had to walk or get the shuttle to go to the pools or the restaurant but we loved being away from all the other guests. It is still close to the road but it really was not a problem. The staff was friendly and spoke English very well. The price was very reasonable for the amazing accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familytime8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We only stayed one night to catch our flight the next day. The Inn is nicely situated, just 30 min drive from the airport, and when we visit Costa Rica again, we would have no reservations to staying there again.
The grounds are nicely maintained, and the room we stayed in was very good. We particularly liked the natural stonework in the bathroom.
Staff was very helpful and we liked the fact that they were willing to help order in some food for us and also that there were refreshments in the lobby area.
They were also very helpful in pointing out local restaurants we could walk to if we chose.
We did not use the pool or jacuzzi, so cannot comment on them. However, this inn seems to be popular with lots of repeat visitors as there was a school group overnighting there on their way to a tour, and several of the people who were there, had stayed in the inn previously.
Breakfast was good, and the dining area is comfortable and well managed.
Transfer to the airport was on time and the driver knew exactly where he was going.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spice_isle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here with small children and it was a really comfortable room with a small basic kitchen, comfy beds and big armchairs and a place to sit out on the spacious balcony. The kids enjoyed the pool. The breakfast is cooked to order, and you get a good serving of fresh tropical fruit, eggs, toast and beans and rice. The staff are really friendly and we met quite a few other guests as people seemed to chat in the dining area.

We didn't have a rental car, but we were able to walk down into downtown Escazu to buy groceries and to eat out (the hotel dining room only serves breakfast). If you arrive late at night (as we did), I recommend stopping to pick up any groceries you need urgently on the way there. The only thing complimentary in the room was coffee, but there was no milk, nothing else to drink but tap water, and no snacks or anything, and the office and kitchen were all closed.

Room Tip: Worth getting one with a kitchen unless you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBK_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am a Dental Hygienist from New Mexico and I owned my own Holistic dental hygiene practice there for 10 years. I have been promoting Dental Tourism to Costa Rica for the past 3 years and have had many clients stay at the Costa Verde Inn and for a $60. a night room, it is clean, friendly, speaks English, has a tour bus and airport shuttle service for $30. ( this is the same as you would pay a cab, but the driver is there with your name on a sign and knows where he is going) The girls that cook breakfast are wonderfully friendly and good cooks. The rooms are clean but simple and the pool is very inviting especially during the dry season, a refreshing way to escape the heat.
I work with 3 dentists in the San Jose area and I know quite a few good restuarants in this area as well. I personally spend most of my time at the beach when I am not in Escazu/San Jose with a client. Pura Vida - Pure Life

Room Tip: If you are into paying a little more, $75. per night you can get a 1 bedroom apartment with an aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Costa Verde Inn from April 8-16.
Our room was huge, had its own kitchen with fridge and microwave and everything you need.
Staff is really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was made fresh for us every morning and was delicious. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: there are also rooms with a patio, I would like one of those next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadagoose-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose this place on the basis of Trip Advisor recommendations, but did not find it to be anywhere near as good as we expected from reading other reviews. The rooms have multiple beds, as in a hostel. There were many insects in both our rooms, including a cockroach. It made us worry about what we might be bringing back into the US in our clothes and suitcases. We did find bugs in our suitcases. The breakfast was OK - cold eggs (they had been sitting out for quite a while) and rice and beans with some fruit. Coffee, but no tea for those of us who are tea drinkers. The hot tub could, at best, hold two very friendly people. It probably holds the record for the smallest hot tub. It is within walking distance of the town center, as advertised, but what they don't tell you is that the town center is not where the restaurants are. The restaurants are not at all within walking distance (other than Snoopy's Bar which we did not investigate).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KOLSON3992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 14 in Escazu
435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas del Ri...
#2 of 2 in San Rafael de Escazu
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#8 of 14 in Escazu
199 reviews
3.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
909 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Casa Reflejos
Aparthotel Casa Reflejos
#1 of 2 in San Rafael de Escazu
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Verde Inn

Address: | La Rosalinda,300 Mts sur del Cementerio, Escazu 63734, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Escazu
Price Range: $60 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and comfort, at the edge of San Jose - but high above all the traffic and crowds...In fine Costa Rican tradition, we can honestly say: My House Is Your House . . . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Costa Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel Escazu
Costa Verde Inn Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing