We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal staging area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Wyndham San Jose Escazu twice, once on our way in and again on our way out of Costa Rica. For a young family, it proved to be an ideal way to break up the trip into more manageable portions. The rooms are quiet, clean, well appointed and comfortable, the staff is friendly and helpful, the food is quite good, the price is reasonable and there are great amenities including a pool and a hot tub.

There are a few ways in which the hotel could improve. The temperature in the pool tended to vary considerably - sometimes quite reasonable, other times rather cold. An elevator was out during our second stay, which made the trip down to the pool a bit more work, particularly with a toddler. And the location, while good for staging into and out of the city, has limited outdoor appeal - it's a busy area and there's a lot of traffic.

But these are minor issues in the grand scheme of things. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RyanJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Ryan, we are glad to hear that you like our hotel, our facilities and service you pleasure. About your comments temperature I inform you that the pool is heated through solar panels, we will check the installation and verify that everything is working 100%, I apologize. About the comments you actually lift makes us one of our three elevators was broken, we were waiting for the replacement part and hope to have the elevator ready this week. We hope to see around here again, thanks for commenting your experience at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 933 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We found this Wyndham garden to be very clean all around with a nice pool and gym area and breakfast included. The location here is okay, you are a 5 minute walk away to Walmart or 15 minute walk to a variety of fast food chains and restaurants and some basic shopping. The hotel has a taxi service ready for you at any moment which we used to take us to a restaurant ($4usd) and also to SJO airport ($25usd) which is about 25min away. The staff everywhere in the hotel is friendly and willing to help and if we were in San Jose again would probably stay here once more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Philip, makes us very happy to know that you like our hotel, our facilities, service and location pleased him pleased to know that he would return to stay at our hotel, on behalf of our staff will thank you taking the time to comment on his experience in our hotel and we hope to see you again around here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

perfect in location cleaning nd staff kindness,excellent parking reaching by inside elevator,nice swimming pool nd gym.Breakfast nd dinner really good,excellent wifi nd good tv with sufficient satellite channels.

Room Tip: higher floors better view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 877Zorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear customer, we are pleased that you like our hotel, our technical support, and our parking facilities. We hope to see you soon around here.

Thank you on behalf of all our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I took advantage of a local offer (my wife, son and I live in Costa Rica) and stayed one night with a complementary bottle of sparkling wine. We really enjoyed our stay even though it was for just one night. All the staff was great and the hotel beautiful and pretty new. This was excellent because of my wife's allergies since the room carpet had no smell at all. The room was very comfortable and spotless. The bed was great and offered plenty of space. Our suite had everything you need and was well equipped.

To top it all, the pool was just great. It is an indoor heated pool which was just perfect because it was a rainy day so the wheather simply was not a problem for us to enjoy the very long pool. In this pool you can actually do real swimming laps, unlike many hotels which offer only a small pool.

I enjoyed our stay so much that the following week we returned with our baby boy, who really, really, really enjoyed the pool. For my family and me, it is the perfect place for a weekend enjoyment. The second time we stayed there, the manager was so kind as to let us have a late check-out, free of charge, when we told him we needed extra time to get everything ready becuase of our son being so young. He kindly helped us with the request.

I totally recomend this hotel to anyone who wishes to be near everything in San José. There is a movie complex very close, as well as a huge mall (Multiplaza Escazu) less than 5 minutes away. There are also plenty of great places to eat nearby between the movie complex and the mall, which is another great option to eat. The airport is a quick drive and the downtown area is also within a very short drive. I just do not have any complaints to mention but plenty of praises for the hotel and all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FERVALENCIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Customer, the name of our staff will thank you take time to comment your stay in the hotel in such detail. For us to know that your stay was enjoyable and feel at home is the best gift that we can do, we hope to see around here you soon again and continue fulfilling your expectations of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Since I am a clean freak, this was the best place for me. It is a newly built hotel and everything is so clean. All the receptionists who worked at different hours were so nice and pleasant. The reservation manager went out of his way to find an address for us and explained to us how to get there. I am glad I choose Wyndham Garden to stay for 5 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Ms. Hilda, thanks for commenting your stay in the Hotel, we're glad you liked our facilities, rooms and especially the cleanliness of rooms and areas, personally l will congratulate our Housekeeping department and also to Daniel Department Reservation by having given a personalized concierge service, which we encourage our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed there twice, it is clean and quite (if you stay at the side opposite the highway). The staff was very friendly and the restaurant is nice. good wi-fi connection, very comfortable to work there. Beware of the option to leave your bill open, they charge your card without telling you, and in case of a debit card, that is not refundable. Better to pay for the room upon check in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side opposite the highway, these rooms are very quite, perfect for getting som...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CleopatraRole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear customer, we are glad to hear that your stay at the hotel was pleasant, also thank you for your comments about our service and facilities, sorry we have a problem with your credit card, let me comment that his case was an exception, because if a customer gives credence to inform you that we do so with a credit card (never debit) to stay after their client to checkout tell us you want to cancel that card or another. In your case we will review that fact happened if you give us credit with a debit card charge is automatic, but for us it is easy to contact the bank and tell them that charge is returned.

We hope that this problem is not an impediment to visiting us again and hope to see you soon around here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice hotel with very couteous staff that are very wiling to help.
Breakfast included was very nice and convenient for quick turn around to get out to meetings.
Central location right off expressway with easy access for business meetings and great restaurants in Escazu.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank worldtraveller00701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear customer, thank you for comment on their experience at the hotel, we're glad you like our location, service and breakfast, expect to see him here and to continue to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escazu hotels
1.9 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
1.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu

Address: Mts. West, Epa Store 200 | San Rafael Escazu, Escazu 10203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Escazu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#5 Business Hotel in Escazu
#5 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $77 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu - First-Class Amenities In Trendy, Upscale Escazu Located in the trendy, upscale suburb of Escazu in Costa Rica's largest city - San Jose - the newly constructed Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu hotel offers travelers a host of modern amenities, world-class service and easy access to all that San Jose and this beautiful Central American country have to offer. Easy proximity to several corporate centers, restaurants, shopping, museums and stunning natural attractions like the Poas and Irazu volcanoes and with Juan Santa Maria International Airport just 20 minutes' away, leisure and business travelers alike will want to make this San Rafael Escazu hotel their premier lodging destination. Guests can stay active with a workout in the state-of-the-art fitness center, or with a swim in the 65-foot long indoor heated lap pool, while those looking to unwind can enjoy a relaxing soak in the Jacuzzi. Female travelers will rest comfortably in specially designated female-friendly guest room floors, and thoughtful amenities like complimentry breakfast, 24-hour Mini-Mart, 24-hour business center, free Wi-Fi and valet and dry cleaning services add to a sense of both productivity and well-being. El Cortijo restaurant serves up International cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner, while Provenza Lounge and its outdoor terrace provide the perfect spot to relax and enjoy cocktails and dinner, and the convenience of 24-hour room service affords guests the luxury of savoring food and beverage without having to leave the hotel. Ample free parking offers convenience, while those who prefer to leave the driving to the hotel can take advantage of the free shuttle service to local business parks and malls. Each of the hotel's 111 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a 37-inch flat panel TV with 88 channels, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding, ergonomic work station, in-room safe and fully-stocked mini-bar. Guests upgrading to a Junior Suite will enjoy a separate seating area, full-length mirror and sleeper sofa, while the Junior Superior Suites feature separate sleeping and living areas, dining table and chairs, sleeper sofa and microwave. This San Jose hotel features over 3,500 square feet of conference and meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 32 people, to the 2,260 square-foot Alhambra Ballroom that accommodates up to 130 people for a banquet or 18 10 X 10 exhibit booths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing