We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special :-(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing special :-(”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice rooms with interesting design, location very convenient.

We weren't impressed by the service - the fridge / mini bar in the room was completely empty. We arrived at the hotel at 11.00 pm and were really looking forward to a cold beer. Asking the receptionist he told us, they still have not had a chance to fill up the mini bars in the rooms, since they just opened 7 months ago...(?) The bar had already closed at 10.00pm ; although the information in the room stated 1.00pm. The recepcionist's advise was to try our luck in the neighbourhood. Not what I call fast and efficient service; thank you very much.

Breakfast was a dissapointment - very limited selection on the buffet; stale pastries, single packed margarine (no butter here), they ran out of eggs 1 hour before closing the buffet; we could hear the manager telling his cook in the kitchen that he should run to Walmart and buy some eggs.

There are much better hotels in the area; we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timeCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest, I greatly regret that your experience has not been pleasant during your stay at the hotel, on the subject of Minibares I apologize because we usually empty and open, in case a customer wants to save something there, plus if applying climbed minibar service articles and fill it, unfortunately there was a communication error, the clerk was new and did not explain the procedure well, I apologize as it is a mistake we must not let that happen, I have personally reviewed that all staff have received training on this topic. so it does not happen again we will have in a couple of weeks with full Minibar service inside the rooms and so avoid repeated cases like this.

About the comment that lacked eggs at breakfast, every day I check at least twice for breakfast and my second review I commented that they had few eggs for service due to the delay by the delivery provider, procedure to request an contributor was the nearest supermarket (Wal-Mart) to bring more eggs to avoid who missed and the problem was solved immediately. At 35 minutes the provider was presented with the order requested.

I would like if you please to be able to apologize in person, hopefully can again count on us and give us another chance to give a good service and a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    306
    79
    20
    13
See reviews for
189
245
59
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami,fl
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is still kind of new. All the rooms have a simple modern decor. I went to see different rooms because initially they were going to give me a room next to a construction site. You see, the hotel location is ideal if you are driving, b/c then you don't have to pass and pay the toll, but the hotel is between the highway, a hardware store, and a construction site. I did find a room that turned out to be fine and I didn't hear much at night. All the rooms have the same decor, but they do have different bathroom configurations- for example, I preferred the sink to be separate from the toilet and shower by having a door division, but there are also bathrooms with the typical layout and there are some with bathtub showers.

The lobby is modern and sleek and has a nice terrace feature where you can have a drink and chill. Right next to it is the restaurant. The staff was very nice and the food was very good. The gym is also a good size and has a nice view of the indoor pool. The pool is large and great for doing laps, but the chlorine smell was very strong and it also has a nice size jacuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poysoniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Gerente at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear poysoniv, We truly appreciate your review about our facilities, service and location. It is great to know that you find our location very convenient, just off Highway 27. We are really proud that our brand new hotel has an attentive staff and a very relaxing lobby and terrace area. About your feedback we are going to study how to reduce the chlorine smell at the pool and jacuzzi area. We hope to welcome you back again. Thank you, Daniel Navas – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Trinidad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from Costa Rica where we spent six nights at Wyndham. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was sparkling clean and the service was fantastic. Special thanks to Alexander, Ronald and Renata who went out of their way to make our stay as memorable as it was. The food was great and the staff at El Cortijo were wonderful! Breakfast was really good especially the gallo pinto and wide selection of breads and rolls and fruit! I would definitely recommend this hotel and I can't wait to visit again! One thing though, I think that you should have maps for guest so that the taxis can locate you easier.

Room Tip: We stayed in 132 and it was quiet, convenient and really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Gerente at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear ElizabethP, Thank you for sharing your comments about your great stay. The personnel at the Front Desk and the Restaurant are very happy to hear from you and about your review. Good to know that our free buffet breakfast was really good; we strive to always have the best choices for our guests. About your feedback we will print maps so people can locate us easily, as we are new hotel. We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your 6-day stay with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Costa Rica. Sincerely, Daniel Navas – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is new and very fresh and clean. The room was very comfortable, but had just one chair at the desk, so the bed was the only place to sit if more than one person occupied the room. There was no table/additional chairs. There were a few small quirks in the room. The faucets are american designs designated with H and C or blue and red. However, the H/red are cold; the C/blue are hot. The door security chain is nailed to decorative trim moulding and has no protective value - by mistake, I opened the door with the chain still engaged and the trim mold simply pulled away and the door opened easily. The wifi was strong throughout the hotel, but was generally down during overnight hours (2a-4a). There are plenty of english language TV channels including CBS. The front of the hotel - odd-numbered rooms - faces a 6 lane highway which can become noisy during early morning truck-laden commuting hours. The rear of the hotel faces a construction/storage facility. A shopping center (Multiplaza), Sony store, coffee shop and Walmart are all within walking distance. The buffet breakfast is good especially the fresh fruit. The employees were all very nice and were wonderful communicating with us in english. The concierge did a great job arranging cabs/shuttles for us into and around San Jose. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJtraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear NJtraveler24, We truly appreciate your review about our facilities and service. We are pleased that you find very convenient having plenty of TV channels in your language, strong WiFi and a good breakfast. We are located next to the Highway 27, our rooms have soundproof double glass windows, you should not worry about truck noises at this main highway, and thanks to our location you can find malls, corporate centers and restaurants really close, and being just 20 minutes away from the International Airport SJO. Rest assured we will take all your feedback very seriously in order to continue to improve our service to you, because the guest satisfaction is our number one goal. We hope to welcome you back again. Thank you, Daniel Navas – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The hosts at the front desk and resturant staff were superb. Gloriana speaks perfect English and helped us take advantage of shuttles to local attractions. The bed was actually comfortable for our 10 day stay. All the food and especially breakfast was always great and we enjoyed the outdoor seating. Great pool area and exercise room, too. We'll be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluegrasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear bluegrasman, Thank you for your positive comments about our location, facilities, food and staff. Gloriana and the personnel will be happy to hear about your review, the hotel will congratulate her too for her great work. We are extremely delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your 10-day stay with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Costa Rica. Sincerely, Daniel Navas – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This new hotel is an excellent choice for an upscale Hotel priced about $100 to $150 less than the Marriott Residence Inn up the road. Modern, clean and new rooms as it just opened 5 months ago. The King Suite I booked was beautiful and the bed was one of the best beds I ever slept in. The Breakfast Buffet was excellent with a wide variety of foods. I work out and the Gym is much bigger than most with a very pretty and large pool and hot tub. The only things missing that the Residence Inn has is a free laundry room and a full kitchen. The only problem I had at this property was, that although most of the staff were friendly and helpful, a few of them were quite rude. For example, when my girlfriend came to visit (she is much younger than me) the staff that was on duty snickered at us which is so rude and unprofessional, Also, there was some problems with elevator service but it was fixed relatively fast. The hi speed internet in the rooms was excellent and supoer fast which is important for people like me that have to work during the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Steve A, Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind comments. Good to know that you liked the hotel facilities and the accommodations at one of our Junior Suites. Also it is great to hear that the bed was very comfortable and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet options and the high speed internet access, which is really important to you. Please receive my sincere apologies for the obvious annoyance during your last stay, rest assured we will take your feedback very seriously in order to improve our service levels and actions will be taken because for us it is vital make every single guest feel at home when they are staying with us. Thank you, Daniel Navas – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Top of the line hotel! Just located outside the city of San Jose. Very modern & still smells brand new. Stayed there on the last day of our trip to spoil ourselves and relax indoors. The indoor pool was awesome! There is a very modern mall (nicer than most American malls) called "Multiplaza" within almost walking distance. A lot of new looking restaurants within half a mile radius. There is even a Walmart across the highway. The only negative thing I think is that the location is away from other things to do then shop or eat. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Lunch buffet was good, but GREAT in comparison to food at most places in San Jose. Rare luxury in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrazyCroatian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnavasdiaz, General Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear CrazyCroatian, We are glad to know that even though you came on the last day of your trip, you were able to relax and enjoy the facilities of our brand new property. Besides the shopping centers we are just 5 minutes away from the Sabana Metropolitan Park were you can do outdoor activities or you can go to Santa Ana city (6 miles away) were you can find a Golf Course and a Horseback Riding place. We look forward for your next luxurious stay in Costa Rica. Thank you, Daniel Navas – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.9 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
2.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
876 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu

Property: Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Address: Mts. West, Epa Store 200 | San Rafael Escazu, Escazu 10203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Escazu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#5 Family Hotel in Escazu
#5 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu - First-Class Amenities In Trendy, Upscale Escazu Located in the trendy, upscale suburb of Escazu in Costa Rica's largest city - San Jose - the newly constructed Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu hotel offers travelers a host of modern amenities, world-class service and easy access to all that San Jose and this beautiful Central American country have to offer. Easy proximity to several corporate centers, restaurants, shopping, museums and stunning natural attractions like the Poas and Irazu volcanoes and with Juan Santa Maria International Airport just 20 minutes' away, leisure and business travelers alike will want to make this San Rafael Escazu hotel their premier lodging destination. Guests can stay active with a workout in the state-of-the-art fitness center, or with a swim in the 65-foot long indoor heated lap pool, while those looking to unwind can enjoy a relaxing soak in the Jacuzzi. Female travelers will rest comfortably in specially designated female-friendly guest room floors, and thoughtful amenities like complimentry breakfast, 24-hour Mini-Mart, 24-hour business center, free Wi-Fi and valet and dry cleaning services add to a sense of both productivity and well-being. El Cortijo restaurant serves up International cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner, while Provenza Lounge and its outdoor terrace provide the perfect spot to relax and enjoy cocktails and dinner, and the convenience of 24-hour room service affords guests the luxury of savoring food and beverage without having to leave the hotel. Ample free parking offers convenience, while those who prefer to leave the driving to the hotel can take advantage of the free shuttle service to local business parks and malls. Each of the hotel's 111 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a 37-inch flat panel TV with 88 channels, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding, ergonomic work station, in-room safe and fully-stocked mini-bar. Guests upgrading to a Junior Suite will enjoy a separate seating area, full-length mirror and sleeper sofa, while the Junior Superior Suites feature separate sleeping and living areas, dining table and chairs, sleeper sofa and microwave. This San Jose hotel features over 3,500 square feet of conference and meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 32 people, to the 2,260 square-foot Alhambra Ballroom that accommodates up to 130 people for a banquet or 18 10 X 10 exhibit booths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing