We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further”
Review of Posada El Quijote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada El Quijote
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed January 27, 2007

If you're looking for a hotel/inn for the San José area, look no further. The fine team at the Posada El Quijote Country Inn know what it takes to make your stay a memorable one - and then there's the property itself with its well manicured gardens, breathtaking views overlooking San José, and well appointed guest rooms. The manager, Dick, took us for a tour of all the guest rooms the first night we were there - we had chosen one of the deluxe rooms for our stay but any of the rooms would have been a great choice. His wife, Claudia, also took a great deal of time chatting with us about our adventures in Tortugero (during the second part of our stay). José at Guest Services was simply exceptional ensuring everything and I do mean everything was taken care of for us (from arranging pick up to/from the airport, a tour guide for our first day there, helping us pick out food for delivery from a local restaurant for dinner and then answering our one million questions about Costa Rica in general and then arranging for our other taxi requirements). So if you have any special requests -- I wouldn't hesitate to ask - I'm sure they can find an answer to anything about your stay in San José. I overheard one of the guests talking to their friends (who they had brought back to the Inn to show off the place) talking about how they had a wonderful dinner in the dining room the previous evening and how wonderful everything was arranged. The last morning at breakfast (and what a wonderful breakfast it was -- the fine quality you can expect at high end hotels), I overheard one gentleman talking about the many years he had been coming to the Inn. From all of this - I knew my impressions were being shared by the majority of people visiting the Inn. And then there is Max and Sofie -- the Inn's two dogs - a pleasure to have around (and not overpowering if you're not extremely fond of dogs). Hopefully I haven't missed anything. All and all, all I can say is what are you waiting for -- book your reservation now and enjoy your stay - I know we did!

  • Liked — Friendly accomodating staff and beautiful property
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was great!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Webbedfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    28
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
76
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed in Deluxe room for 1 night at Posada. The experience was marvelous. The hotel is located in the highlands with amazing views of the city of San Jose. It is 15-20 minutes away from the city center and the airport. The building, rooms, and the grounds are elegantly and tastefully decorated. The hotel is very well maintained, rooms are spacious, and everything is in excellent condition.

The exceptional treatment by the owners and the staff makes it a great place to stay. They have a genuine desire to ensure that the guests are well taken care of. Besides helping us out with the regular questions/requests, they went out of their way to ensure that we catch our early morning flight without any incident by calling up the rental agency (they did so without we requesting them) and asking them to pick it up from the hotel and calling up the taxi cab to pick us up from the hotel at 4:30 next morning. The owner, Claudia, got up at 4am in the morning of 31st December to wake us up and make us fresh coffee and fruit tart before we started out. All this was done with a genuine warmth and smile. We have traveled extensively and stayed at various 3-4 star hotels/resorts, but this has been one of the best (if not the best) experience we have had. Our only regret was that our stay wasn't long enough to enjoy the hotel and the exceptional service.

Ashit

  • Liked — genuine desire to provide an exceptional service
  • Tips/Secrets — Get rooms with a view of the garden and the city.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Ashit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2006

This small hotel is located in Escazu about 15-20 min from Airport. You will need specific directions whether driving or for Taxi. It is the best of CR hospitality. Personal service, simple but clean rooms and moderately appointed. Friendly Mgr and staff.

  • Liked — Clean, secluded, lush enviornment and close to airport
  • Disliked — all is good
  • Tips/Secrets — Be sure to have good directions and note no pool
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank hoodoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2006

We stayed there for 4 days, and enjoyed every moment there. The place is clean, friendly, cosy, tolerant and convinient. The staff is happy to help with all the traveling needs. Very much recommended

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank AL&AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2006

This place is amazing. I knew it was going to be a good experience when I first called the front desk and later corresponded with them via e-mail. I had many questions about Costa Rica and they were very quick to respond and offer their help. When we booked the rooms, they arranged for us to be picked from the airport ($18), which worked very well for us.

The Inn is small and cozy. Our family had a mini reunion in Costa Rica and it was very nice to have the large common room that we could use as a family room away from home. The staff is welcoming and friendly. I cannot say enough good things about this inn.
Overall, I can confidently state that if you plan to be in the San Jose area, you will definitely enjoy your stay at El Quijote!
Here is their web page: [--]

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank TGZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

This was our first trip to Costa Rica, for my sister and I. We had one night in San Jose at the beginning and end of our trip and I picked this hotel based on the reviews I read here. All I can say is that I'm glad I did. This hotel was beautiful, comfortable, and the customer service was wonderful.

We arrived late due to delays in the airport and over an hour of standing in line at customs with hundreds of other people, and had arranged through the hotel to have a cab pick us up. Keylor was the best cab driver we had through our entire trip. Courteous, friendly, and very accomodating. He waited nearly two hours for us to finally emerge from the airport and was so friendly that we were immediately excited that we were in Costa Rica. We arranged for him to do all of our airport transfers and he was always on time. He even came at 4:30 in the morning on the day that we were leaving. It was $18 US which was alot cheaper than the taxis in Guanacaste.

When we arrived we were greeted by Frank the manager, from Canada. The hotel feels very secure. Its an open lobby, but they keep the gate locked at night and a night guard on duty. We had a deluxe room that was very spacious and had a shower with great water pressure. The bed was very comfortable, and the patio opens up into the garden. The next morning I met Max the dog when I opened the patio door, and invited him into our room. He was very friendly. Also the little dog upstairs is very sweet and usually can be found lying in her designated chair.

Frank was there to serve us breakfast and stayed to talk for a while, and the breakfast was wonderful (costa rican coffee is amazing!). Fresh fruit and eggs and bacon. It makes you feel like you're at home. Very comfortable. We met a nice couple at the table next to us that gave us alot of great tips about travelling Costa Rica. Everyone was just very friendly and the hotel was very nice and quiet.

On our return trip, we were too tired and didn't want to go out to find something to eat, so we ordered in from a chicken place that the front desk gave us the menus for, and it was the best food I had my entire trip. The reception area has tons of brochures of fun things to do, but we weren't there long enough to try anything out. The whole staff there is very helpful and very sweet, and I would -absolutely- stay there again.

We also stayed in Guanacaste at the Fiesta Premier and in Manuel Antonio at Si Como No. Manuel Antonio was amazingly beautiful and the only place we managed to see monkeys right outside our door.

  • Liked — Customer Service, Comfort.
  • Disliked — Isolation
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't let anyone but your taxi driver take hold of your bag when you leave the airport. There are alot of guys hanging around looking for a quick tip by pulling it for you when we could have done it ourselves.
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We used Posada El Quijote as a base in San Jose for 5 nights (it's actually in the suburb of Escazu) as part of our honeymoon. It is about 25 minutes from the international airport, and the staff will arrange taxi pick ups for you (about US $15).

It is in an amazing house with an stunning view of the city (particularly at night), a plush living room and dining area, reception, and kitchen/breakfast area. Rooms are well decorated and have excellent showers, cable tv etc. The best thing was that it didn't feel like a hotel to us - it was more like staying in someone's house.

Staff were incredibly helpful, arranging tours for us, ordering us taxis and takeaway food etc - it was really nice of them. Although the location in Bello Horizonte / Escazu is excellent in terms of the neighbourhood and views, it does mean you have to travel to get anywhere - particularly for food since there's no restaurant (breakfast only). We did need to get taxis everywhere, but it's not expensive. If you have your own car, this wouldn't be an issue.

We also loved masses of books on the bookshelves - loads of interesting and also quirky titles.

It's interesting to read the previous review commenting on how social the place seemed - for us it was the opposite. I think we must have been there at a quiet time, but we felt like almost the only people there! So it definitely varies.

Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
17 Thank mccu7pj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escazu hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.8 mi away
Hotel Linda Vista
Hotel Linda Vista
#11 of 15 in Escazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Out of Bounds Hotel
Out of Bounds Hotel
#9 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Quijote

Property: Posada El Quijote
Address: Bello Horizonte | Escazu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Escazu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#7 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Quijote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada El Quijote is a Spanish colonial inn set against a backdrop of spectacular views of Costa Rica's central valley and the city of San Jose.Situated atop the first hill 3.5 miles from the city center, Posada El Quijote is far enough to be in a comfortable country setting, free from the congestion and noise of the capitol, but close enough to enjoy easy access to the city and its facilities. The recently refurbished hotel, with a history dating back to 1994, offers an alternative to the large hotel chains that have recently established themselves in the area; Large enough to accomodate groups, but small enough to offer a very homely, relaxed and personal atmosphere. The staff (and onsite owners) are always prepared to provide their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Posada El Quijote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Quijote Escazu
Posada El Quijote Hotel Escazu
Posada El Quijote Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing