We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at a friend's house with fantastic service.”
Review of Posada El Quijote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada El Quijote
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Posada El Quijote. From the moment we arrived, we were charmed by the gorgeous tile work and rich hues. The manager greeted us warmly and gave us a free upgrade to a suite with no extra charge, which was fantastic. The gardens and view of San Jose from the wide porch that stretched the length of the hotel were also stunning, and we enjoyed spending time in the peaceful living room (which felt like home) and eating the great breakfast in the open air dining area. Staff were incredibly kind - they were helpful with directions and finding places around the city. Aside from being helpful, they were also very friendly and we had some great conversations with them. Although the beds weren't as comfortable as beds in the States (no beds in Costa Rica were comfortable), and the driveway was difficult to get into and out of due to the narrow streets, it was still one of our favorites. We also enjoyed the good wi-fi connection in our room. Overall, it was warm, inviting, and a great kickoff to our Costa Rica adventure.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler27704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2010

I spent a day at this B&B and felt at home. The grounds were beautiful. Keep in mind that there is no pool. There are mango trees in the yard that yield the most delightful mangoes. The manager was very attentive to our needs and the staff was very knowledgeable of surrounding area and gave recommendations for food. Once the food arrived, the table was dressed for us with proper plates and forks.
This was the first B&B that I stayed at that worked on the honor system. There is a fridge with water, cake, etc. at a cost. You write your name and the item that you removed and the cost gets added to your final bill.
We asked the owner for suggestions on exercise and he invited us to walk with him in the early morning. During that time we were able to get to know him better and it really added to our experience.
When we first arrived at thte B&B we were made to fell welcome. Upon leaving, we felt like friends. I highly recommend this B&B.

Con: Navigating downhill during the evening can be difficult as there is no sidewalk. Cabs are cheap and the B&B can call one

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We only stayed for two nights, but the staff made our trip to Costa Rica much easier. They helped us rent a car, helped us find another hotel along our route and helped us book dinner reservations. Our room was spacious and clean and our breakfast was all fresh and very good. Our only complaint was that the bed was a bit too firm for our liking. Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BexandLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We only stayed here one night, but my parents chose this B & B to stay in for 3 weeks. It was their second time there and would still go back.
The people running this hotel are very very friendly and the food was good. The rooms are a decent size with a large clean bathroom. The gardens are beautiful and make it hard to believe that you are in the middle of the city. It is close to shopping.
Some downsides were the noise of traffic and the ants in the bathroom. Being in a city the noises are hard to avoid though. There is also no heat or airconditioning, but San Jose has a fairly moderate temperature where these things were not greatly missed.
There is no pool at this location. Each room has a private balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Not only is the Inn aesthetically beautiful, the couple, Dick and Claudia, who run it are wonderful hosts. The atmosphere at the inn is very relaxing, friendly and helpful. They suggested great restaurants to dine at, as well as helped with planning tours and arranging for taxis to take us places.

There was a choice for breakfast each morning and the food was delicious! My stay there was for about ten days and while I travelled throughout Costa Rica, I always looked forward to coming 'home' to El Quijote as it really did feel like 'my home away from home!' I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanyaonamission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Just wanted to add our compliments about the hotel and staff to the many others. Stayed there on 3/25 and 4/2 at the beginning and end of our trip. Dick visited with us at length on our first day about restaurant suggestions and tips for navigating the country on our own. The restaurant (Le Monastere) was a perfect suggestion to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. His personal touch really made our visit a positive one! Alcides and Maria were very helpful, the breakfasts were the best, and Max and Sophie were the perfect complement to make this stylish inn feel like home. Had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasStarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Six of us stayed at Posada El Quijote and we loved it! The Staff were very friendly and helpful (Thank you Alcides for everything and a special Thank You to the wonderful cooks for the yummy breakfasts!). We stayed in the superior room which has a large bathroom with two sinks and a door to the gardens in the back . Every morning we woke up to a wonderful breakfast. The lounge/living room area is very peaceful to sit in and have a cup of coffee or just stare out the large picture window overlooking gardens and the city of San Jose. The entire place is clean and the area is very safe. The bus is on the corner near the Inn and it's a 20 minute ride to San Jose. The garden is very well kept and maintained. We took a taxi only once and only because the last bus had already come (they stop running to the hotel area after 9pm on the weekends). They booked our tour to "the old town" for the typical dance show and dinner. I don’t remember the name, we enjoyed it, but since it is in the evening, you can't really enjoy the rest of the town in the dark. I would ask if they can pick you up a bit earlier so you can walk around. We also did a tour to Britt coffee plantation and we had a wonderful time. We also went to the Museo de Oro Pre-Colombino and had fun....Hello Max and Sophia!

TIP: although we had a wonderful time at Britt, I would find out how much a round-trip taxi ride costs and how much the entrance fee is at the time. It might make sense to do your own day trip for a lower total cost.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escazu hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 13 in Escazu
442 reviews
2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Apartotel Don Francisco
Apartotel Don Francisco
#9 of 13 in Escazu
26 reviews
2.3 mi away
Out of Bounds Hotel
Out of Bounds Hotel
#8 of 13 in Escazu
180 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Quijote

Address: Bello Horizonte | Escazu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $66 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Quijote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada El Quijote is a Spanish colonial inn set against a backdrop of spectacular views of Costa Rica's central valley and the city of San Jose.Situated atop the first hill 3.5 miles from the city center, Posada El Quijote is far enough to be in a comfortable country setting, free from the congestion and noise of the capitol, but close enough to enjoy easy access to the city and its facilities. The recently refurbished hotel, with a history dating back to 1994, offers an alternative to the large hotel chains that have recently established themselves in the area; Large enough to accomodate groups, but small enough to offer a very homely, relaxed and personal atmosphere. The staff (and onsite owners) are always prepared to provide their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Posada El Quijote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Quijote Escazu
Posada El Quijote Hotel Escazu
Posada El Quijote Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing