We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number One for a Reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada El Quijote

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada El Quijote
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Number One for a Reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My wife and I recently took a trip through central America to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We stayed at Posada El Quijote for a night on our way from Panama to northern Costa Rica/Nicaragua. I wish we had the opportunity to stay longer as this was one of our favorite stops of the entire trip.

The premises were absolutely beautiful and the views of the surrounding city were breathtaking. We enjoyed our room, the charming qualities of the hotel, and the beautiful balcony overlooking the city just outside the back door. The location is in close proximity to many great restaurants and activities. My wife and I fell in love with the city during our short stay and we are actually looking into the option of transferring and moving to Escazu with my company.

The icing on the cake was the amazing service we received from Alcides and the owner, Bjorn. Alcides went out of his way to help us reserve our trip to Nicaragua. Bjorn also went out of his way to answer the questions I had about Escazu as I had expressed interest in moving there.

This place is number 1 for a reason and it's due to both the premises itself and the amazing service. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn H, Manager at Posada El Quijote, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi Nathan!
thank you for the very positive review! It makes me very happy to read all the positive comments and to see that our efforts are appreciated!
Hope you had a good trip to Nicaragua and Granada and Guanacaste!

-and please do not hesitate to write to me again if you have any questions at all with regards to living in Escazu. I would be very glad to help! We hope you will be able to move here soon!
best regards,
Alcides, Bjorn + familiy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    26
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
41
67
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texcoco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a gem in a very nice area of San José. A B&B run by a lovely Norwegian/Colombian couple who are extremely forthcoming and make you feel at home. Spacious and clean rooms and succulent breakfasts. There’s a big living room-like area with terrace where you can hang out, meet others, read a book, surf the web or simply enjoy the view. And the garden has a trampoline and swing so the kids don’t get bored. They arranged a nice driver for our family to visit the Poás volcano, and when we suddenly were without a rental car due to a misunderstanding they somehow managed to find a car rental agency who arranged a 4WD for 2-week rent for a good price within 2 hours, at a time when other rentals had no cars available. No questions, we’ll be back when we go to San José again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn H, Manager at Posada El Quijote, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi Peter!
thanks for the review! and thanks to you and your family for staying with us during your days in Escazu. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope you had a nice stay in Ojochal and that you can soon start with the construction of your new place!
-please do not hesitate to contact us again for your next stay in Escazu/ Costa Rica! will be good to get to know you and your family better.

best regards,
Alicia, Samuel, Andrea and Bjorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We just returned from a 2 week vacation at Quijote in Costa Rica. We had a wonderful time. The host, Bjorn and the Assistant, Alcides, could not have been more helpful! They were absolutely wonderful and accommodating. The surroundings & grounds were beautiful. I encourage you to make reservations at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast. We will be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony overlooking the city of Escazu/San Jose and the lights at night are stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn H, Manager at Posada El Quijote, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor!
and thank you for chosing to use us as your base during your stay in Costa Rica! We are very glad that you enjoyed staying with us.

It was very nice having you as guests. We particularly appreciate how you brought in all your friends and family to the hotel while you were here - for business meetings and breakfasts - and especially that you even offered to bring and hand out our brochures to others when you travelled around the country - all things that really help us spread the word about our place!

Hope you will be able to realise your plans of moving to Escazu and Costa Rica in the not too distant future!

Stay in touch!
thanks again and best regards from everyone at Posada el Quijote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Arriving in San Jose after a 23 hour trip from Norway, Posada arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport. After a short drive, we were welcomed by Bjorn and Andrea, and instantly we felt like old friends. Posada El Quijote is a homely hotel, where you feel a lot more like staying with family, than in a regular hotel. Bjorn and Andrea help you with advise on what to do in Costa Rica, or in San Jose, they order tickets and make reservations, and they help you in every way they can, so that you can have a great stay in San Jose.

Tip: ask for a taste of Bjorns homemade chili sauce.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MortenHenrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn H, Manager at Posada El Quijote, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Google Translation
Hei Morten!
Takker for positiv review, og takk igjen for at dere valgte hotellet vårt i Escazu!
Det var veldig hyggelig å møte dere. Spesielt hyggelig for Alicia å møte andre norske barn - hun trivdes veldig godt når dere var her.
Vi var faktisk i Samara forrige helg - gjorde som dere - endte opp å stort sett sitte på Gusto hele dagen :)
Håper dere hadde et fint opphold i Florida!
beste hilsener,
alle oss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Thank you, Bjorne and family, for a relaxing and warm welcome to Costa Rica. My kids felt right at home in your sprawling compound. They liked your trampoline and swings, too!

You went out of your way to accommodate our needs. We enjoyed a picnic style dinner and home cooked breakfast with cool breezes. Thanks for welcoming us to Costa Rica!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JCatBlueStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hi - Thank you very much for reviewing us!
It was very nice having you here and meeting you and your family, and we hope you all had a great journey through Costa Rica.
Hope to see you in Costa Rica again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night, and we sorely regretted leaving so soon! When we arrived, we were greeted at the door by Alcides, who went above and beyond to help us get to the hotel and make us feel welcome. After a wonderful night's sleep in a beautifully decorated room, we woke up to the most delicious breakfast of our whole stay (out of the many options, we chose omelets, gallo pinto--made specially for me as a vegetarian--toast with a delicious jam, fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit, and the best bacon my partner has ever had). While we ate, the owner arranged for a taxi to pick us up and take us to the airport at a reduced rate. We then took a pot of coffee from breakfast back to our private terrace and enjoyed our final glimpse of SJ. We highly recommend Posada El Quijote as a wonderful place to either start or end your trip; we hope to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Sara,
Thank you for reviewing us! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay, and the breakfast!
I made sure to tell Nubia, our main breakfast chef and housekeeper, the compliment. She has been with the hotel for over ten years and has perfected the gallo pinto recipe. Credit for the bacon goes to Uncle Earl, a local Escazu butcher we use - fully natural, organic and properly smoked bacon.

Hope you had a great trip back to New York! and hope you get to stay with us again in the future!
best regards,
the entire staff at Posada el Quijote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel offers hospitality, charm, comfortable beds, a great breakfast, and great views overlooking nearby San Jose central - definitely one of the best hotels in metro SJ! Posada is gated and secure with ample parking and the building/rooms have an open airy Andulusian feel, lots of wood accents, and neatly furnished. It has beautiful grounds in a very nice neighborhood within a short walk to Escazu, with a number of restaurants, a bakery, and a Fresh Mkt. Rooms have cable TV and small outer porches with tables. We were told it also has several studio apts with kitchen facilities that are particularly popular. Bjorn, his family, and staff couldn't have been more upbeat and welcoming. Made us feel right at home providing local information, offering coffee in the evening, setting up a tour, printing boarding passes, even preparing something to eat prior to the normal breakfast time due to our early tour pickup. Look forward to staying here again on my next visit and would highly recommend this hotel/BB to anyone staying in the San Jose area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn H, Owner at Posada El Quijote, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the positive review and the very nice pictures!
And thanks for staying with us at Posada el Quijote - it was really nice meeting you and having you here, and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope you will be able to come back and visit us again!

best regards from everyone here at Posada el Quijote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#1 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
2.3 mi away
Out of Bounds Hotel
Out of Bounds Hotel
#9 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#12 of 17 in Escazu
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Quijote

Property: Posada El Quijote
Address: Bello Horizonte | Escazu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Escazu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#7 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Quijote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada El Quijote is a Spanish colonial inn set against a backdrop of spectacular views of Costa Rica's central valley and the city of San Jose.Situated atop the first hill 3.5 miles from the city center, Posada El Quijote is far enough to be in a comfortable country setting, free from the congestion and noise of the capitol, but close enough to enjoy easy access to the city and its facilities. The recently refurbished hotel, with a history dating back to 1994, offers an alternative to the large hotel chains that have recently established themselves in the area; Large enough to accomodate groups, but small enough to offer a very homely, relaxed and personal atmosphere. The staff (and onsite owners) are always prepared to provide their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Posada El Quijote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Quijote Escazu
Posada El Quijote Hotel Escazu
Posada El Quijote Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing