We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posada El Quijote deserves its praise”
Review of Posada El Quijote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada El Quijote
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2008

We just overnighted before our flight out of San Jose. We had a deluxe room (#24). It was spacious, opened outside and had a large bathroom with bath and shower.
The hotel itself is really a B&B but a wonderful one with spacious comfortable common rooms. And of course the view, what a view over the lovely gardens and the city of San Jose (much better at a distance).
Warm and friendly people at check in.
We had to leave too early for breakfast so cannot comment but were shown how to leave early.
It is in Escazu which is an upscale suburb of San Jose. However, as many have noted about CR, lack of signage is a problem and if you take a wrong turn, as we did at night, finding your bearings again can take awhile.
All in all, however, we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Posada El Quijote
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 198 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2008

Booked to stay here again after New Year. Got a great room. Jose at reception booked the room, pre arranged trips and restaurants and generally helped out both prior and during our stay. He assisted in language translation and gave good recommendations. This hotel does not do an evening meal.

Would I go again?

You bet!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank v11rah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

My husband and I spent 4 nights at El Quijote and enjoyed every minute. The property itself is small (which we love) and lovely. Our room (standard) was well equipped and comfortable.

The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, arranging taxis, local tours, flights and even early breakfasts, which were excellent. We also very much appreciated and availed ourselves of the honour bar, which was extremely well stocked, including snacks and homemade carrot cake. Prices were very reasonable.

Our only concern was location. For each tour, we were first on and last off the bus, adding an extra hour to already long days. Also, being on a steep hillside, walking in the area was very difficult. Taxis (very cheap) were needed to get to restaurants, of which there are many nearby.

Still we definitely enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend to all. FYI...the property if for sale...wish we could afford it...would be a great early retirement venture.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeenThere1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We only stayed here briefly (arrived late and left early) on our last night in Costa Rica - but overall we were very pleased with our experience. It is obvious that everyone who works here is concerned about guest comfort. We were so tired when we arrived, having come from a long ride from Monteverde, that we decided to just order some food in. We were given menus to choose from and to our surprise and pleasure, they set a lovely table in the dining room, which we had to ourselves, for us to eat it in. It was so comfortable and homey! (We ordered from a "fast food" place specializing in shrimp dishes, and it was surprisingly good!) The breakfast the next day was also very good.
Our room was a trifle disappointing, smallish and not as nice as the ones pictured on the website, though it did have a very nice modern bathroom. I think because we got in late, maybe it was the last room available. It was right near the kitchen, by itself (I didn't even see where the other rooms were) and unfortunately, we could hear all the noise from the kitchen, quite early, while we were still trying to sleep. But other than that slight drawback, we found everything very satisfactory.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

This place is very nice and recommended, but understand you will need a car or taxi to get to just about anything, but what you get overall more than makes up for this slight inconvience (taxi's are inexpensive). Read on.....that being said the view is spectacular, the staff (Dick, Manager and Jose, Front Desk) are very friendly and will do anything to help out the guests. Breakfasts are included and were wonderful. The rooms are very nice and high speed internet is available at no extra charge. The area around the Hotel is beautiful.....take a walk if you have the time. There is a TV and phone in the room. The value is very good. A special hello to Max, the house dog!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jclaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

My husband and I loved our stay at Posada El Quijote at the beginning and end of our trip around Costa Rica. The staff (hello to Dick, Al, and the rest of the personnel) were very friendly and helpful. The gardens are exquisite and well-kempt. The rooms (we had a Superior) were cozy and comfortable. It was also very home-like to see the resident dogs Max and Sophie hanging around. We had excellent breakfasts in the morning (included in the price), and felt very comfortable in the lounge and dining area. The view of San Jose was incredible and a real perk to the location of the inn. We had considered staying at Grano de Oro and did go there for dinner. Beautiful and luxurious hotel with wonderful food (some of the best we had), but we were glad we stayed at Posada El Quijote. The safe, secure, and warm environment were the real draws of the place. We ate at restaurants in Escazu and took cab rides there for about $8. The unmetered cabs will overcharge you, so do take the red ones with the yellow triangle and meter. The staff at Posada arranged a wonderful tour through Expediciones Tropicales with visits to the Doka Estate (excellent coffee and food), the Poas Volcano, and La Paz Waterfall gardens. Such incredible beauty there. Stay at Posada El Quijote. The personal touch makes a difference!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Angel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We stayed here for two nights on Jan 19th and Jan 25th based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we weren't let down! This B&B was fabulous! Our room was spacious (king sized bed) and homey. The property itself overlooks San Jose and the view is wonderful. They will arrange a driver to meet you at the airport so you don't have to deal with getting a taxi and their drivers all speak english, just request one ahead of time when you book. They are also happy to arrange for a taxi to take you to dinner, lunch, shopping, tours etc. If you decide to order in, they will also order for you and set up their dining room table (with the fantastic view!) for you to eat. Breakfast is also awesome, you usually have your choice of two types of breakfast. All ingredients are fresh (eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit etc.) and very tasty. We felt well cared for and this was a wonderful way to both start and end our stay in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank friendlygardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escazu hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
430 reviews
2.3 mi away
Out of Bounds Hotel
Out of Bounds Hotel
#9 of 14 in Escazu
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
2.4 mi away
Apartotel Don Francisco
Apartotel Don Francisco
#10 of 14 in Escazu
24 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Quijote

Address: Bello Horizonte | Escazu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Escazu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#7 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $58 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Quijote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada El Quijote is a Spanish colonial inn set against a backdrop of spectacular views of Costa Rica's central valley and the city of San Jose.Situated atop the first hill 3.5 miles from the city center, Posada El Quijote is far enough to be in a comfortable country setting, free from the congestion and noise of the capitol, but close enough to enjoy easy access to the city and its facilities. The recently refurbished hotel, with a history dating back to 1994, offers an alternative to the large hotel chains that have recently established themselves in the area; Large enough to accomodate groups, but small enough to offer a very homely, relaxed and personal atmosphere. The staff (and onsite owners) are always prepared to provide their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Posada El Quijote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Quijote Escazu
Posada El Quijote Hotel Escazu
Posada El Quijote Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing