We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location, not too far from SJ airport, quiet, full of charm, rooms have a great view and are of a good size. True 4*, which was a good surprise. Poll and garden are lovely. Breakfast is quite simple and there is not enough.

Room Tip: Take upper floor for good view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy_Bacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alta Las Palomas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 431 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Alta is a boutique hotel with a lot to offer. The rooms had ample space, a balcony with a wonderful view of the town. The bed was comfortable and staff were helpful and friendly. The decor was pleasing and tasteful, both in the rooms and all inside the hotel. The pool was a plus!

Room Tip: Upper floors have best view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutrinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Nice an quiet location, fantastic view over the city of San Jose, big rooms with balcony, clean, very polite, helpful an friendly people working there! The Service at the restaurant was fantastic. Go there, if you´re flight arrives at San Jose!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockymilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is a small cosy hotel built on a hill which means access for a coach is a bit difficult as it does not really have any grounds on the front. As a result of the hill a lot of the rooms especially on the ground floor are spread across a lot of levels and there are a lot if character with alcoves etc. the hotel is clean and the furnishings in the room spotless. The breakfast was fairly basic but adequate and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Each room was equipped with a safe for no extra charge but there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. My room was equipped with a single king sized bed, the mattress was a little on the firm side although not a problem for myself.
I only are in the hotel restaurant once and having ordered a rare steak was actually served one which was still cold and virtually raw.
There was constant music playing at low volume in bar and restaurant which due to open windows could be heard in my room. Although it went off at a reasonable hour on the day of arrival after 16 hours travelling and wanting an early night it was a slight problem.
I did not get a chance to make use of the pool but it did look adequate for a hotel of this size.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank MWH_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

this hotel only has 20 or so rooms if i remember rightly, making it a nice and intimate hotel. the area is nice and quiet and the hills of escazu serve up beautiful views from the rooms across the central valley and san jose.the rooms are very roomy and comfortable, with very nice decor. the balconies are a great addition and make a very romantic addition to the stay.the breakfast is limited but incredibly tasty... i cant comment on the dinner in the restaurant as the price put us off... there is a lovely local restaurant just a 3 minute walk down the hill

Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at the Alta Hotel after our flight to Costa Rica. The hotel was pleasant enough and the staff were very welcoming.
The room we had was quite large and comfortable ,with a nice walk in shower, fridge and TV ( which didn't work)
Reception were quite keen for us to sign a credit card slip for any purchases made in the hotel, which is a very common practise worldwide.
We went out the first night to sample the local food and ate at a place called the green onion,which was very local and cheap,but half the fun was trying to order food to someone who understood by someone who is completely illiterate in Spanish . But we all had a good laugh and got what we ordered we think !!!
We also went out the second night.
Had a good sleep and went down to breakfast which is probably had the least selection of any hotel breakfast we had ever had. Fruit ( 3 or 4 selections) and coffee.
On the third morning we checked out and was given our unused blank credit card slip back.
A few days later I checked my bank details and found that a charge had been made against my credit card for $22.24.
Our Tour Manager and Guide made enquiries of the hotel and we were told it was a mistake and it would be transferred back to my account. I am still waiting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikeswallow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia F, Manager at Hotel Alta Las Palomas, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Mr Mike,Thank you for staying at Hotel Alta and for sharing your review! I wanted to follow up regarding the inconveniences you experienced. The credit card charge was a mistake and a refund was solicited immediately. Unfortunately it is common here for a bank to take up to some days to realize the refund, which was credited to your account the same day of your review on Oct. 29th according bank report. As for the TV in your room, this problem has been fixed and will be monitored to be sure it doesn't happen again. We do always offer fresh fruit and assorted pastries for our Continental Breakfast and haven't received further complaints, but we will seek further feedback to assure the satisfaction of all future guests at the Alta Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Alta the first and last night of our trip. After fearing the shuttle van would surely not make it into the narrow driveway, the medieval castle doors opened, and the most wonderful staff welcome you with open arms, even at 3am. Everything is the definition of Alta. High class, high elevation with a gorgeous view from every room, the height of sophistication, a menu that heightens every taste bud one possesses. And yes, you can arrive and walk around in flip flops without being criticized. Because this is Costa Rica, and Pura Vida. The Alta has the coziest of beds and robes, it is pristine clean, and the staff... nothing short of amazing. Everyone employee was well educated, multilingual, well spoken, and helped me to practice my rusty Spanish. Luis Angel, this young man was a true Angel. He made the stay the best ever. Ida y vuelta. Brilliant, so helpful, gave the best advice, and has the most positive outlook I've ever encountered. His smile is absolutely infectious. And what a memory, we had chatted our first day about our agenda, and when we returned he greeted my mother and I by name and inquired about if each of our plans expectations were met, and made sure I had a drink in my hand immediately. :) It's beyond 5 stars when you factor the hotels' beauty, character, quiet reading nooks and gardens; with the wonderful, kind hospitality and attention. It's a bargain cost for sure when their value added free service surpasses that of the penthouse suites in the finest USA establishments. I tried very hard to miss my shuttle back to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia F, Manager at Hotel Alta Las Palomas, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

dear mrs. Melanie,

we really appreciate your lovely comments. we hope you return soon at alta hotel.

saludos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
2.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alta Las Palomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alta Las Palomas

Address: Hwy 121 | Alto de las Palomas, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Escazu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#4 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $104 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alta Las Palomas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alta Las Palomas is a collection of 23 rooms with private balconies and expansive views of costa Rica's central valley. This means you'll often find an adventure-weary traveler dining at la luz restaurant+bar, kicking back and soaking up the views after an epic expedition, or regrouping to head out again. Their roomy balconies leading you to an exotic garden scene, or if staying in the master suite, the mountains, and volcanoes beyond Valle de Santa Ana. Local organic farmers supply the ingredients for la luz restaurant+bar whose menus feature an eclectic mix of influences. Let our chef indulge your senses with an exquisite culinary experience at la luz restaurant+bar, renowned as one of the best restaurants in San José. *We are not pet-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alta Las Palomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Hotel Escazu
Hotel Alta Las Palomas Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing