We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the center of attention!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We've stayed here on multiple occasions over the past few years and it's always been consistent - even when they were building the new wing and spa.

Like most, this is the very heart of San Jose and an oasis during our travels. The staff has always been great and service fantastic. Food is terrific as well - I suggest the ravioli at Alfredo's!

On this last visit, it was packed due to a concert nearby (didn't know Paul McCartney drew such a crowd). Despite the very lively folks milling around, service was excellent. I was even surprised that the though it's been two years, the staff remembered me!

I spend an awful lot of time in hotels - sometimes 6-9 months at a location. This has always been my 'Home' in San Jose and a place where my wife is always safe and comfortable. The location cannot be beat either - with the new highway in, it's our first and last stop before heading to the coast.

Room Tip: Stay in the club wing if possible as it is a bit quieter than the rest of the hotel due to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear DMSterling, you are the real center of attention! We strive to provide the very best of service jointly with the greatest staff attitude on the most modern facilities, thank you as well for your additional review on the other website. Sincerely, Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel was absolutely awesome! We had a wonderful time. Nice pool & great hot tub. The buffet breakfast was the best!! The rooms are very nice also. The only thing that I would change is to get a pool waiter to service up some drinks!!!! Thanks, my friends and I had a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Anne C, I do appreciate your honesty be advised we have already addressed the lack of service at the pool, we hope you are able to come back soon and enjoy our full service. Sincerely, Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I would like to provide some positive information about this tour and recommend it to others. It was an awesome experience right from the start. We started off at the Real InterContinental in San Jose but stayed at 4 other hotels, Lomas Del Volcan, in Fortuna, the most beautiful place you ever want to stay. The Marriott Resort in Guanacaste, Hotel San Bada, Manuel Antonio National Park, then the last night at the Quality Hotel Real. All were excellent accommodations with very friendly staff and good food. We were 43 people on a luxury motor coach with ample space for everyone. The tour covers approximately 800 miles of Costa Rica from the City of San Jose to the volcanos, rain forests, coffee plantation, aerial tram, butterfly farm, hot springs, hanging bridges, turtle sanctuary, river cruise and beaches. I might have missed something but if you take this tour to see this country and experience their culture, you certainly will not miss anything or regret it.
We were so very fortunate to have the absolute best tour director, Clarence Taylor and the "super star" bus driver, Rorlando. (I hope I spelled his name correctly, if not I am truly sorry) I cannot give enough praise to these two people as they made the whole experience an awesome one that will always be cherished.
If you really want to see Costa Rica and not just go for a beach holiday, you should book this Caravan Tour! You might be lucky enough to get Clarence and Rorlando!

Room Tip: I understand that all our rooms were previously assigned by the hotels, however, if you had some spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendySimard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear WendySimard, we are proud we were the beginning of your awesome experience. We look forward to welcome you once again, Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I just spent four days here and it wasn't love at first sight, more on that later. The location, setting and room appointments were all above our expectations. We stayed in the tower portion of the hotel facing southwest. The view of the mountains was great and cheaper than the rooms overlooking the pool. Our room was spacious, clean and light with many pleasing objects of art. The tower rooms includes a breakfast buffet and happy hour from six to eight P.M., alcohol and tapas are gratis.
The breakfast buffet was one of the best of any hotel we have experienced, although the happy hour tapas were a hit and miss. The service was always attentive and friendly. We dined in two of the restaurants and I must say that the hot queso de cabra ensalada was the best Ive ever eaten and my New York strip was the best steak Ive had in Costa Rica. Again, the service was exceptional.
Now for the negatives. Our reservations were a total disaster. My wife made the reservations for three days, but later decided to add a fourth day. When she called the hotel she learned that our reservations had been cancelled for some unknown reason. At any rate she finally managed to get that corrected, but it took most of an entire day. Another negative was that the pool was loaded with guests and there was only one attendant to service all which made it almost impossible to order food and drink. The hotel certainly missed out on revenue because of that.
That being said, we always try to be objective in evaluating our hotel experiences, in other we look at the big picture. The reservation foul up and the lack of pool staff was annoying, but the positive aspects of our stay far outweighed the other.
Will We stay here when we return to San Jose/Escazu? You bet!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Richard A, your objectiveness and constructive feedback is highly appreciated, rest assure we already working on the points for improvement. Sincerely, Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Located in a suburban office-shopping mall complex, the hotel is a comfortable retreat in a busy region. The suite was large, with an interesting bath arrangement, and best of all had an outdoor pool/hot tub on the balcony with a view over San Jose and the mountains – very welcome in the cool evenings. Staff were enthusiastic and very helpful, accommodating every request. Representatives from a tour company and from Avis were on-site at check-in and were instrumental in arranging excursions, including an outstanding private zip-line tour from Rainforest Adventures Atlantic (thank you for your instruction and patience, gentlemen). Breakfast in the club room provided varied buffet selections, and happy hour treats and drinks were excellent.
Why only four stars for the rating? A wedding in their event outbuilding started around 10pm and lasted into the small hours, with the thumping bass from the band rattling the windows of our 7th floor accommodation along with the rest of the hotel. A complaint to management, which undoubtably was one of many, was disregarded.
In summary – stay here by all means if you need to be in the San Jose region, but book a room that does not face the event outbuilding.

Room Tip: Club access, away from event building, with pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Ralff, there is no better joy that receiving compliments about our staff, we truly understand your feedback about the disturbance by the late event. Sincerely, Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

What a wonderful hotel to stay at during our tour through Costa Rica!! A real treat! Clean, beautiful, great service, etc. The executive lounge was well worth it!! Excellent displays of food at breakfast, afternoon and evening snacks!! Gustavo Hernandez in the lounge was a real delight in always making sure we were comfortable and had everything we wanted! He made our time there feel very special! The hotel has a wonderful market/mall right across the street, in case you need to pick up anything for your travels! You will not be disappointed with your stay here! It was an added pleasure during our tour!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear 80Countries, thank you for choosing us within your Tour, we are glad you enjoyed the facilities and services at the Club Lounge. Best regards, Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Restaurant service was abominable. I e-mailed Intercontinental and old them I had booked Yokohama and Tokyo for September and October and the response I got was they would chastise the restaurant in Tokyo and give me 5000 points. Not only was customer service stupid, but they didn't read my compliant. I tried to get my complaint on their web site, but they said it didn't meet their standards and therefore they weren't posting it. Eight people had lunch in their restaurant and seven of the eight got their food after an hour after ordering. Mine did not come. I was told 5 minutes. After 20 minutes, I spoke to the head of the restaurant and he said it was on its way. Fifteen minutes later, I got my individual pizza with raw meat on top of it. I finally gave up and my meal was taken off the bill. We all had a problem with our keys and had to had them redone every day of the three days we were there. There are also many little things too numerous to mention
P.S. I am also a licensed travel agent and can't believe the treatment I received.

Les Moskowitz

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Lester M, your comments really concerns me specially as your experience is not echo of our high service standards. Please contact our Director of Rooms, Ernesto Carrero (ernesto.carrero@r-hr.com) in order to share more details about the challenges you faced in our facilities. Sincerely, Ricardo Menendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 13 in Escazu
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
3.1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#3 Green Hotel in Escazu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $186 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler, with streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing