We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good choice for business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed here two nights on a business trip to Escazu, just outside of San Jose. This hotel makes a great first impression, which continues all the way into the room. Everything was clean and worked well. Maybe it's silly but I appreciate a good shower, especially after a long day of flights and work - this room delivered.

I only had the chance to sample the Market restaurant for breakfast, and the buffet was outstanding. Gym was pretty big for any hotel, and decently equipped. The Multiplaza shopping center across the street has got to be the nicest mall in Costa Rica, rivaling American malls in size and type of stores.

The only issue at all is around billing - my final printed bill does not match what was charged to my card. The charges are still setting so we'll see how that shakes out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Jonathan C, thank you for your quick visit and positive review, next time you should try our 3 other restaturants. Please contact our Front Office Manager, Gilberto Gondola (gilberto.gondola@r-hr.com) for further assistance with your billing. Happy Holidays! Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    375
    114
    56
    49
See reviews for
179
347
75
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Flew from Boston to San Jose via Miami. Long flight and tired. It was great to stay in this nice hotel with good service and food. They have 4 nice places to eat right off the lobby and a shopping mall across the street. I plan to return to CR and will stay here for the first night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Dean W, great idea getting away from coldly New England and choosing our property as your destination in Costa Rica, we are glad that our service and product made you decide already your next visit. Happy Holidays, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel. It took us about 35 minutes to arrive from the airport, with traffic, and it's just outside the San Jose city limits.

In my opinion, it was a first class hotel. The rooms were spacious and spotless. The staff went out of their way not only to make us happy but to learn and know our names. There were several restaurants from which to choose (American Flare, Asian-Fusion, Italian) and there was a trendy bar. I passed the spa, to use the fitness center, and I saw everything from women having their nails manicured to men getting haircuts. The fitness center was very impressive
with five treadmills, a few elipticals, free weights and several different weight machines. The pool area was very nice and large, too.

FYI, there was a safe and blowdryer in the room. I saw an ironing board but I didn't see an iron (I'm sure it was where in the closet). In case you are in the room for awhile, there are lots of American channels. There's a shopping mall across the street, too, in case you forgot something at home. You can also change American money at the hotel desk and the interest rates are actually reasonable.

My only problem was that the hotel didn't have free WIFI. I would think that a hotel of this calibur should have it as a complimentary perk for their guests.

This was my very first stay at any InterContinental Hotel. Based on my experience at this hotel, I would certainly stayat one again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygalSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear citygalSTL, we are thrilled to know that we created such great impression about our Hotel on your first visit, be advised that effective January 1st we will offer Complementary Internet Access to all our IHG Rewards members as part of our loyalty program benefits. We look forward to welcome you back, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama city, Panama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The impression has improved over time. I've stayed here a few times now. They have have a really nice pool facility and a great gym. Is really well placed in terms of location. I've been lucky enough to be ungraded so the quality of the rooms has been really nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Bill C, we receive with great comfort that you have been able to experience how we have improved over the years. Thank you for your loyalty and feedback. Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Escazu was not the best location for someone who had to commute every day to the Free Zone, in Heredia. However it was a pay off because this is a beautiful hotel, it has very good restaurants that you can go thru the lobby, a decent gym, and a beautiful outdoor pool.
My room was really nice, as InterContinental always delivers on this regards. Nice shower, good selection of channels on tv, the radio is ok, a killer ar conditioning (quiet).
The staff at the lobby is not very nice or helpful though. Sometimes the key doesn't work on the elevators, requires some patience, but after a long day of work, it can be a pain. Staff does not seem to care though.
Room service line took a while to answer my call, actually it did not answer but they called me back after a few minutes.
They are working on the facade of the hotel, it really does not bother, and the hotel warns you about it, asking kindly to close the drapes for your own privacy during certain times of the day.
At night it can get really busy because they host quite a few events (sometimes big ones). It can be annoying, a hassle indeed to even get in to parking lot. Depending on what you're looking for can also be interesting.
Very close to the mall, with some nice restaurants and bars around as well. Escazu is a nice neighorhood.
Free internet.
Breakfast included.
I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerlipstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear gingerlipstick, it is truly our pleasure to have host you during your business trip, we really appreciate your commute we understand there are many options in San Jose still you were loyal to our location. We will definitely look into your specific comments regarding our service to avoid further recurrence. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Make sure that you meet Oscar at the lobby bar. He makes you feel at home and in competent hands. Hotel otherwise very accommodating to business travelers, free and decent Wifi throughout the hotel. Although I have been there several times before I am not part of IHG. However in no way did I feel deprived. Decent gym, full spa, lots of food choices. Spent a long week working hard while I was there and would return to hotel with my good friend and colleague and we were completely fried. We would collapse into big comfy lounge chairs in lobby bar and let Oscar help us navigate menus from all of the hotels restaurants, all of which can be ordered in the lobby bar. Then usually he would make a recommendation for a wonderful and unique cocktail which he clearly took great pleasure in mixing for us.In no time at all, we were delightfully relaxed and dining on some different and unique cuisine. A really enjoyable experience that I highly recommend.
Susan B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Susan B, I even feel envious of such great experience, rest assure I will pass your compliments to Oscar. Make sure next time you become an IHG Rewards member and start enjoying the benefits of our worldwide renowned program. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is just under a big reconstruction phase which is highly needed due to the Sheraton in the direct neighborhood. The hotel is in a good are with some shopping directly in front of it. To downtown is quite a bit but taxis are easy to catch. Always use the red once and insist on it - even if the hotel wanna give you another one. The hotel once are a rip off. I would prefer a room in the higher floors with a pool view.
One negative - avoid room service!!! Not to recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floor with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonDerDiggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear DonDerDiggler, I do really appreciate your observations, we are almost done with the facade renovation, rest assure I will be addressing your comments in regards to the taxi services offered in our property. Thank you, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.2 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
3.1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Property: Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#3 Green Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler, with streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing