We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Presidents Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel was included I the Caravan Tour and my party of four really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were plush, the staff was always smiling, greeting you and generally very pleasant to deal with. There is a nice bar/lounge off the lobby that has a cold assortment of beer/wine/coffees and cocktails...for some reason most of the seating is for three but the chairs can be moved to suit. The restaurant has hand tossed fresh pizza which I thought was unusual until it was explained that Italians were some of the first emigrants to help with the rail system therefore pasta and such are widely served. The buffet breakfast is plentiful, pleasing and look for the pastry section..you will be glad you did. I get up early and going outside with my coffee I saw parrots in the trees and also look outside around 5pm as they return. The grounds of this hotel are well maintained and very pleasing to walk around and the pools were getting a lot of use in the afternoon. A meeting of several "heads of state" was scheduled later on in the week and rumor was some were staying here. there is a shopping mall directly across the street with a pedestrian bridge to get across the street. We had a memorable stay here and I would definitely stay here again. Rooms were quiet, AC worked well, bathrooms were very nice with large luxury towels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear FISandy, we are glad to have made your stay more memorable of what you expected, Caravan Tours is one of our top clients and they choose our facilities due to the quality levels of our services and products. Reason why we are also the preferred location for many international delegations that visit Costa Rica. Thank you, Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Real InterContinental for three nights in conjunction with an event that we hosted in their conference space. I was very impressed by the front desk service and hotel staff. My room was clean and very comfortable (super cozy bed), with nice bathroom amenities. The pool was gorgeous, definitely the highlight of the hotel! The bar was nice, and the breakfast buffet was quite good. I wasn't impressed by the Market restaurant's dinner.

I have a mixed review of our event experience. The venue was absolutely gorgeous - beautiful main hall, very nice conference rooms, great catering, good staff. The outdoor patio was lovely, as it allowed our networking area to be open-air. The only frustration was loud construction noise immediately outside our venue that continued throughout our entire event. We were never warned of this, and absolutely should not have been able to book the venue! The staff were extremely unhelpful and failed to stop the noise, only minimized it slightly. We were very disappointed. Fortunately the GM was on-site and very professionally dealt with the issue (after the fact). I would strongly urge the hotel to be more transparent about its ongoing construction, and offer event spaces accordingly.

Otherwise, I'd happily return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear gkincaid, I am extremely sorry I was not able to completely turn around your experience in our Hotel. Rest assure we do our best to coordinate the convention center construction along with all the different events we hold in the Hotel in order to have the minimum possible disturbance for our guests. Thank you once again for booking your event with us and look forward to welcome you back. Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Not sure if it claims/aspires to be a 5-star by international standards - certainly the price is way up there - but there are one or two areas where it doesn't quite make it. Great staff and very good food (particularly the breakfast buffet but:
- the advertised 'purified' water in the bathroom is so heavily chlorinated as to be undrinkable (certainly for coffee)
- the wi-fi internet service is very poor (at least on our wing of the third floor it kept dropping off) - and it's not cheap. (There was internet cable, but the connector was broken) Internet should be free in a hotel of this price standard.
- the ice machine on the third floor was boken all the time we were there. Had to go down to the second floor. Difficult to fix??
- If I say at checkout that I have not used anything from the mini-bar, I don't expect to have to wait while they send someone to check! (not least as it's one of those ghastly 'automatic' ones). Very poor.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, ask for a room where it works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougaldawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Dougaldawn, we are extremely sorry about the different opportunities you encountered during your stay, be advised that InterContinental Hotels & Resorts is in the process of relaunching our loyalty programs in order to have complementary internet services for our VIP guests like you. We are aware of the malfunctioning of the ice machine and it has been already addressed. Thank you, Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental for just over 2 weeks in April/May and overall had a very pleasant stay. The only reason I have marked them down a star, is that my stay collided with a visit from the President of the USA, which basically resulted in us getting "locked in" for certain periods of time- and unable to use the facilities. On the Friday, we couldnt get to the office and had to work from the hotel, and on the Saturday (my only day off) I wasnt allowed to sit by the pool and was told it wouldnt be open until 2pm! (It actually opened about 11.30)- plus the gym/spa etc were closed. I appreciate this was out of the control of the hotel- but we received no prior warning which would have been nice.

However, apart from that- I only have good things to say. The staff were lovely- and soon knew my drinks order by memory. The choice of restaurants was great, and the breakfast in the market was fantastic. My room was cleaned to a great standard each day, and my dry cleaning returned early.

I will definitely be returning- just hopefully not at the same time as the President!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Victoria S, I do appreciate your loyalty to our Hotel Services and Staff, I personally apologized that your stay was damage by the International Delegation we had while you were here. Rest assure we did our best to minimize guest impact however there were situations out of control. Looking forward to welcome you back, Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Loved this hotel - stayed here for two days of meetings. Everything was great. Conference set-up was extremely professional, the food and beverage was impressive. The rooms were comfortable, good beds, great bathrooms, good amenities. Some of the best Sushi I have ever had at this hotel. The service was exceptionally friendly and it seemed like everyone spoke English (which spoiled me because I didn't even have to try my poor Spanish). Loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veneas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Veneas, one of the reasons our Hotel difference from our competitors is that we offer a high quality service for our business and leisure guests, not to mention the best products available in the market. Thank you for your GREAT review, Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was the first stop hotel for our Caravan Tour and it was located right across the street from a large mall and grocery store. The hotel was very comfortable, the room spacious , staff courteous and helpful and the meals served buffet style very good. Didn't get to use the pool as the day was rainy and cool but it was a beautiful pool area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Vacationgirl50, we are sorry to hear you could not enjoy our pool facilities due to our tropical weather but we are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay, I am sure you still had a great time with Caravan Tours and were able to travel around Costa Rica. Thank you, Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is very well located, across the street is the major shopping center in town, besides being a five stars, has the best restaurants in town with a very decent pricing. They have four restaurants, an itialian, sushi, meat and a cafeteria with the best. This place is one of my favorites in town. Take advantage of sitting in the terrace to enjoy the weather.

Room Tip: Looking at the swiming pool or mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gitana28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Gitana28, we always welcome comments from our Local Customers as we believe that our Hotel is part of the community reason why try to be competitive within the area. Thank you and we look forward to have you back on any of our Restaurants. Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
3.1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,881 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.2 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 11 in Escazu
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose E...
#2 of 5 in San Rafael de Escazu
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#2 Green Hotel in Escazu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $204 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler, with streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing