We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, helpful staff, great food- shame about President!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, helpful staff, great food- shame about President!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental for just over 2 weeks in April/May and overall had a very pleasant stay. The only reason I have marked them down a star, is that my stay collided with a visit from the President of the USA, which basically resulted in us getting "locked in" for certain periods of time- and unable to use the facilities. On the Friday, we couldnt get to the office and had to work from the hotel, and on the Saturday (my only day off) I wasnt allowed to sit by the pool and was told it wouldnt be open until 2pm! (It actually opened about 11.30)- plus the gym/spa etc were closed. I appreciate this was out of the control of the hotel- but we received no prior warning which would have been nice.

However, apart from that- I only have good things to say. The staff were lovely- and soon knew my drinks order by memory. The choice of restaurants was great, and the breakfast in the market was fantastic. My room was cleaned to a great standard each day, and my dry cleaning returned early.

I will definitely be returning- just hopefully not at the same time as the President!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Victoria S, I do appreciate your loyalty to our Hotel Services and Staff, I personally apologized that your stay was damage by the International Delegation we had while you were here. Rest assure we did our best to minimize guest impact however there were situations out of control. Looking forward to welcome you back, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    382
    116
    57
    49
See reviews for
185
351
77
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Loved this hotel - stayed here for two days of meetings. Everything was great. Conference set-up was extremely professional, the food and beverage was impressive. The rooms were comfortable, good beds, great bathrooms, good amenities. Some of the best Sushi I have ever had at this hotel. The service was exceptionally friendly and it seemed like everyone spoke English (which spoiled me because I didn't even have to try my poor Spanish). Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veneas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Veneas, one of the reasons our Hotel difference from our competitors is that we offer a high quality service for our business and leisure guests, not to mention the best products available in the market. Thank you for your GREAT review, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was the first stop hotel for our Caravan Tour and it was located right across the street from a large mall and grocery store. The hotel was very comfortable, the room spacious , staff courteous and helpful and the meals served buffet style very good. Didn't get to use the pool as the day was rainy and cool but it was a beautiful pool area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Vacationgirl50, we are sorry to hear you could not enjoy our pool facilities due to our tropical weather but we are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay, I am sure you still had a great time with Caravan Tours and were able to travel around Costa Rica. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is very well located, across the street is the major shopping center in town, besides being a five stars, has the best restaurants in town with a very decent pricing. They have four restaurants, an itialian, sushi, meat and a cafeteria with the best. This place is one of my favorites in town. Take advantage of sitting in the terrace to enjoy the weather.

Room Tip: Looking at the swiming pool or mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitana28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Gitana28, we always welcome comments from our Local Customers as we believe that our Hotel is part of the community reason why try to be competitive within the area. Thank you and we look forward to have you back on any of our Restaurants. Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was disappointed with the property. The pool area is "worn" quite a bit. The lounge chairs
were ripped and tattered. The greenery was boring. The pool was a good size and looked clean.
It all looks like it could use an update. Being the Intercontinental, I was expecting a higher quality overall. The tower building was nice. The staff working in that area did not seem approachable.
They rarely looked up from their computer and did not seem friendly. The rooms do not have a
dresser/armoire which makes it difficult to live out of a suitcase for a week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear tyroneonmymind, please accept my most sincere apologies for this experience at our Hotel. The Maintenance Team has been advised to check deeper the lounge chairs in order to be updated. I will review with my Front Office Manager your comments in regards to the attitude of the Front Desk Staff. Don’t hesitate to reach me directly for further comments. Sincerely, Ramon Diago, General Manager. (ramon.diago@r-hr.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Prior to 2013, I had stayed at this hotel many times in the last 15 years. It has an excellent location away from San Jose's hectic downtown. I found its restaurants to be very good. Its staff is very friendly and accommodating. However, the signs of deterioration are obvious: signs are dirty and worn out, curtains are fading and hallway carpets need to be replaced. Beds were uncomfortable from so much padding that has been stuffed underneath the mattresses ---very unlike Intercontinental. I stayed at the original building; I was told there is a new tower but cannot comment on the rooms there. This hotel will continue to be one of San Jose's best for some time, but its time for perhaps major renovations is now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear RaulJ, I do appreciate your opinion and rest assure that we take it very seriously, be advised that we are currently building our new Convention Center and once construction is over we already have scheduled renovating the Hotel side to include lobby area and guestrooms. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was expecting a clean, inviting and well run hotel. That's NOT what I got. As long as you don't look with both eyes it looks clean and well kept. My room had stains on the bed/sheets, the walls were all marked up and had knicks in it. The desk and tables in my room had cup stains and dirt all over them. The barrel was not empty when I got to my room.

Pros:
1. The breakfast in the Market was GREAT it had a lot of variety and the service was attentive.

2. The mall is across the street so if you forgot something or need a cheaper meal just walk across... they have all kinds of American stores there.

3. The pool was delightful

Cons:

1. I had a late lunch in the market (Pizza - greasy, cold and expensive and French Fries - fine)... it took over 40 minutes to get the pizza/fries and NO it was not busy the waiters were congregating around their station talking. I had to get up to ask a waiter to bring me another drink as I had waited for 5 minutes and tried waving from my seat.

2. The shower in my room worked GREAT but the tub did not drain of water. I called the Front Desk 2 times and even went down 2 times. The tub was still full of water in the morning when I left - no one ever came to fix it.

3. The bed sheets were COVERED in stains - the sheets looked like they were not washed. I again called down... no one ever came up.

I would choose to stay else where if I return to this area.

Room Tip: Make sure its clean. Ask for a room in the back ... mine room was over looking the front driveway an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nelle_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Nelle_1234, it is a letdown as you mentioned not to receive a good review from you, we have identified the areas of improvement and each one of your points have been shared with our staff in order to avoid further recurrence. We hope to have new opportunity to change your experience. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.2 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
3.1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Property: Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler, with streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing