We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unpleasant Stay”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is better place than where I used to stay - with Multiplaza near, my room bigger and brighter BUT maybe it is just me but the experience was really poor for me. An unemptied trash can however welcomed me (am lucky there's no icky stuff inside) - called the housekeeping/reception and no one ever came. I wanted to call outside but the process was so complicated that I can't make a local call or international call - the operator told me to go the front desk and the front desk told me to call operator and buy a call card in the shop which was already closed. What?! I gave up. Good thing for technology - there are other ways to call my friend and family.

Then came payment time, I was double charged and I found this when I came back home. I emailed based on the email address in my billing statement - it bounced back. I called 1x - phone wont get through; 2nd time, it did but I have to be redirected to nowhere hence international phone bill to no avail. I was asked to email instead, one week later, no response. A sign that offer Departure Tax payment convenience happily welcomes you in the front desk but viola, it's not available. What's new?

Am trying to think of anything positive - breakfast! Yeah - I suppose that could be the saving grace! Hefty good meal and choices - oatmeal needed to be ordered but readily available. No pancakes but there's waffles so good enough for me. I especially liked the yoghurt fruit parfait that they come up with - I don't miss it :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Ms. Cathybuster, my sincere apologies for the obvious annoyance during your last stay in our Hotel. I would like to personally speak with you in order to get further details about these opportunities, I highly appreciate if you can please forward your directly to my email ramon.diago@r-hr.com . Sincerely, Ramon Diago (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    388
    120
    59
    49
See reviews for
195
359
78
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stay in this hotel more than once and it is always been a pleasure to stay in this Hotel. I enjoy the food at all restaurants, the bed and the personell that attends the guest very well.
As part of a feedback, the Hotel must offer free wi fi. The mayority of the Hotels includes free wifi.
A couple years ago, i remeber that the breakfast was always included for people who stayed in standard room. Now it is not inlcuded. I also notice that the price per night increase. So this does not make sense as the price increase but the breakfast is taken out. If the hotel increase theprice per night, at least mantain everything you offer.

Hope this feedback helps improve the hotel to continue giving the highest hotel standard.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ottavio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Ottavio E, we always take any feedback positively, IHG our matrix company is currently looking for alternatives for our loyal guests in order to eliminate internet charges on any destination of InterContinental Hotels & Resorts. In regards to our rates and offerings we do our best to be competitive within the market while offer the best in service. Thank you once again, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here one night after a cruise. The hotel is gorgeous. The room was clean, and the bed was comfy. This location has a nice pool, spa, and several restaurants. We ate dinner and breakfast at The Marketplace in the hotel. It was delicious! Service all over the hotel was excellent. From arranging transportation to recommending restaurants, they exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moochelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear moochelle1, exceeding expectations is a high end goal which we are proud to have achieved with you, we look forward to welcome you back for a longer stay. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We done a tour of Costa Rica - we stayed here two nights at the beginning and one at the end. I can was more than happy with the hotel and the beds were fantastic- it was nice to have a bit of comfort when you have travelled a lot. The breakfasts were very good although unfortunately we didn't get a chance to eat here with our busy schedule. There is a supermarket opposite which I would advise people to visit for water and such - because while I am not mean I don't like being ripped off - and for the sake of literally two minutes walk theres no worries - plus it gets you a look around the spacious shopping centre.
All in all a very good hotel and would not hestitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear DorothyCumbria, thank you for letting us be your first and last impression of Costa Rica. We look forward to welcome you back so you can enjoy our different restaurants as well. Sincerely, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was part of a tour group, so did no make my own booking, but found the hotel to be typical of overpriced chains. The food we were served was nothing special, although breakfast was nice, but not much above the quality of a budget chain. Rooms were fine but nothing special. Once again, upscale hotels seem to think overcharging for internet makes sense - it doesn't to me. Huge mall across the street - especially with a hugh modern supermarket, helped bring costs in line. Pool area was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoDDSTravelingteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear DoDDSTravellingteach, We regret to know that you think our hotel is overpriced; we always look to be competitive while we provide the best, reason why Tour Operators choose our Hotel for their important groups. Thank you, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the place to stay. It is located in the best neighborhood right across the street from one of the nicest malls (Multi Plaza)in Costa Rica. Easy access to Down Town, the beaches or anywhere you want to go. Some of the best restaurants in the country you will find in Escazu or next door in Santa Ana.

One very important tip would be the two towers. The old and the new. Whats the difference the old is a 4star and the new is a 5star. Thats as simple as I can put it. Do what you can to get into the new tower(spa tower) its worth it. As stated above the location is perfect. The 4 main restaurants are all fantastic. You have a Sushi restaurant which is the 2nd best sushi in the city behind Suhsi Kai (lindora). Then you have an italian place which is top 5 Italian in city (expensive).The steak house (factory) which has incredible Kobe burgers and Steaks. I would rank it 3rd behind Esquina de Buenos aires (Down Town) and Novillo Alegre (Lindora or Escazu). The other restaurant is open 24 hours and its THE MARKET Restaurant. They just completely redid it so its real nice especially for late night munchies etc. Its basically the room service menu with some build your own option for pizzas and sandwiches. It can be very slow so avoid when busy if possible. The Bar at the hotel to me is the best part. Great for people watching and enjoying a drink. I sometimes ask for a restaurant menu and eat my food at the bar.

The hotel has some construction going on expanding the conference area. Did not affect me what so ever in the new tower do not know about noise in other tower. This is a very enjoyable hotel and highly recommend it for any type of visit. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Spa tower high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vatsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Vatsmia, it is impressive the local knowledge you have of the area along with the restaurant comparison you are able to share, thank you for keeping us among the best, comments like yours compromise ourselves even more to be number one on your list. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I booked this hotel for my wife and daughter who were traveling to Costa Rica for a dental treatment. This hotel was in the area of Escazu where the procedure would be done, so I thought a "nice" resort like this would be good.
After researching the hotel, and reading the reviews on this page, I felt like I had a good spot where they could stay in one place, have breakfast in the morning, hordourves at night and just relax by the pool, but I was SO disappointed when they got back.

While they were booked for a "club tower" room, which provided the complimentary breakfast and hordourves and drinks in the evening, they were NOT put on the floor - OR they were not informed. It was a very stressful trip for my wife, so when I asked her about her breakfast in the morning, she told me they never had it. She said the room was fine, and they had a view of the room, but I asked her, weren't you put on the floor where you could have the complimentary breakfast and hordourves at night? She said no - and no one said anything to her about it when they checked in.

She did receive a small discount because she was a flight attendant - so perhaps the front desk just put her somewhere in the tower, but I still had the pay the bill and they didn't get what they paid for.

They are traveling back again to finish their procedures again in a couple of months and there is NO WAY we would recommend the hotel. At this point, you question if this hotel is simply ripping people off.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book a specific room - BEFORE you check in - you inquire about all the amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank defore4735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear defore4735, please accept my most sincere apologies on behalf of my team for not delivering to your family what they were booked for. I do appreciate if you can reach me at your earliest convenience in order to get more details about these opportunities. Sincerely, Ramon Diago (ramon.diago@r-hr.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.2 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Property: Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#3 Green Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler, with streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing