We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice but over priced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall to your Saves list
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospero Fernandez Highway | in front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice but over priced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was part of a tour group, so did no make my own booking, but found the hotel to be typical of overpriced chains. The food we were served was nothing special, although breakfast was nice, but not much above the quality of a budget chain. Rooms were fine but nothing special. Once again, upscale hotels seem to think overcharging for internet makes sense - it doesn't to me. Huge mall across the street - especially with a hugh modern supermarket, helped bring costs in line. Pool area was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoDDSTravelingteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear DoDDSTravellingteach, We regret to know that you think our hotel is overpriced; we always look to be competitive while we provide the best, reason why Tour Operators choose our Hotel for their important groups. Thank you, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    309
    91
    43
    36
See reviews for
135
284
59
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the place to stay. It is located in the best neighborhood right across the street from one of the nicest malls (Multi Plaza)in Costa Rica. Easy access to Down Town, the beaches or anywhere you want to go. Some of the best restaurants in the country you will find in Escazu or next door in Santa Ana.

One very important tip would be the two towers. The old and the new. Whats the difference the old is a 4star and the new is a 5star. Thats as simple as I can put it. Do what you can to get into the new tower(spa tower) its worth it. As stated above the location is perfect. The 4 main restaurants are all fantastic. You have a Sushi restaurant which is the 2nd best sushi in the city behind Suhsi Kai (lindora). Then you have an italian place which is top 5 Italian in city (expensive).The steak house (factory) which has incredible Kobe burgers and Steaks. I would rank it 3rd behind Esquina de Buenos aires (Down Town) and Novillo Alegre (Lindora or Escazu). The other restaurant is open 24 hours and its THE MARKET Restaurant. They just completely redid it so its real nice especially for late night munchies etc. Its basically the room service menu with some build your own option for pizzas and sandwiches. It can be very slow so avoid when busy if possible. The Bar at the hotel to me is the best part. Great for people watching and enjoying a drink. I sometimes ask for a restaurant menu and eat my food at the bar.

The hotel has some construction going on expanding the conference area. Did not affect me what so ever in the new tower do not know about noise in other tower. This is a very enjoyable hotel and highly recommend it for any type of visit. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Spa tower high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vatsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Vatsmia, it is impressive the local knowledge you have of the area along with the restaurant comparison you are able to share, thank you for keeping us among the best, comments like yours compromise ourselves even more to be number one on your list. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I booked this hotel for my wife and daughter who were traveling to Costa Rica for a dental treatment. This hotel was in the area of Escazu where the procedure would be done, so I thought a "nice" resort like this would be good.
After researching the hotel, and reading the reviews on this page, I felt like I had a good spot where they could stay in one place, have breakfast in the morning, hordourves at night and just relax by the pool, but I was SO disappointed when they got back.

While they were booked for a "club tower" room, which provided the complimentary breakfast and hordourves and drinks in the evening, they were NOT put on the floor - OR they were not informed. It was a very stressful trip for my wife, so when I asked her about her breakfast in the morning, she told me they never had it. She said the room was fine, and they had a view of the room, but I asked her, weren't you put on the floor where you could have the complimentary breakfast and hordourves at night? She said no - and no one said anything to her about it when they checked in.

She did receive a small discount because she was a flight attendant - so perhaps the front desk just put her somewhere in the tower, but I still had the pay the bill and they didn't get what they paid for.

They are traveling back again to finish their procedures again in a couple of months and there is NO WAY we would recommend the hotel. At this point, you question if this hotel is simply ripping people off.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book a specific room - BEFORE you check in - you inquire about all the amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank defore4735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear defore4735, please accept my most sincere apologies on behalf of my team for not delivering to your family what they were booked for. I do appreciate if you can reach me at your earliest convenience in order to get more details about these opportunities. Sincerely, Ramon Diago (ramon.diago@r-hr.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
242 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This Hotel made all the efforts possible to make us feel at home. The room was exquisite and the Hotel was in great condition with all amenities beyond par. The staff went far out of their way to resolve problems and answer questions to help us function in the city. The steak house was wonderful and the Cafe breakfast was wonderful. This Hotel is well worth the break from a long day of traveling.

Room Tip: All rooms good but try for 5th floor the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princesscruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Princesscruisers, it was our pleasure to host you during your time in Costa Rica, our staff gives the best of its efforts in order to pamper every guests who comes to our Hotel. Thank you, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Straight off the plane to a fantastic hotel that was the start of our 14 day cruise/tour. The whole experience from check in to check out was great. The staff were a credit to their company, beer was ice cold and welcoming, the room and in particular the bed was comfort perfection and the breakfast in the Market restaurant was better than splendid.
If you're coming off a flight or got a couple of nights free until you depart you just have to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Brown_Bottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear The_Brown_Bottle, how rewarding is to know that the beginning of your tour/cruise started so well in our Hotel, we hope you enjoy the rest as well. Please accept our most sincere gratitude and we look forward to welcome you back shortly. Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on business in Jan. Excellent hotel grounds and room was large. The bathrooms were all updated and beautiful. The restaurant s in the hotel were very good. Alfredos and the steak house were really good. Even breakfast was good. One advantage to non Spanish speaking guests is that the hotel will setup cab pickups each and every day to the business offices. The hotel was a good 15 minute cab ride to the business district. Overall the hotel made you feel very much like home. I only wish we were closer to the beautiful beaches instead of2 hours away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zippy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear zippy166, we are glad to know that even though you came on business you were able to relax and enjoy the facilities of our property. We look forward to welcome you back during your vacation time as well so you can enjoy the beauty of the beaches in Costa Rica. Thank you, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Tower in a beautiful sparkling clean corner room. Staff incredibly pleasant & helpful. The hotel is spotless very well maintained. The lobby bar very social & Rosa very attentive a real asset to the hotel. The only shortcoming was restaurant Alfredo my choice was awful the waiter did his best. I was a little surprised that an exceptionally well run Hotel missed on a quote gourmet restaurant. We're returning on next Wednesday we'll give it another try.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don51644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear don51644, Our Zambra Bar Waitress Rosa was thrilled to hear about your great review about the Hotel and the staff, be advised that next month we are re designing our Restaurant Alfredo's with different decor and new menu. We look forward to welcome you back, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.1 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#1 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Property: Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | in front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Escazu
#3 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental San Jose at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose’s most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Alfredo Trattoria. The hotel´s full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, vapor baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel´s updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; with streaming speed internet, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvre. Real InterContinental San Jose at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing