We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay on business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay on business”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on business in Jan. Excellent hotel grounds and room was large. The bathrooms were all updated and beautiful. The restaurant s in the hotel were very good. Alfredos and the steak house were really good. Even breakfast was good. One advantage to non Spanish speaking guests is that the hotel will setup cab pickups each and every day to the business offices. The hotel was a good 15 minute cab ride to the business district. Overall the hotel made you feel very much like home. I only wish we were closer to the beautiful beaches instead of2 hours away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear zippy166, we are glad to know that even though you came on business you were able to relax and enjoy the facilities of our property. We look forward to welcome you back during your vacation time as well so you can enjoy the beauty of the beaches in Costa Rica. Thank you, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    384
    120
    58
    49
See reviews for
189
356
78
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Tower in a beautiful sparkling clean corner room. Staff incredibly pleasant & helpful. The hotel is spotless very well maintained. The lobby bar very social & Rosa very attentive a real asset to the hotel. The only shortcoming was restaurant Alfredo my choice was awful the waiter did his best. I was a little surprised that an exceptionally well run Hotel missed on a quote gourmet restaurant. We're returning on next Wednesday we'll give it another try.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don51644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear don51644, Our Zambra Bar Waitress Rosa was thrilled to hear about your great review about the Hotel and the staff, be advised that next month we are re designing our Restaurant Alfredo's with different decor and new menu. We look forward to welcome you back, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this hotel starting a 10 day tour of Costa, Rica. The hotel is one of the nicest that we have ever stayed in. The rooms are large and well laid out. The hotel has a wonderful restaurant with a marvelous buffet breakfast. The staff were very helpful no matter what we needed. They have a beautiful pool and fitness center. We were not able to take advantage of the pool because it was too cool, but my husband was very impressed with the fitness center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannewebbavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Joannewebbavon, we are glad that we were your initial experience in Costa Rica raising the product quality and service levels you expected on your trip. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back. Sincerely, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just had a great weekend stay at the Intercontinental. We really enjoyed the breakfast, coffee break, and happy hours on the patio over looking the pool. David was especially wonderful. We had some massages and the spa was very lovely, although a little bit crowded. The Market and Alfredo both had great food, service was a little slow but they were very busy. The bed was super comfortable, one night my husband slept for 12 hours! Most beds in CR are as hard as a rock so this was a nice treat for us. The pool and jacuzzi are lovely, and although it was full its spread out enough that it doesn't feel so crowded. Willy was great with getting us clean towels and making sure we were ok. My only complaint is the service by the pool. Both mornings when we got to the pool there was a man walking around with water, fruit, and ice cream for the kids, AWESOME. Fast forward to noon when we tried to order a drink, waited 45 minutes, only to get 3 out of the four drinks. It was ridiculous, and my husband had to chase the man down. Then the next day, we were looking for the waiter in the afternoon and he was no where to be found. They definitely need to work on their wait staff out by the pool -- if they fix this it would've been a perfect stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear lindsey1, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconsistency on service at the pool during your stay, we are glad that you were able to rest more than usual in our beds.. David and Willy will be happy to hear about your review. Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had stay on this hotel more than a dozen times specially for business purposes and always received the same level of quality and service. The King Bed is great, was very difficult for me to wakeup in the morning, then comes the super breakfast buffet where I loved the bread and the ommelets, ask for Phillip or José tables for great attention. For top dinner restaurants you don't need to go out, invite your customers or friends to any of the three restaurants, Nau (asian), Alfredo for Italian and The Factory for meats/fish on the grill . All them are great!

But the must on this hotel is the service, that is the difference!

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room with view to the pool, the rooms on the Tower use to be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashmelendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear flashmelendez, we offer you a great appreciation for your loyalty, it is great to know that every time you come to our Hotel you receive the same great service and product you expect to. We will pass your compliments to Phillip and Jose. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
198 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Travelling with the family in CR and spent our first night there. Rooms and beds were very comfortable. Staff was helpful. Nice options for meals but make sure to make a reservation as they got very busy the night we were there and the staff worked to fit us in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DFarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Dfarls, we are glad that you and your family enjoyed their short stay, we are also pleased that our staff was able to accommodate you during your dining experience. Sincerely, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Away from the bustle of San Jose yet an introduction to the modern urban world after being in the lush and beautiful countryside. Lovely, clean rooms, well furnished with luxurious linens. Full bathroom, and yes, a bathtub! Lobby, bar, restaurant areas are really nice. The grounds and swimming pool are great. And an added bonus, an overpass bridge that goes to a modern upscale mall. Culture shock after being in rural Costa Rica but a kick to see the urban people. Recommend for a great hotel stop near the airport.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judygecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear judygecko, thank you for selecting us while choosing for your final destination before going back home after spending some time around the beautiful rural Costa Rica, well deserve treat . We look forward to welcome you back. Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.2 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
3.1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Property: Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler, with streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing