We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here two nights as part of our Caravan Tour. Since we were Priority Club members we got free internet. We were happy about that but did have to log in almost hourly.

The hotel was very nice and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The mall across the street was very high end..one of the largest we have seen.

Beds were comfy but the housekeepers did not remember to leave a wash cloth.

We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for been a Priority Club Member, we do apologize for the small opportunity with the wash clothes replacement. Good to know you enjoy our breakfast selection at The Market. We look forward to welcome you back either with Caravan Tours or your own plant trip to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Excellent hotel to intercontinental standards. Located in Escazu right next to highway. Excellent location as a base for exploring central valley area.
Big and busy.
Very comfortable, quiet and safe.
Highend shoppiing centre next door.
Beautiful views of surrounding mountains.
Beautiful pool and spa

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docacadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you kindly for recognizing the achievement of our Brand Standards, we are glad you had time to enjoy our Spa and Pool while you visit the Hotel. We look forward to welcome you and your friends back to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

++ Hotel is run very well. I have no constructive Criticism (!).
+ Fancy hotel with nice appointments
+ IPod player in radio
+ Many pillows on the bed
+ Gymnasium, Jacuzzi
+ Bathrobes in bathroom
+ Sumptuous breakfast buffet
+ IPod player in radio in room
+ Wide screen high def TV
+ Nice buffet meals
0 no fridge or microwave
0 $4 for two hours Internet time
0 All cable stations in Spanish or English w/subtitles

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Leeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We truly appreciate your objective review about our facilities and service, we are always in the look for new services and options for all our guests in order to provide the very best of service. We look forward to welcome you back. Sincerely, Ramon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel only one night after we arrived in Costa Rica. Needless to say, we were tired after our long flight and ready to be pampered.

We have stayed at several Intercontinental Hotels over the years and have always been pleased with the quality of the hotels and staff. Our one night stay was far less than we had hoped for.

We stayed on the Club Floor and were surprised at how little was offered free. We paid for our breakfast, our coffee and our drinks even though we paid an additional amount to use the club facilities. This was not the case in other Intercontinental Hotels! This was a disappointment.

Our room was clean and very nice, however, the ceiling above our bathroom leaked all night and flooded from above the morning we left. We were given no consideration for this and, in fact, it was not repaired until we were checking out. A great disappointment.

Finally, we ate dinner in the primier hotel restaurant and were very disappointed with the quality of food. Their highest quality steak was very tough and stringy and my wife's fish was undercooked, over battered (was supposedly pan fried) and poorly seasoned. Both dishes were nearly inedible. Another disappointment.

I definitely would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARTarea51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the obvious annoyance while you stayed in our Hotel. I will definitely follow-up with the Department Heads involved such as Club Floor, Maintenance and Restaurant. If possible I would like to speak further about all the challenges you mentioned before, I highly appreciate if you are able to reach me at ramon.diago@r-hr.com
Thank you, Ramon Diago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were here the first 2 nights as part of a tour pkg. Staff is helpful & friendly. Breakfast buffet has quite a variety w/tables in or outside by pools. Hot tub is actually hot (as we later learned in other hotels that is not the case). Sitting at the bar near reception desk one Friday evening was a good place to people watch. There were all kinds of parties and a wedding, too. We had a tour to Poas Volcano & area one day so I agree other than the mall across the street, there probably isn't much to do in the immediate area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wherenext066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing us as the 1st destination during your vacation in Costa Rica, we are glad that you were able to enjoy our Restaurant Market and relax in our outdoor facilities. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while taking a tour of Costa Rica. Fabulous staff. We arrived at noon and were able to get into our room. There is a fee for Internet however the desk clerk advised us to sign up for their rewards program (which is at no cost) and the Internet would be available at no charge. We also received complimentary bottles of water.

There is a beautiful pool area with hot tub. They were decorating for a wedding - was incredible what they did!!

The meals were good. The rooms spacious.

It is not close to the center of San Jose. It's an $18 taxi ride one way. It is walking distance to a very large "American" type mall. The mall is very expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about our location, facilities, food and staff, Also we I would like to welcome you to our Priority Club Program where you can accrue points/miles on any hotel within InterContinental Hotels Group. We look forward to welcome you back to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently spent one night at the Real InterContinental - San Jose CR. I had stayed at some of the "nicer" San Jose hotels before and was not impressed. This time, I was overwhelmed. Check in was seamless even though I was checking in at noon! I was given a nice room.. no view but overall a very nice room. Threw my bags in and went out to see eat a nice meal and see what was in the neighborhood.

Had a fabulous mean at a nearby restaurant called "Product C".. extremely nice!

When I returned to my room it was a bit hotter than my likes. I called the front desk and they were to send someone up.. after an hour and no-show, I called and asked for a different room. The didn't hesitate to accommodate me and moved me to a room with a view of the pool. It was a nice view. The room was fabulous.

I did not use the spa, but I did walk thru it.. very high end.

I was only there for one night but I really wanted to stay longer. --- Next time!

The included breakfast was just indescribable -- I took a book and a seat on the patio by the pool, had a leisurely breakfast of wonderful fresh fruit and so many choices, I couldn't work my way thru it all as hard as I tried.

Can't wait to go again - will definitely stay at this location again.

Room Tip: get a room with a pool view. the rooms on the street side - windows were dirty and scenery was noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whw0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

It was our pleasure to host you in our hotel at least for one night, once again we do apologize for the challenges experienced with the A/C in your first room; we are glad that quality of our breakfast exceeded your expectations. Please make sure on your next visit you are able to enjoy any of our other 3 restaurants in the Hotel we are confident you will enjoy them as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.2 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
3.1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 14 in Escazu
435 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $183 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler, with streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing