We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu(Escazu)(Great Value!)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada El Quijote(Escazu)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Out of Bounds Hotel(Escazu)(Great Value!)
$65
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveler rating
744
430
137
70
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
744
430
137
70
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub towercaravan tourcosta ricasan josesushipool areabeautiful hotellobby barfood courtmultiplaza mallbreakfast buffetgrocery storebusiness tripalfredofree internetbusiness centercentral america
Filter
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It is a great choice for quality, service and class.

The staff goes way above and beyond the call of duty to ensure you are happy, satisfied and taken care of completely. I have seen complains about the food, well, I am not necessarily a hotel food person so I consumed very little food at a hotel. It is a close to a mall where you can shop and shop and eat lunch or light lunch. Would not recommend the mall for dinner though.

Rooms are great, spacious, good beds, excellent shower and tub, at least in my room. If you are staying for more than 3 days, this place will offer you room to put away your belongings and feel at home easily. Same amenities and care you find at other Inter Continental hotel clubs around the world.

Good happy hour and time to connect with other guests.

This hotel could be an excellent choice for business or vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitizenoftheAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel.
We are thrilled to know that you found our staff to be very diligent. Also we are pleased to know you were satisfied with the quality of our rooms, particularly the space, the beds, shower and tub, all of our rooms have the same features.
Even you are not a hotel food person, for your next visit, we would like to recommend our four restaurants available, Alfredo with Italian specialties, Factory Steak and Lobster, Nau Lounge with a great variety of sushi and other Japanese dishes, and our new 24 hours international cuisine The Market.
I particularly appreciate your willingness to recommend us as a choice not only for business but for vacation.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice place but very expensive in every way. its a business hotel and close to the mall. not for vacation holidays.
coffee in the executive lounge was horrible. that was not expected especially since costa rica has good coffee. the food at the happy hour is also very bad only 2 things and some cheese, i dont think its worth it. the dim sum in the lobby bar is amazing though good for late night snack. guym and spa are top notch. was the most uncomfortable bed i have slept in for years. I hope they fix those things because for business i need to go back. enjoy

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxiroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed the coffee and food of the Club Lounge, neither our beds. Thank you for your nice comment about the late snack at the bar and our gym and spa. We will be pleased to welcome you back in your next business trip to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family stayed at the Intercontinental Club Tower and Spa for a week and were blown away by the warm friendliness and responsiveness of the entire staff during our stay. My son had spent three weeks in Costa Rica on a student exchange ten years ago, and this was the hotel that his host family recommended! We were very pleased with their selection and glad we took their advice. We had two rooms in the Club Tower - a corner suite for my wife and I, and a connecting room for my son and daughter. It was simply fabulous with exceptional attention to detail! Our suite was very well-appointed with the best of modern amenities - soak tub, separate rainwater shower, double sinks, enclosed toilet, marble and granite finishes, Kohler fixtures, etc. The bedroom was spacious with plenty of closet space and built-ins for the luggage. The separate living room was quite roomy with a bar area and there was a separate powder room for our guests. We've stayed at many fine hotels around the world, and the service and standard that we received is certainly comparable to some of the best in the U.S., Canada, and Europe. It most reminded me of the five-star Umstead of North Carolina. Of the three dining areas there, we most enjoyed the Factory Steak & Lobster Restaurant where we experimented with the local foods and flavors on the outdoor terrace overlooking the beautiful pool and garden. The waiters there were all very personable, engaging, and accommodating. We were unable to experience the trendy Suchi restaurant which appeared to be a popular spot for the twenty-something "Ticos"!
The Club Tower offered us personalized service, and included a comprehensive buffet breakfast with the regular assortment as well as an array of exotic local fruits. When we were in the hotel, we also took advantage of the lunch snack, and the daily "Happy hour" was a welcome relief after a long day of trekking through the rainforest or other adventure!
Staying there for a week enabled us to get to meet and interact with many staff members, especially in the restaurants and Club area where the waiters were able to quickly recognize us and greet each of us by name!
The Escazu area is very clean, safe and inviting, about a 15 minute drive away from the questionable San Jose area, and is unlike many of the barred areas and neighborhoods that we visited. The central location - directly across the street from the sprawling and very popular Multiplaza - was very convenient as a base for us to explore and take in some of the highlights of this very beautiful country. We'll definitely be back. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Ask for the Club Tower - the extra that you may pay will be worth it in the extra level of service that you will receive. We were fortunate in that they gave us a significant reduction for staying there a week!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you very much for shearing your comments about your stay with us and for all the nice comments of our hotel. We feel very pleased that you enjoy all of our facilities, particularly our Club Rooms, Factory Steal & Lobster Restaurant and our location; but more than anything, the compliments about our staff attitude delighted us. We hope to welcome you back soon in Costa Rica!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here for a work trip and found the facility to be wonderful. The rooms and food were excellent. I had a chance to take advantage of the Spa in a few hours off -- it was also terrific. The staff were also very helpful regarding organizing a day off to go touring. A good "home away from home" when I had little time to organize for myself

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice comments about the hotel, we truly appreciated.
We are thrilled to know you enjoyed our facilities, particularly our rooms, our food and beverage and your experience at our Spa.
We are also very happy to learn you found our staff helpful and efficient.
It will be an honor to have the opportunity to welcome you back in your next visit to Costa Rica.
Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was impressed by the building and the pool area, but there was still quite a bit of construction going on. The air conditioner leaked water from the ceiling in our room all night. The food from the lounge menu, for the price, was pathetic. A warm can of Sprite was almost $! I won't make this mistake again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgrlily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, our construction of our new restaurant by the pool is almost finished; we will reopen our 24 hours new concept next august 23rd.
We apologize for the inconvenience with the air conditioning in your room. We are also sorry to learn that our food variety at our Lounge was not appealing to you.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back so we can restore your confidence in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews