We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay at the Couryard San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good stay at the Couryard San Jose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We had a nice stay at the Courtyard San Jose. The hotel is in a terrific location in Escazu, one of the best areas of San Jose. The hotel itself has a Costa Rican charm to it but it also maintains what you would expect from a Courtyard. It is a great hotel for business and pleasure but I would not think most people would choose to stay at this hotel for most of their trip. It is a good place to spend a day or two (perhaps taking a daytrip) before leaving the city behind. The breakfast was really good - and we booked the breakfast package with our reservation. There is also a small pool on the property. Also, the hotel is located as part of a commercial plaza with lots of shops and restaurants literally down the stairs. There is also a bank with ATM in the same plaza. There are a wide variety of ethnic (Italian, Peruvian, Mexican, Spanish tapas) restaurants and also a couple US chains (Hooters and Outback Steakhouse) for those who want that sort of thing. The Multiplaza Mall is literally a two minute drive and a $1-2 dollar taxi ride from the hotel - which was great for us because we picked up some snacks and drinks at the Automercado supermarket.

So I would say that this is a good, if predictable, hotel in San Jose. It is clean and functional mid-range hotel but what is best for us was the location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    214
    55
    11
    7
See reviews for
110
99
60
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

I've stayed at this Courtyard many times and have always had a good stay.

The hotel is located in a very nice area and is across the highway from an American style shopping mall. It's also right next to a Hooters, Outback Steakhouse, and a few other upscale restaurants (Sushi, Italian, Peruvian, etc). The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport.

The rooms are big and nice. The TV is a bit old and there is no wireless in the room. (only the lobby). The rooms do have Internet with a ethernet cable.

The only complaint I have about this hotel is the price. I paid over $170 a night! And its a Courtyard- not a full Marriott. And if you want a bottle of water- its $5.00 for a local brand and $8.00 for Evian in the gift shop. It's a Costa Rican hotel with New York City prices.

And do not bother with the breakfast. Fifteen dollar for Gallo Pinto (rice and beans) is a really not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Need2LearnSpanish
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

Our travel agent recommended the Courtyard by Marriott in San Jose. We wanted a place in San Jose that was clean and comfortable and that's what we got! The rooms had a great bathroom and comfortable bed. The travel concierge, Roderigo was very helpful in planning day trips, transfers and dinners. The gift shop was very nice and had an array of souvenirs and other amenities. The front desk was very accommodating - we pre-paid for breakfast and would not be able to eat in the restaurant when it opened due to an early flight - so they had some coffee, fruit and muffins for us when we checked out at 4:30 AM before our transfer arrived. The restaurant had great hot breakfast and fresh fruit - the regular menu was a small selection of sandwiches and appetizers - nothing fancy - nothing to really write home about - but edible. The hotel is located right off the freeway and is near a great shopping center. I would recommend eating at one of the restaurants across the way and not waste your time in the hotel. The lobby also has free internet if you're dying to check your email. Overall, a great little hotel in San Jose.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Need2LearnSpanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
622 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed here before joining a Disney Adventure tour. The staff was extremely helpful - all spoke English. Location by a small shopping mall offered lots of choices for restaurants but we had to take a $2 cab to the larger mall because of no sidewalks. Room was typical Marriott - 4 pillows on each bed. Our granddaughter wanted to swim but the pool was small and cold. The free internet in the lobby was a bonus. Our ATM card would not work in the local banks, but the hotel allowed a $50 cash advance each day for a very small charge. No shuttle from the airport was a negative ($20 charge) but they have a returning shuttle. They don't announce it so stay by the door and ask. This is a good place to stay upon arriving in San Jose before going out into the country and before leaving for the airport, but not for the duration of your trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

My wife and I used Marriott points to stay here one night after touring the rest of Costa Rica. It's a average hotel located in a strip mall. There's a Hooters (lol) directly across the street and an Outback Steak House a short walk to the other end of the strip mall.

The hotel staff were friendly and the room was clean. It's a nice hotel where you can lay your head after coming in from the airport or leaving Costa Rica heading for the airport in the morning.

It's also convenient to stay here because the hotel does have a free airport shuttle.

  • Liked — clean room and free airport shuttle
  • Disliked — everything was fine
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2008

This Courtyard is beautifully done. Nice lobby, pretty rooms, cute little pool. We stayed for a night before flying out on points. For that purpose it was really perfect. We had room 111 which faced a grassy courtyard (not the highway) and was quiet.

However, its not in San Jose so don't expect to see the city at all. Its off a highway and in the middle of a strip mall. The mall has all sorts of restaurants. We ate the Cuban place and it was definitely all Ticos, had live music and was tasty.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank perrystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2008

The hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport & a taxi is roughly $20 US dollars. When we were flying out we made a reservation for the free 9 am shuttle. We were literally a minute late & the shuttle left us! They never once called our room, nothing - just left & I saw the shuttle leaving - they wouldn't stop it! Horrible customer service! I have read some other reviews on hoteles.com & they did the same thing to someone else. Why make a reservation if they're not going to check it???? So if you stay here & take that shuttle (which is only offered certain times) - arrive at least 10 minutes early (which they claim they told us & they DID NOT)!

  • Disliked — Staff not customer service orientated
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank agtx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
0.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Escazu

Property: Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Family Hotel in Escazu
#4 Business Hotel in Escazu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing