We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, clean hotel, boring location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent, clean hotel, boring location”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The front desk staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful, and I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast options each morning. I appreciate that they switch up the options a bit each day so it's not the same old stuff if you're there for awhile.

The not so great: the hotel is located along a highway, with nothing really around except a restaurant with Hooters as a featured property, and Costa Rica's largest mall on the opposite side of the highway. This is not the area for nightlife. But I'm told Escazu is a social hub in the San Jose area, I just never saw it.

I'll stay again, but only because it's cheap, and therefore my employer will probably insist on it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for kind comments. Who told you Escazu is a social hub in San Jose is right, there are a lot of options for night life nearby the hotel. Half mile away is Jazz Cafe, just in front of the hotel in Plaza Itzcatzu you have two options, Mas Tkila and La Cabana, those are waking distance.
Please contact me during your next visit and will be happy to give you more options of night life in the Escazu area, and any information you might require.
We are looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards,

Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    228
    56
    11
    7
See reviews for
114
103
63
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent five nights at this hotel in September. The staff were welcoming and efficient. The room was clean and pleasant. Buffet breakfast was good with juice, fruit, cooked main course and coffee or tea - all excellent. The bar in the evening was also quiet and well served. Excellent taxi service outside the hotel. No criticisms at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertJNassau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here several times over the years, since the last visit the hotel has gone thru a small renovation, gone is the gift shop to be replaced by a better and more user friendly business center. Rooms as always are some of the best in this industries class, warm, comfortable, great work station and most defiantly one of the best beds in the industry. The Resturant for the evenings at least has not changed for the better, like other Courtyards, the evening offerings now seem pre packaged and taste that way, unfortunate and the plus side there are several restaurants within a few hundred yards. Breakfasts however are still the best

Room Tip: All rooms are good no bad choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelP279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

It looks very nice at the beginning, a remodeled lobby and restaurant hide poor food. The location is very good!! I have to be honest and reveal that my review is influenced by the fact that i had a wrist watch stolen from my security box in the room and the manager has done nothing!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonianking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are aware of the case of the watch you left behind in the safe the day of your check out. As we mentioned in our e-mails the case has been filed with the insurance company, and we are taking all the actions to provide you with the appropiate anwser .
It was a pleasure having you in our hotel and we are looking forward to see you again in your next trip to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If anything, it was a bit generic/corporate, but I shouldn't have expected anything else. Easy to get to, right off the highway, right next to a plaza with shops, restaurants and bars, hardly even knew we were out of the US.

Not saying any of these things as a negative, this might be exactly what you're looking for. If you want the real flavor or Costa Rica, however, this isn't it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jackandblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Courtyard Escazu on my last 3 trips to Costa Rica. The hotel lobby/restaurant has recently been renovated. It used to have a Colonial Costa Rican décor but now it looks like a modern 21st Century Marriott, which is fine. The rooms are quite nice and in good condition. We stay here mainly for the location. For those who are unfamiliar with San Jose, the section of Escazu is perhaps the most upscale and this is a soft landing for people who may not want to leave the comforts of their home country behind. Also, we love to be in Plaza Itskatzu because it has loads of restaurants, shops, bars right at the base of the hotel. We never have to worry about getting in a taxi or finding a place - we have loads of options right outside the front door. The breakfast buffet is excellent (I think it is around $10US) but super convenient and self-service. In conclusion, this is a nice hotel with comfortable décor, in a great location in the city (most convenient if you are heading to the Pacific coast) with lots of options right at your fingertips. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for one short night as we had to fly very early from the nearby airport Tobias Bolanos to Bocas del Toro, Panama. The room was nice as you expect with a Courtyard and the staff very polite and helpful. The only negative point was that the airco in our room (411) did not cool very well. At walking distance of the hotel are many different restaurants, check out tripadvisor and look for Plaza Itskatzu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MvdHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo_Carit, Manager at Courtyard San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, it helped us to to correct the issue with the A/C in the room you stayed. We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
3.6 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Escazu

Property: Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Family Hotel in Escazu
#4 Business Hotel in Escazu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing