We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Stay Here-Will Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Third Stay Here-Will Stay Again”
Reviewed April 28, 2008

This was my third trip to Costa Rica and previously I stayed at the Courtyard. (See my October 2007 review) I decided to stay this time at the Marriott Costa Rica primarily because of the mostly rave reviews of this hotel on Trip Adviser, even though it was more expensive than the Courtyard. I was very disappointed. The room was dated, smelled musty and was not even as nice and clean as the Courtyard. After two days I got a reservation at the Courtyard for over $100 a nite less and moved. My wife likes the room at the Courtyard much better-the room is cleaner than Marriott and no smell. Also, the internet is free, not $15 a night. A big plus of the Courtyard is it is right next to an upscale shopping center where there is an Outback, Hooters, Argentinian, Cuban, Japanese, Italian and Tabas restaurants, upscale coffee house and a bar.

Remember, at the Courtyard you have access to CTT, a transportation company with very modern vans and responsible drivers. We hired one for $15 an hour (3 hour minimum) and went wherever we wanted. The driver was great to have while shopping in Downtown San Jose and chose a very nice restaurant Nuestras Tierras, with real Tico food. A good way to explore Costa Rica.

So if you are thinking of paying more money to stay at a more "upscale" resort I believe you will get more for your money at the Courtyard. I will definitely stay here when I come back again

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank BigdawgChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    218
    55
    11
    7
See reviews for
113
99
62
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We stayed here the night before flying home. Further from the airport than we expected. Great restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Nice facility. Friendly staff. We stayed in a room that faced the parking lot. The noise from the Hooters across the street kept us up half the night. Hopefully, you won't need to make an international call using your credit card from the room phone. They are connected with a company that scams customers. We made 4 US phone calls totalling under 15 minutes and we were billed 150 dollars.

We stayed at 4 hotels in costa rica and this was the worst.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

This hotel was great. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, and the tv came with a lot of channel options. The front desk was accomodating, offering currency exchanges as well as the option to buy your airport tax from the hotel (with a premium payment of course), and a free shuttle to the airport. There is a small plaza across from the hotel with numerous restaurants and bars which was great when choosing places to eat. The bars did contribute a little noise during the night, but the music was not loud enough to disrupt sleep. AS far as noise within the hotel, we were put in a room with an adjoining door, which made the walls incredibly thin. We could hear everything from the neighbor. However, the rooms without this adjoining door are okay, so request one of these if possible. One thing to look out for is extra charges on your bill when you get home. There were a lot of charges on our bill we should not have been charged for, so watch for this especially.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BlueCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for 3 nights during our first trip to Costa Rica and highly recommend this hotel. Courtyard was a restful haven as we dashed about. Nicely appointed rooms, lovely pool, excellent breakfast - included in our rate (both Costa Rican and American food), convenient gift/snack shop with long hours, and good restaurant recommendations. We made arrangements in advance through the concierge--Mr. Acuna-- for a pickup at the airport (the free shuttle stops around 10 pm) and for a Rainforest Tram Tour (this was with Costa Rica Temptations, which we highly recommend). Mr. Acuna was a great help with our planning. The hotel has van drivers available for hire who are stationed in the hotel parking lot. We hired a driver for the day who took us to Inbio Parque (an excellent overview of Costa Rica's ecology), waited for us, and then drove us to a couple of museums in San Jose. The driver spoke English and gave us an informal tour of the city. Courtyard is located in a nice suburb across the street from a small mall with numerous good restaurants and some shops. The hotel is not far from the city, but you need a car or must get a taxi or hire a driver as there is no public transportation.

  • Liked — Travel advice they provided
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveledall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2008

The Marriott Courtyard is an excellent hotel located near the MultiPlaza mall (which is smaller and cheaper than the luxury version of the mall in Panama City).

There is nothing I could fault with this hotel.

We had a hire car so the location was good, but if you don't have a car and are staying more than 1 night, you are better off staying at the Sleep Inn or Holiday Inn downtown.

  • Liked — Excellent Marriott Courtyard standards
  • Disliked — Expensive compared with Sleep Inn which is equally as good
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We stayed here one night before flying home the next morning. The hotel has free shuttle servic to the international airport. It is like all Marriott Courtyards, simple, efficient, but no special flair. The rooms were very clean. I would recommend for business travelers. There was a room with computers for the guests to use which had free internet access. The pool was tiny - this would not be a great place to stay long term with kids.
It might have just been a bad night, but the service in the restaurant for dinner was horrible. The waiter got my order wrong but thought I should still eat it - the correct plate was brought out refrigerator cold (rather than heated). I had to make multiple requests - for our drinks, the dessert menu, our check. That said, the wait staff at the morning buffet was attentive and courteous and the front desk staff was helpful with maps and information.
It is located in a mall which I did not explore - but I saw an Outback and Hooters restaurant there.

  • Liked — Close the the airport and free shuttle
  • Disliked — Bland and unappealing chain feel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Luusmeitli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2007

We booked the hotel based on TA ratings, the upscale neighborhood, and shopping malls. It was definitely a great choice for a couple days in the San Jose area.

Hotel was very modern, with gated 24-hour security for the parking lot. A nice upscale mall, with several restaurants adjoins the hotel property. The large Multi-Plaza shopping mall is only a $1 cab ride away, as is the PriceSmart Warehouse Club (similar to Costco).

Hotel staff was plentiful, well-trained, and pleasant. All spoke good English. Breakfast buffet was $14, very good, with many choices.

Room was spacious, clean and well-maintained. Many cable TV channels were available.

We arrived from La Fortuna by Interbus, and took the hotel shuttle to the airport upon departure. The tour desk arranged a city tour of San Jose, which gave us a good historical and cultural insight.

If you are troubled by reading or hearing of San Jose being dangerous, this is the place to stay. The hotel and shopping mall have visible security. Location is about twenty-minutes from airport and downtown San Jose.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, convenient
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynay6405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
0.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Escazu

Property: Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Family Hotel in Escazu
#4 Business Hotel in Escazu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing