We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 18, 2012

OMG I could just stay at this hotel and never see the city.they have a nice driving range gym spa the food is the best.staff is so professional.believe it or not the hotel is very close to the airport but it is so quiet.their coffee grows right there on the property.

Room Tip: Request a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonneolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 751 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was wide open with a beautiful landscape all around the hotel. They are even growing coffee beans on the driveway into the hotel. Bar and restiarant are expensive in the hotel... But to be expected. this hotel was near my work, not sure I would stay here for pleasure. Either way.... Great place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteGuyinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have stayed at this property since 2008 and I must admit they have made some nice changes. In the past I have had some bad experiences at this property. I can gladly stay I did not experience they types of problems I had experienced in the past.

Before I started my trip I was contacted by Andrea she asked me if I need anything else. When I arrived my requests were honored.

At the checking I was treated like a valued member and after a long trip that meant allot to me. I think the staff members name was Vivian she was great.

I did experience a health issues during my stay and the staff was great they seemed to genuinely care about my well-being and they should be commended for that. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job. At check-out made me feel like a valued customer.

The only things I would say can use improvements are the beds they are a bit too firm for my tastes. I also experienced some sporadic problems with the internet there. When I would use skype I would drop calls after 10 minutes or so.

The property is located within walking distance of several restaurants. There are security guards on site and in the plaza next door. There is also a big shopping mall close by (Multi Plaza Escazu). Its a very nice mall but you might be shocked by the prices.

I hope this help someone whom reads this and I wish you safe travels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triangle_Traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise for our one night stay, traveling through San Jose. It's a pretty hotel located outside the city, with lovely grounds and good restaurants. The staff was very friendly and the restaurants offered delicious food options. There are 2 pools, which kept the kids happy. The hotel was clean and a nice way to begin our amazing Costa Rica trip!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard the night before our flight. The deciding vote was the comp shuttle. The hotel is brand new. Great rooms, great hotel. Great fitness room. Staff was fabulous (wish I remembered front desk guy - he was very helpful). Utilize the chance to pay exit tax directly at the hotel - very convenient. The only downside is restaurants are not within walking distance yet.

Room Tip: New hotel so every room should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarylR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Typical Courtyard, but it's Costa Rica and that makes if BETTER! The staff from front desk to the housekeeping, these people like their jobs, friendly just does not say enough! You would never find this in the states. Big benifit, they still serve a fresh breakfast at this Courtyard vs. what they are now starting to offer at some US Courtyards. Rooms are large, well appointed, free wifi, Resturant is open all day, limited but great selection for evening menue if you want to stay in. Several resturants in 5 minute walk of hotel raging from typical steak n burger to Sushi & Argentian fare. Also a great ice cream shop nearby. Pool outside, never seen anyone in it in all my years staying here. Workout room standard equipment... Great gift shop and casual sit down bar/lounge area. Downside, this is a business hotel but they have move the business PCs to a small corner where all three PCs are crammed together, you have to stand to use them, if you are short - well tough! No chairs to si at to use the PCs. It would be easy to have all three along the wall there at, at desk height with chairs so those having laptop problems or traveling with tablets or in need of a printer do no have to stand squeezed in a small corner fighting for desk space. Did I forget, there's a Hugh shopping Mall across road from the Courtyard, the best un Central America!

Room Tip: Business or leisure travel to Costa Rica, you can't go wrong with the Courtyard Escazu
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelP279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent Looking, good dinning choices around. Proximity to large upscale mall, MultiPlaza.
Rooms are comfortable for what you are paying. Location is excellent on major highway. Good Breakfast as well. Wireless internet works perfect. Good Coffee and nice small store in hotel lobby.

Room Tip: High Floor, away from elevators, choose pool view, less noise at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jo...
#1 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 13 in Escazu
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Calle Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Escazu
#2 Family Hotel in Escazu
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing