We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Nice hotel and wonderful staff. Great place to stay and explore different areas of Cost Rica. Nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vawert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 751 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights with 3 kids in a room with 2 double beds. The room looked exactly as shown in the photo. We requested a rollaway bed and upon arrival it was already set up in the room. We emailed the hotel prior and they arranged for a taxi to pick us up from San Jose airport along with one of their Marriott staff who waited near baggage claim holding a sign with our last name. 20 minute ride to the hotel for $35, cost was added to our room bill. The room was clean and location was perfect as a base for our tours around Costa Rica. There was a swimming pool that my kids used a few times, but no hot tub. We were out most of the day so didn't need a resort type hotel. The drive to Poas volcano was 1 hour 20 minutes, 50 minutes to the Tarcoles River for a crocodile safari, 30 min. to the original canapy tour in mahogany park, and 2.5-3 hours to the Pacuare river for whitewater rafting. The hotel is located in a small plaza with restaurants; Outback Steakhouse, Hooters, mexican restaurant, japanese restaurant, Gelato shop for dessert, more.
Good buffet breakfast included with our room available each morning starting at 7am, although during the weekdays there were mostly business guests so it tended to get crowded, so if you want to avoid the crowd arrive after 7:30am.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Most non-locals try to avoid driving in San Jose Costa Rica. If you are coming from the west, a great choice is to arrive the night before and stay at the Courtyard by Marriott, Escazu. It is right at a freeway exit before getting into the City proper for easy access. Next door there is a very good mall with a wide variety of fine ethnic restaurants. From Arabic to Argentine, you will find what you like. The Multiplex and CIMA hospital are steps away. From there, we take a taxi to wherever we are going in the City and use the Marriott as a base. Discount room rates can be found by shopping around. And for the gringos, there's Outbacks and Hooters!

Room Tip: Stay to the back [east] to avoid freeway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tico_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was the third time I have stayed at this hotel. No specific problems. The rooms and the staff were good. The hotel is located in a complex with other restruants to walk to. The largest mall is near by. The only problem seems to be the price. To me it seems a little high. Other hotels in the area maybe a little less.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank billwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. A five minute walk or two minute cab ride to a huge shopping mall. There are food courts and a nice Peruvian restaurant. Also, the hotel is in walking distance to an Imax theater, a park, restaurants and a great place for delicious gelato!
The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. It has a pool, though small, it's good for a dip to cool off. It's located in a very safe, nice neighborhood. The breakfast is warm and has some good food choices. Fresh orange juice, waffles, cereals, etc. In the afternoon you'll find delicious guacamole, chips and much more. The hotel can book tours. It has a gym, pool and free washing machines. A very nice property. I would stay there again!!

Room Tip: They seem to be nice rooms throught out this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This property is located about halfway between San Jose Airport and the city center next to a large mall. In addition to the neighboring large mall, the hotel is situated in a shopping center containing several restaurants and nightspots.
It is an older property and shows wear. My room did not feel that clean and the bathroom was tired looking with a faded yellow tub and shower.There is a medium sized LCD television in the room with a good selection of channels (some movies in English). The overall aesthetic is a bit heavy and gloomy with dark furniture and dark wood doors. There are bars on the stairwell windows and at night one enters the lobby through a gate which gives the impression of being caged in.
The staff are very friendly, very professional and all seemed to be bilingual. There is an efficient and convenient taxi service located at the front door though rates are about double those of other services. There is a smallish gym with 2 good quality treadmills and some free weights with doors open to admit a pleasant breeze. Breakfast which was not included in the room rate nor complimentary to gold and higher elite members costs about $16 at time of reporting. It is of decent quality with a staffed egg station and a large buffet selection of fruits, cereals etc.
For all other meals, the adjoining shopping center offers numerous options starting with a Hooters and Outback though I think foodies would be happier trying the other local places. During my stay, there was an un-noted renovation to the elevators which meant using the stairs or walking the considerable length of the building to use the service elevator. This would only be a real concern for the elderly or infirm. Also the Internet (complimentary) was out for 48 hours.
Overall, I think this hotel is good for a base from which to explore San Jose or do business in the short or medium term. It is not a p[articularly compelling value and I think long term visitors might be better served by the Residence Inn on the other side of the highway which is a much newer property with a cheerier aesthetic.

Room Tip: For a view, you need a higher room facing east and for quietness, you will want to be on the north e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We were here for just two nights and it worked out great. We were pleasantly surprised.

Pros
Nice Spanish style decor and appeal
Staff was great
Several restuarants and strip mall just accross the street
Breakfast was very good - a bit expensive, but good quality and variety. Olmets were very good
Nice lobby and social areas
Taxis always right there
Very Clean

Cons
Not a resort destination - if that is what you are looking for

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jo...
#1 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 13 in Escazu
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Calle Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing