We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Costa Rica”
Review of Il Panino

Il Panino
Ranked #32 of 165 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: We are and Italian-European coffee/bar. You can have light meal with ingredients of the highest quality. we specialize in a wide selection of panini (sandwhiches), Antipasti, Soups, Salads, Desserts (made ​​entirely in-house),and we also serve breakfast. We also offer a wide variety of beverages,including natural and freshly made fruit and vegetable juices, as well as Spirits & Wine. The preparation of our coffee drinks is very special,as we roast our own selection of raw beans right in front of your eyes.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best place in Costa Rica”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The food was more than excellent. It's a high standard European level, the ambience is awesome and the service is more than great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abefinkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“$11 piece of pie...”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It's a nice atmosphere, but the menu is unreasonably expensive for no good reason. Aside from the parking-lot side view, it wasn't a terrible place.

The food is ok, the desserts are fun, But the bill isn't. Manhattan prices, Costa Rican service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice drinks and atmosphere, overpriced food”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I rate this place highly as a European-style, open-air café first and foremost. It is the sort of place you can come to drink coffee or cocktails and chat with friends for a long time, enjoying the local climate, or come alone to crack your laptop and settle in. Also would be a good place to meet contacts for informal meetings. The espresso is roasted in-house, and beers from Costa Rica's Craft Brewing are now on draft. The white-coated servers are always friendly and attentive. Food, well, not so exciting. It's mostly a large variety of overpriced sandwiches and some pastas. Not counting wine, which is generally overpriced in CR, the drinks prices are reasonable. If it's the margin on food and wine that pays for everything else, well, I'm glad. But I tend not to eat here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For an average sandwich, the price is way too high. Would not go back. For $75, we got 3 scrawny sandwiches, 3 small non-alcoholic drinks and a bowl of ice cream.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Costa Rica”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent a month all over Costa Rica and had a terrible time finding decent espresso. Then we found Il Panino in Escazu. Perfect espresso-based coffee drinks. Food and desserts are also fantastic. Free wireless Internet and outstanding service. Very nice setting too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chamarivercr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Panino also viewed

San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Il Panino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing