We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 consecutive nights on a tariff with breakfast included. Excellent value especially as it gave just what one might need on a short business trip, free internet in the room, spacious room, varied breakfast and excellent water pressure (a good shower is a must when travelling). It does compare with other hotels in the area in terms of cost too. The staff were very helpful in calling a taxi and the exit tax from Costa Rica was able to be paid in the hotel and added to my bill.. Will be using this hotel next time...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank APMX25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your comments and preference. We are glad to know that you find our hotel perfect for your business travelling and we look forward to host you again in the future.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz Dorante
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 368 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place was great! Very helpful staff, beautiful rooms - 2 queen sized beds, plenty of towels, granite in the bathroom, great TV, and best of all - a wonderful breakfast. Not a bunch of warmed over stuff but fresh fruit, omelets made to order, local Costa Rican cuisine, and great coffee. Very reasonable pricing - similar to many other places I've stayed but this was FAR better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLWING55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your comments about our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that we are going the right way regarding our services. We hope to have the honor to host you in the near future.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz Dorante
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights and I was impressed by the following things:
- Spacious room and bathroom
- Excellent housekeeping service
- Excellent breakfast for a vegeterian like me
- Extremely courteous and helpful staff
- Near to quite a few restaurants - I did not try restaurant in the hotel

This was a business trip and this hotel ensured that it was comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anoopjain72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are very excited to know you had a fantastic stay at our hotel. We hope to host you again in the near future and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Holiday Inn San Jose Escazú.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz Dorante
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here one night in transit for a scuba diving excursion. Hotel was your standard Holiday Inn, decent rooms, free wifi, etc. The "hard" and "soft" labeled pillows were entertaining. Would have appreciated it if breakfast had been included. There are several restaurants and shops in the plaza where the hotel is located, but we arrived after 9pm and most were closed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandito912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. It is very important to know that we do have rates with and without breakfast included available according to the guests needs. Also Plaza Tempo next to us, has 3 of its 8 restaurants opening daily until 11 pm, however they are located right at the bottom part of the complex, we apologize if you did not get the information about it.

We hope you had a great diving trip and hope to have you back soon.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz Dorante
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The rooms were exquisite, relaxing, roomy, chic and we had a view of the fireworks at the new futbol stadium for the opening of the Pan American games. The beds were very comfortable and plush. This has to be the nicest Holiday Inn ever!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marti_R_Cortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are honred to have exceeded your expectations and we thank you for sharing your experience, as it is our daily mission. On behalf of the whole team, we thank you for staying with us and welcome you for a future stay.

Best regards,



Ludwing Diaz
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I continue to be disappointed by the staff at this hotel. Upon check in, the staff (she) made it clear they could care less about the fact I was there or would ever be there again (exception of Eduardo). With the most fake smile I have seen in awhile. Why don't you want to help the people standing across the counter? They pay your wages. Baffles the mind. The rooms are nice. Odd a/c that would cut off if you didn't move in bed...? Bar staff was nice when you could find them. Didn't do breakfast as it was extremely expensive and didn't look that great. I hope their location serves them well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back of the hotel. I heard a lot of noise during this stay I think because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Trav1964,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Kind helpful staff. They are a bit apart from the main business buildings on the area, but they compensate with complementary transportation. My only suggestion is more lighting on the rooms.they are waling distance to Plaza Istcazu this gives you access to great restaurants in walking distance for dinner. Its also near to a great hospital in case you travel with medical attention needs.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments. As a team we are happy to know you highly value the experience received in our hotel. We appreciate your recomendations and we thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escazu hotels
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.9 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
0.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 14 in Escazu
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu

Address: Contiguo Hospital Cima, Plaza Tempo | Avenida Prospero Fernandez, Escazu, Escazu, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Laureles)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $89 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location The new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú is strategically located in the most upscale business, residential and commercial zone in Escazú, in the Prospero Fernandez Highway, next to Cima Hospital and Plaza Tempo, a multi-purpose development that includes a corporate center and a shopping arcade.Rooms and Suites Holiday Inn San José –Escazú is the first of its kind in the country. It has been designed with the latest in environmentally friendly technology, security, energy efficiency and water savings. It has 160 comfortable rooms, 2 modern suites and 16 rooms specially adapted for the physically challenged meeting ADA requirements. All the rooms offer the following services and benefits:• Free buffet breakfast and 10 Mb symmetrical WiFi. • Free local calls, Safety deposit box for laptop.• Two phones with voice mail. • Spacious desk with ergonomic seat.• Eco-model 37” television and Cable TV with 87 channels.• Luxury Simmons® beds with choice of pillow. • I-Home clock radio. • Iron and board, Coffee maker, Hairdryer and individual AC. • Bath & Body Works amenities.• Full sprinkler system and flame-proof furnishings.• Laundry, parking, gym and business center.Fogo Restaurant A contemporary, refined ambiance with meticulous service will enhance your dining enjoyment in our restaurant, offering international and local specialties and a full breakfast, lunch and dinner service. Acqua Lounge Bar The perfect place to enjoy premium brand liquors, cocktails and marinated snacks. You will love our selection of gourmet coffees and delicious pastries. Meeting and Banquet Rooms: For social or business events, Holiday Inn San José – Escazú offers 8 modern and functional meeting spaces to professionally attend from 5 up to 150 people with high service standards and technology. We look forward to welcoming you to the new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú for a genuinely enjoyable and green stay; you’ll make and feel the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing