We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last stay at the Holiday Inn Escazu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
tamarindo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First and last stay at the Holiday Inn Escazu”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I travel to San Jose every couple of weeks so I thought I would try this new hotel in the upscale Escazu area. I found the staff friendly, but that is the only nice thing I can say about my stay. The overall appearance of the place is rater motel-like; the room furniture and air-conditioning are uncomfortable; hotel amenities were substandard or non-functioning; but the thing that ensured I would never return was waking covered in bed bug bites. For the same price or less, there are other wonderful hotels in the Escazu area.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn San Jose Escazú. We regret you do not like our rooms decor as per your comments. Regarding the bugs, we have not had any reports in the past at all and coming from Tamarindo as your profile says, it could have been gotten somewhere else.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    133
    37
    10
    9
See reviews for
36
53
24
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in November 2011.

The hotel was brand new.

We had the suite on the top floor of the hotel.

That suite was very impressive.

The bathroom was the size of many hotel rooms.

The suite was is on the corner of the hotel and has large panoramic windows.

The windows do not open.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

I liked the location of the hotel close to the giant mall called the Multiplaza.

There is nothing much to complain about this hotel.

I only wish that they had 24 hour room service, (which they don't have).

Can't have everything, I guess.

Still, I don't know what standard rooms look like but boy was our suite impressive!

The hotel is super clean.

Our suite was soundproofed.

We had a gorgeous panoramic view of the San Jose area and the mountains.

Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for the king bed suite. Be aware that room windows do not open in this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn San Jose Escazú. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the stay with us in one of our suites. We hope to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,

Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

New, clean, spacious rooms. Small bar but good service. Nice, small rooftop pool can come handy in sunny mornings. Lots of restaurants and stores nearby but at an awkward distance where you're better off with a car (or a taxi, but local taxis will charge you a much higher rate for picking you up at a hotel...code for ripping tourists off, if you ask me). One thing I did NOT like was that windows don't really block noise, so light sleepers may want to ask for rooms not looking directly into the highway (we changed rooms).

Room Tip: Windows don't block noise in rooms overlooking the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for you comments. It would be a pleasure to hit you again in the near future.

best Regards,

Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We come to Escazu quite often as we live in a more remote part of Costa Rica and need to come into "the big city" to shop and go to the movies. We have stayed at about all the hotels here over the years and thought we would try this new Holiday Inn sice it does have a very good location. The place is not bad but the service is poor, for example our confirmation said breakfast was included which they did include the first morning but tried not to the second. After an argument they did include it but it was a hassle and since I had the paperwork just stupid on there behalf. The parking is also a hassle as they make you park below at the far back and then you walk further to go up the stairs only to walk all the way back again and don't try to walk out the way you drove in or the parking guard will yell at you. There many better hotels around like the Residence Inn Marriot for about the same price and it has much better service and a better location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Saults,

Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a review. I am pleased that you liked our location. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with the staff service. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We appreciate the candid feedback and while understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to host you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Escazu.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojochal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I chose this hotel because I was able to get a good rate and it is super convenient. We had lots of errands in the Escazu area, so it was great. The hotel is very sleek and modern. I thought it had just been completed, but they said it had been a year. I thought that for a couple of reasons. It was not worn, but also didn't look finished! The rooms are the nice hotel standard rooms. Great bed, but inexplicably small pillows. Great bathroom, but no robes. Although we had to talk the bar staff through making a martini, they were very nice. The food was pretty disappointing. And we said no to the $22 small breakfast buffet the next morning. Why do hotels do that? I would stay here again if the rate was really great. If not, I would pass.

Room Tip: I would ask for high on the East side. High, because they are still doing construction across the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Escazú and we are happy to have met your expectations.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

First I went to Hotel Real Intercontinental but due to bad service and bad arrogant treatment, I checked out in 2 hours from there and came to Holiday Inn, great hotel, great staff, reception is excellent, fast and prompt. Smiling. New hotel, clean room, great gym, swimming pool. Breakfast to the expectation. Taxi always available, Starbuck at nearby mall. All food joints near by and overall great comfortable hotel with excellent caring staff. This will be my place till I open my business.

Room Tip: High rise is good, plus 5th floor had gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhlivefreeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased t know that you have selected our hotel to saty while opening your business.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I booked this hotel just to give it a try since it is very new and has the updated image of this brand. The location is very good, the design is nice, the rooms are good, but maybe just because it´s new lacks service, attention and detail. Another issue was the noise from outside, which was quite a lot since it is located in front of a very busy highway. At this time the office complex next door is under construction, so this was a huge upset, but it´s just a matter of time for it to finish. I don´t think I´ll stay here again, knowing there are better options close by.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chepe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We regret to know that you had inconveniences with the noise coming from the Plaza Tempo complex under construction upon your visit. The PLaza has been now finalized and now we offer our guests 35 options of additional servicies including restaurants, spa, gym and convenience stores.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feelings.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu

Property: Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Address: Contiguo Hospital Cima, Plaza Tempo | Avenida Prospero Fernandez, Escazu, Escazu, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Laureles)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location The new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú is strategically located in the most upscale business, residential and commercial zone in Escazú, in the Prospero Fernandez Highway, next to Cima Hospital and Plaza Tempo, a multi-purpose development that includes a corporate center and a shopping arcade.Rooms and Suites Holiday Inn San José –Escazú is the first of its kind in the country. It has been designed with the latest in environmentally friendly technology, security, energy efficiency and water savings. It has 160 comfortable rooms, 2 modern suites and 16 rooms specially adapted for the physically challenged meeting ADA requirements. All the rooms offer the following services and benefits:• Free buffet breakfast and 10 Mb symmetrical WiFi. • Free local calls, Safety deposit box for laptop.• Two phones with voice mail. • Spacious desk with ergonomic seat.• Eco-model 37” television and Cable TV with 87 channels.• Luxury Simmons® beds with choice of pillow. • I-Home clock radio. • Iron and board, Coffee maker, Hairdryer and individual AC. • Bath & Body Works amenities.• Full sprinkler system and flame-proof furnishings.• Laundry, parking, gym and business center.Fogo Restaurant A contemporary, refined ambiance with meticulous service will enhance your dining enjoyment in our restaurant, offering international and local specialties and a full breakfast, lunch and dinner service. Acqua Lounge Bar The perfect place to enjoy premium brand liquors, cocktails and marinated snacks. You will love our selection of gourmet coffees and delicious pastries. Meeting and Banquet Rooms: For social or business events, Holiday Inn San José – Escazú offers 8 modern and functional meeting spaces to professionally attend from 5 up to 150 people with high service standards and technology. We look forward to welcoming you to the new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú for a genuinely enjoyable and green stay; you’ll make and feel the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing