We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are many better places to stay around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We come to Escazu quite often as we live in a more remote part of Costa Rica and need to come into "the big city" to shop and go to the movies. We have stayed at about all the hotels here over the years and thought we would try this new Holiday Inn sice it does have a very good location. The place is not bad but the service is poor, for example our confirmation said breakfast was included which they did include the first morning but tried not to the second. After an argument they did include it but it was a hassle and since I had the paperwork just stupid on there behalf. The parking is also a hassle as they make you park below at the far back and then you walk further to go up the stairs only to walk all the way back again and don't try to walk out the way you drove in or the parking guard will yell at you. There many better hotels around like the Residence Inn Marriot for about the same price and it has much better service and a better location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Saults,

Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a review. I am pleased that you liked our location. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with the staff service. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We appreciate the candid feedback and while understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to host you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Escazu.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 365 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

I chose this hotel because I was able to get a good rate and it is super convenient. We had lots of errands in the Escazu area, so it was great. The hotel is very sleek and modern. I thought it had just been completed, but they said it had been a year. I thought that for a couple of reasons. It was not worn, but also didn't look finished! The rooms are the nice hotel standard rooms. Great bed, but inexplicably small pillows. Great bathroom, but no robes. Although we had to talk the bar staff through making a martini, they were very nice. The food was pretty disappointing. And we said no to the $22 small breakfast buffet the next morning. Why do hotels do that? I would stay here again if the rate was really great. If not, I would pass.

Room Tip: I would ask for high on the East side. High, because they are still doing construction across the w...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Escazú and we are happy to have met your expectations.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

First I went to Hotel Real Intercontinental but due to bad service and bad arrogant treatment, I checked out in 2 hours from there and came to Holiday Inn, great hotel, great staff, reception is excellent, fast and prompt. Smiling. New hotel, clean room, great gym, swimming pool. Breakfast to the expectation. Taxi always available, Starbuck at nearby mall. All food joints near by and overall great comfortable hotel with excellent caring staff. This will be my place till I open my business.

Room Tip: High rise is good, plus 5th floor had gym.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhlivefreeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased t know that you have selected our hotel to saty while opening your business.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I booked this hotel just to give it a try since it is very new and has the updated image of this brand. The location is very good, the design is nice, the rooms are good, but maybe just because it´s new lacks service, attention and detail. Another issue was the noise from outside, which was quite a lot since it is located in front of a very busy highway. At this time the office complex next door is under construction, so this was a huge upset, but it´s just a matter of time for it to finish. I don´t think I´ll stay here again, knowing there are better options close by.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chepe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We regret to know that you had inconveniences with the noise coming from the Plaza Tempo complex under construction upon your visit. The PLaza has been now finalized and now we offer our guests 35 options of additional servicies including restaurants, spa, gym and convenience stores.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feelings.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is modern and clean. It is off a major highway past the toll. There is a security guard to let you into the parking lot and then a security guard that rides on a bike watching your car. Its near restaurants, a mall, & Wallmart. The downfall was no free breakfast and having to pay a toll numerous times because the hotel is right past the toll. Most of the plaza that the Holiday Inn is in is under construction, but the rooms themselves were nice. The staff spoke English as well. This is a modern standard hotel. If you're looking for a tropical, rainforest hotel this is not it. Very modern. Overall, Very Good rating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director Comercial at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012
Google Translation

Estimada Señora Dina:

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios y nos alegra que le haya gustado nuestro hotel. Definitivamente el nuevo concepto de Holiday Inn, es un concepto fresco, moderno y vanguardista, muy diferente a lo tradicional.

Esperamos tener el honor de recibirla nuevamente en nuestro hotel y quedamos a sus órdenes.

Atentamente,


Ludwing Diaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel itself looks very good. We notified the hotel we would check in late, since we arrived from Monteverde by ambulance and the next door Cima hospital for our 7 year old son. It was an exhausting and stressful day and we did not get the chance to eat or drink much, as we told them. We asked whether we could get anything, but could not get anything too eat or drink, since it was just after 23h and there was no minibar on the room. The guy bewind the desk had several small snickers and I asked him where I could get these maybe, that would do it on the snack-part, but he said these were his own. This in itself is OK, but there was not even the slightest effort to help us.... is this service?
The following morning we were woken at 8h by a Spanish voice shouting and knocking on our door to ask us for laundry.....
When I asked the receptionist later about this I was explained that this was part of their 'service'.......and again no real understanding what this meant for us after an exhausting day.
The reaction was that the manager would sent me an email, which was never sent... Very disappointing service

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Remco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Remco R,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My daughter got sick and was hospitalized and my wife and I booked the hotel and air in a few hours Tthanks to the reviews we stayed at the holiday inn which was a stones throw away from Cima Hospital. The staff was very friendly and spoke english and the rooms were very clean. We had a breakfast plan and the food was plentiful,varied and very tasty. A horrible trip was made alot easier by a very compassionate staff.. By the way my daughter is fine now!

Room Tip: there was a sams club there . we did hear noise for about 10 min early morn which the aircond. did s...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nieto54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for comments. We are very happy to know that a trip that became horrible for you and your daughter was made a lot easier in our hotel and even happier to know that she is a lot better now.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
0.9 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu

Address: Contiguo Hospital Cima, Plaza Tempo | Avenida Prospero Fernandez, Escazu, Escazu, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Laureles)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: $84 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location The new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú is strategically located in the most upscale business, residential and commercial zone in Escazú, in the Prospero Fernandez Highway, next to Cima Hospital and Plaza Tempo, a multi-purpose development that includes a corporate center and a shopping arcade.Rooms and Suites Holiday Inn San José –Escazú is the first of its kind in the country. It has been designed with the latest in environmentally friendly technology, security, energy efficiency and water savings. It has 160 comfortable rooms, 2 modern suites and 16 rooms specially adapted for the physically challenged meeting ADA requirements. All the rooms offer the following services and benefits:• Free buffet breakfast and 10 Mb symmetrical WiFi. • Free local calls, Safety deposit box for laptop.• Two phones with voice mail. • Spacious desk with ergonomic seat.• Eco-model 37” television and Cable TV with 87 channels.• Luxury Simmons® beds with choice of pillow. • I-Home clock radio. • Iron and board, Coffee maker, Hairdryer and individual AC. • Bath & Body Works amenities.• Full sprinkler system and flame-proof furnishings.• Laundry, parking, gym and business center.Fogo Restaurant A contemporary, refined ambiance with meticulous service will enhance your dining enjoyment in our restaurant, offering international and local specialties and a full breakfast, lunch and dinner service. Acqua Lounge Bar The perfect place to enjoy premium brand liquors, cocktails and marinated snacks. You will love our selection of gourmet coffees and delicious pastries. Meeting and Banquet Rooms: For social or business events, Holiday Inn San José – Escazú offers 8 modern and functional meeting spaces to professionally attend from 5 up to 150 people with high service standards and technology. We look forward to welcoming you to the new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú for a genuinely enjoyable and green stay; you’ll make and feel the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing