We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Isabella Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Isabella Costa Rica
Ranked #1 of 15 Escazu B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Casa Isabella last week. My room was immaculate and the service was phenomenal. Robert went out of his way to make sure I had everything I needed, and made me feel very welcome. He also had a lot of information about neat things to see and do in various parts of Costa Rica, near and far. The location is just about perfect too - nestled in a quiet neighborhood, yet still only a few minutes from any services one might need. The house and grounds are beautiful and serene - a perfect place to relax. I am already looking forward to the next opportunity I will have to stay at Casa Isabella. For anyone seeking a beautiful and relaxing place to stay, with great service and people, Casa Isabella is a must. Pura Vida can be found here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorys727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    16
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
49
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed our staying at Casa Isabella very much. The room and service was very comfortable. The owners Roberto and Guisella took care of us very well and Roberto helped us planning our trip through Costa Rica and introduced us to the beauty of Costa Rica. Tip: ask for the Costarican breakfast!

Thanx again Roberto and Guisella!

Room Tip: they have a really nice double on the first floor with bathroom and nice morning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

As a long time traveler (and professional travel agent) whom has stayed in many hotels, B&B's, and youth hostels around the world, this one has to rank near the top in almost every category (quality, cleanliness, friendliness of owners, location, and value)! The owner's, Robert and his wife, are very friendly and very helpful in welcoming you to the area. I stayed at a nice B&B across town in the Heredia area of San Jose earlier in the week, but this one is where I would stay for sure when returning to San Jose. Stay here when you come to San Jose and you'll be very pleased!
Thanks Robert and Guisella for hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Robert and Gisella were so helpful to my transitioning from Texas to San Jose. All the reviews are true about the relaxed, professional, and just plain generous attitude of the young couple. The Bed & Breakfast was beautifully furnished, very safe and secure but I can not say enough about the warmth of Robert and Gisella. Before I retired I was a business traveler so I have seen very many hotels and I can be critical of them, in this case I wanted to stay longer than the 8 nights I did. I don't speak Spanish or know the business culture in Costa Rica and Robert's concern was genuine and they always had time to help me relocate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We cannot speak highly enough of Robert and his wife, who helped us make our trip one to remember - for all the right reasons. Robert helped us make the most of our short time in Costa Rica by organising our trips to volcanoes, cloud and rain forests and much more - all with a smile and good humour. The house has lovely views over San Jose, set in the hills, tasteful decor and a real 'homestay' feel - thank you again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Casa Isabella has new management, Robert and Gisella, that made our week long stay into such a pleasant and comfortable experience! We didn't miss anything in this comfortable house with big rooms overviewing San Jose area from the hills of Escazu. What made this stay unique was indeed these excellent hosts, with smiles and efficiency they met all our requests/needs and questions on just any subject really. What a recipe for a happy stay! I can without doubt recommend this place, just make sure you book well in advance as the Casa has been quite full for what we saw, and it was low season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIZA_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We bookended our trip to the Pacific Coast with two visits to Casa Isabella. Robert and his wife took excellent care of us. Since we were arriving late Saturday, Robert offered to pick us up in his own car, saving us the challenges of negotiating with a taxi driver in a foreign language and paying in a foreign currency--having no idea how to negotiate a fair fare. Robert picked us up that night, took us to the airport the next morning, and willingly picked us up again several days later.

The inn is about a mile above the main street in Escazú. While Costa Rica is known for its low crime rate, I'm not sure if the guards, gates, and razor wire present in many areas came before or after. The Escazú area feels very safe--it is one of the wealthiest in San Jose--but like every neighborhood, a guard is omnipresent on the street just in case.

The Junior Suite was spacious and well-appointed, with a large bathroom and a shower for two. The room felt very private while the living room was inviting as a place to lounge if we wanted to be socialize with other guests. Robert and his wife prepared simple, wholesome breakfasts, and when we wanted to go out for dinner in Escazú, Robert insisted that we allow him to drive us.

We'd happily stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.1 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#7 of 17 in Escazu
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Out of Bounds Hotel
Out of Bounds Hotel
#9 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#1 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Reflejos
Casa Reflejos
#2 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
2.4 mi away
Apartotel Don Francisco
Apartotel Don Francisco
#10 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Isabella Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Isabella Costa Rica

Property: Casa Isabella Costa Rica
Address: Bello Horizonte, San Jose | del Restaurante Chichis' 1 km East, 100 mts North & 75 mts West, Escazu 10202, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Isabella Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Isabella has the perfect strategic location for visiting and exploring Costa Rica. Conveniently located only twenty minutes from Juan Santa Maria International Airport in the hillsides of Escazu, in Bello Horizonte, we are minutes away form Embassies, Shopping Centers, Restaurants, Clubs, Bars, Business Centers and the Best Hospitals in the country. Casa Isabella offers a mixture of country simplicity and city modernality. We are close to moderns conveniences but far enough away to enjoy the country setting that surround us . Because we are in the middle of the country you will have numerous options to explore in any part of the country, from mountains to beaches, from forests to volcanoes. HOTEL ACCOMODATIONS:Casa Isabella has seven tastefully decorated and comfortable rooms each with Queen or Full beds. Each room has its own unique character. Our high ceiling rooms are equipped with spacious bathrooms and closets; each with beautiful handcrafted wood furniture and beds and linens of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Isabella Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Isabella Costa Rica Hotel Escazu
Casa Isabella Costa Rica Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing