We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a date”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurante Saga

Restaurante Saga
Ranked #13 of 159 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: International, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Saga is a modern, international food restaurant where clients can not only delight themselves with exquisite dishes, but also enjoy the tropical view like atmosphere combined with its modern architecture. In Saga, there is a prevalence of modernism in both its food and design while contrasting with the tropical ambiance of the landscape. In Saga, international food is transformed with the blending of tastes from different parts of the world. The experience is only enhanced by its already renowned gourmet bakery.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for a date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We had been there twice last year and both times it was awesome. I especially like the fish plates - juicy and delicious sauces. Overall great place - a bit too expensive, but worth it once in a while

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evgueni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    96
    28
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious and close to hospital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I'm in the area on an unexpected visit while my daughter is in Cima hospital next door. My local friend took me here for dinner last night and it was delicious. Patrons and Setting are sophisticated and lovely. I enjoyed a needed cocktail and delicious sushi. Menu is full of options. I felt miles away from the hospital environment.

Helpful?
Thank Edye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My partner and I went to Saga located in Avenida Escazú to celebrate his birthday. We go theere in special ocassions, and we always enjoy their food.
The pancko breaded calamari is alsways perfect with plenty yummy tartar sauce, and the pancko breadeed jumbo shrimp in a marinara gastrique is a dish that I always order and enjoy.
The piece of resistance was the New Zealand lamb chops... yummy. And the dessert a delicious selection of mini chocolate deserts.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xmasbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great fusion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great food, asian fusion. The restaurant is also very nice and in a great location. Service is also great. This is one of my favorite restaurants in San Jose.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wtr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Impressive for Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

You don't visit Costa Rica for the cuisine, and few locals I've talked with would contest this fact. If Saga were a Manhattan restaurant, I'd not be so generous with a 5 star.
Saga understands this well, as their menu offers international dishes and fusion. It's wonderful to feel challenged in deciding on your meal choice, and having lots of excuses to return (to taste more from their menu).
Chocolate dessert was indulgent, the main meal was tasty with a good cut of meat and selection of veggies.

The areas for improvement include their high prices and waiters staying in peripheral vision, as it was difficult to get their attention. Wooden chairs could be more comfortable. Unfortunate choice of spot lights throughout. If you're seated beneath a spotlight as we were, you'll feel less than comfortable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calumc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Saga also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing