We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind”
Review of Biesanz Woodworks

Biesanz Woodworks
Ranked #2 of 8 Shopping in Escazu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come see our world famous woodwork made; tour our beautiful botanical garden and pond; buy a memorable souvenir in our art gallery.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

How often do you get the opportunity for a personal, thorough tour of a world-class woodworks and botanical garden? For those who love fine wood art, it is an invaluable FREE experience to visit Barry Biesanz's gallery and workshop. We especially appreciated the time Minor took to explain the long process that leads to the finished piece. My only regret is that Barry, whom I've know for over thirty years, was away tending to his tree farm in Quepos. We left with a greater appreciation of the care that goes into producing each piece of unique precious wood art, and the superb quality of Barry's craftsmanship.

Thank Peter_Brooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 70 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Amazing artwork. Superb craftsmanship. Barry has extensive knowledge of plants, trees,and the environment. I found him to a fascinating person with a passion for his art. Minor, shop administrator was very helpful and spent a lot of time giving a tour of plant life.

Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biesanz_Woodworks, Owner at Biesanz Woodworks, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thanks Richard, I enjoyed meeting you guys, and your review is most kind! Don't forget we have a webpage and ship! Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We wandered into Biesanz after reading great things on TripAdvisor and other forums. The place looked pretty quiet when we arrived, but Minor greeted us warmly and gave us a great tour of the botanical gardens (in English - very helpful for people whose Spanish is quite weak!). He was very knowledgable and nice, and gave us a tour of both the botanical gardens and the workshop where all the bowls and other wood pieces are created. It's really a fascinating process, and worth a visit for the knowledge alone. Though we heard the prices were high due to the quality of the pieces, we actually found them quite reasonable, and were able to purchase some gifts for people back home without breaking the bank, or our budget. A highly recommended spot in Escazú!

Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biesanz_Woodworks, Owner at Biesanz Woodworks, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thanks for your review! Glad you liked it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited in July 2013 with a Costa Rican friend; it was my second visit, their first. We toured the garden and workshop first, taking the time to study the flora and fauna in the garden. My friend, a botany major, was quite impressed with the diversity of plant material there, showing me many interesting things I would not have observed without their input. The workshop is equally noteworthy in the raw artistry presented there, which blossoms into fine art when you partake in the finished offerings within the gallery.
The gallery has a full range of offerings, from simple small things to large works worth many thousands. Also one can find the works of indigenous artisans from Costa Rica such as Boruca wood masks. A one of a kind gift or unique keepsake is sure to be had here.
Or a memorable tou

Thank ed4_vida_rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visited this wonderful factory/museum and enjoyed a personal and informative tour led by Minor Henry. He first showed us the magnificent gardens and told us about the flora and the fauna. Next, we were led inside the factory and the whole process was explained. After hearing how long it takes to make a piece, actually, a work of art, I can understand why they are so costly. We did find some beautiful items to take home and they will occupy a valued spot in our home.
This place is hard to find, but, then again, so is everything in Costa Rica. Best to use a GPS.

1  Thank thetravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biesanz Woodworks also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Biesanz Woodworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing