We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Tierra Magica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tierra Magica
Ranked #2 of 14 Escazu B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not far from San Jose. Airy, large rooms with cable TV, nice garden. Reasonably priced, the breakfast is a highlight.

All the staff try to help, like finding the bus or a restaurant. They call you a taxi if you need one. Price is good, close to everything. Safe place.

I will be definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 50 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Tierra Magica is a friendly B&B situated in Escazu, not too far from the airport. I booked via booking.com and reserved a taxi through the B&B directly. Pick up was punctual and service friendly. In the guesthouse i was welcomed by Otto and Barbara, who showed me to my room: this was a bit bigger than average and the bathroom was of adequate size as well. Both room and bathroom were quite clean. The breakfast was served in the pleasant garden and it consisted of fruit and yoghurt, eggs, bread and jam and coffee and juice. I liked the B&B and the only two drawbacks I found were the traffic noise, which I could still hear even with the windows closed (i used earplugs), and the fact that the neighborhood is not really pedestrian-friendly (narrow, poorly lit streets and fast cars) and you really need a car to move around or also simply to go somewhere to have dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raging_Hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here for several nights and can't say enough about how good it is. The setting is so beautiful - and in the middle of San Jose it seems unbelievable. Flowers, verandas, shaded breakfast nooks with blossoms peeking over your shoulder. Kind of like paradise. And the rooms are very large and beautifully done. The tiled bathroom, the wood floors, the frescoes on the floors made me think of old Roman villas, the art hanging in the rooms. Finally the innkeepers, Barbara and Otto can't do enough for you. Breakfast is delicious, and when I need to get stuff a great little upscale supermarket and restaurants are 8 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonikaUrsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the "Tierra Magica" and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a small hotel in an excellent location not far from the hospital Cima. The hostess and her staff were very friendly and attentive. The rooms comfortable and tastefully decorated, The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed in Tierra Magica for 5 very pleasant nights. I would highly recommend this lovely place for anyone passing through the San Jose area - Having experienced other alternatives in San Jose and Escazu, I think this place come out tops. Barbara is a welcoming, relaxed host who gives real attention to detail. Breakfasts are delicious, served in the well grromed tropical garden, the room is immaculate, very spacious, peaceful and sweetly decorated with Barbara's art work. I stayed in the upstairs room which has the biggest bed I have ever slept in, with a great mattress. The only downside maybe the typical urban noise of Costa Rica towns that does penetrate the room in the mornings. This was not an issue for me - the overall atmosphere is very peaceful, and compared to other spots in San Jose this is a refuge. If you have a car this would be perfect place for people exploring Costa Rica and are looking for a few nights in the San Jose area before embarking on another adventure in the wild.

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gadi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a piece of paradise and you will not want to leave I promise. The comp. breakfast is scrumptious and healthy too. If you need any thing at all Barbra and her husband will help. You can not go wrong here. You will be glad you stayed here---it's Magica. There is electricity in the air I tell you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerskahukuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I’ve had 7 wonderful days at Tierra Magica, enjoying the beauty and good taste that surrounds you. Barbara the owner is a lovely person and takes very good care of her guests. She is an artist and will be happy to show you her interesting technique of painting with clay and sand on canvas,which she gathers from the rivers, mountains and beaches of Costa Rica, very interesting!

The breakfast is the best!!!...and my room was lovely!...and I’ve felt welcomed as part of the Tierra Magica family!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneliese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escazu hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#4 of 14 in Escazu
435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Magica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Magica

Address: Calle San Miguel, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Escazu
Price Range: $69 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Magica 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Escazu, the best quarter of San Jose, Tierra Magica is a new and quaint B&B and Art Studio. It offers beautiful and independent rooms with the choice of a king size or two queen size beds with wireless internet, telephone, safe and cable TV. A complete breakfast is included and will be served at the garden terrace every morning between 7:30 and 9:30 am. Tierra Magica B&B is situated about 20 min. from intl. and 10 min. from domestic airport, which makes it an ideal starting point to explore the natural wonders of Costa Rica. Escazu also offers a great variety of excellent restaurants and shops. Transfers to/from airports can be arranged. We also offer the services of a private driver and tour guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Tierra Magica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Magica Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing